Science in Sport Go Gel

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Science in Sport Go Gel

Our Review

An isotonic gel with mild flavours. The use of maltodextrins and gelling agents mean this is a sustained-release energy gel. They are easy to digest, even without water.

Reader Reviews

138 user reviews of Science in Sport Go Gel See all

Overall reader score
Good product and is worth taking on those important training runs. Personally I would take at least one of these tucked into my armband on every competitive race over 5K if I was you. Continue reading...
Handy, good energy boost. I'm not overly keen on the texture, but a swig of water after it and I'm fine, small complaint really. Continue reading...
Did anyone watch the Dispatches episode on Sports Drinks, Proteins, Gels etc as a whole....? What did you think? I personally find making my own combinations of dried fruits, nuts etc and drinks with sugar and Continue reading...
Try different products and find what suits you. Downside to gels - packaging to get rid of or carry. Beans or choclate melt in hands! Continue reading...

Discussions

save money and stop putting chemicals, that's what gel is, into your body, i use dried fruit its natural and is slow releasing and cheap,

Posted: 04/12/2006 at 09:29

It's not much cheaper than gels, calorie for calorie, if you buy dried fruit that has been guaranteed to have been grown and processed entirely organically and not coated in mineral oil before packaging. And then there are all the phthalates and whatnots in the plastic bags it's sold in.

Objective running performance comparisons, please?

Posted: 04/12/2006 at 10:47

1. during exercise you do not want your carbs to be slow release
2. the high fructose and fibre content of dried fruit is more likely to upset your stomach during exercise.

everything is chemical.

however, i agree that there is nothing magic about gels/sports bars.

Posted: 04/12/2006 at 10:53

GO GELS are the business, I always use them for marathon training.I will be taking them to the North Pole Marathon next year (hope they dont freeze in my pocket).GO out and try them for yourself.

Posted: 12/12/2006 at 11:05

and now for the adverts

Posted: 12/12/2006 at 11:20

GO bars get tooth-breakingly hard after being stored for a very short period at 1-2 degrees centigrade. Wouldn't take those!

Posted: 12/12/2006 at 12:48

I tired dried fruit when running the New Forest Marathon back in September.

The dried apricots were fine for a while, but to be honest chewing them became a right pain after a while.

I'm going to try gels now. I know they are chemicals, but they are meant to be very functional. You wouldn't really use them as proper food.

Posted: 20/12/2006 at 21:44

Chocolate, beforehand. Or jelly beans in my wrist wallet does it for me.

Posted: 21/12/2006 at 15:14

I'm currently training for my first FLM & am an Insulin dependant Diabetic, i'm not an experienced runner and am currently doing 15 miles as my long run, I need to start testing quick fix gels with a good sports drink also so I have enough energy to keep me going! Any reccomendations??


sorry I will be eating fruit & chocolate before the race but I don't fancy picking pieces of nut or apricots etc from my teeth at 12 miles

Posted: 29/01/2007 at 17:35

You cant beat jelly babies
SIS do a good range fo drinkes to keep your carb load up also a night time drink that realy does help you sleep if like me you doing 8 miles before bed.
http://www.scienceinsport.co.uk/

Posted: 11/03/2007 at 17:21

Good Product and price

but pain in the arse to carry more than five

Posted: 30/05/2010 at 22:35

chemicals are great! i love them , sometimes i give them to my 3 year old daughter she gets so hyper its great fun!

Posted: 10/02/2011 at 09:54

this is some good shit. man i was boomin and zoomin...fuck man i need soem more of that gell i used it to lube my girls tight ass now its a cave! thank you science  gell thank you!

Posted: 10/02/2011 at 10:08

For my long slow runs I quite like   Doves Farm Organic chocolate and crispy rice bars.  They are made without wheat, soya, dairy or hydrogenated fat and taste really yummy.

They have 66.9g of  carbohydrate per 100g or 23.4g per bar.

Go Gel have 22g of carbohydrate per gel.    I do not know how long it takes for the crispy rice bar to do it's stuff - I assume it's not a s quick as the gels but I do chew well and get lots of saliva going to aid quick digestion.  I find them very good.  They are not useful if you are 'racing' ie running very fast as you have to eat rather than just gulping a gel.

I haven't tried this but have been told that if you soak and liquidise dates and mix with water you get an effective 'energy' drink.

I too find dried fruit too much chewing and not enough result.

A quick google has found this gel without artificial sweeteners http://www.thefeedstation.com/gels/torq-energy-gel-20-pack/prod_112.html

Posted: 10/02/2011 at 17:07

Sheeeesh!! I thought this was supposed to be a review of the product? All this talk of eating dried fruit, chocolate, jelly beans, etc. - sorry, but how do you not choke? Surely the only way you can unwrap and chew that stuff is if you a) slow down or b) not be running fast enough anyway.

Anyway, the SiS Go gels are perfect for marathon running. Easy to take whilst running - just rip, squeeze, swallow. No chewing, almost as easy as drinking. The taste is not overpoweringly sweet and I've never suffered after effects, such as an upset stomach. They are quick to kick in, too.

Cheap, easy, effective - absolutely everything you want in an energy gel.

P.S. - Did I imagine it, or did someone on this thread say it was difficult to carry more than 5? 5??? Where are you running to? Australia? It always amuse me when you see people with belts full of the things - I've even seen this at a 10k! Only Ultra runners have need for that many.

Posted: 22/04/2011 at 09:19

What you need while you're running is something quick and easy. They're easy to take and  seem to work quickly. I'd say they last for 30 - 45 mins before I need another. So three for a marathon is more than enough and usually only one or two.

Yeah - who wants to carry more than five ??! If you fuel up first, you're not going to need anything until Mile 14 or so.

Only criticism is that occasionally the thing explodes over you and covers you in goo.

Posted: 05/05/2011 at 10:23

I am type 2 diabetic and control it by taking metformin pills. I do not take the meds before extended cardio sessions. I have tried jelly beans and other sweets but these do not work for me, they temporarily increase blood sugar levels and then rapidly decrease. When cycling over a distance of 40 mile I generally use two gels. I do not get hypos or hypers. The best solution for you might be different so experiment, take your meter and plenty of test strips. I took quite a while to get a good balance and at the beginning stopped to check blood sugar levels every 30 minutes. 

Posted: 17/05/2011 at 22:29

Agree with your review of the product, but depends how far you're running and how quickly. I did Paris marathon this year with this very gel after a lot of research, worked really well, no side issues and kept me strong! I did carry more than 5 as I did 4.19 (first marathon) and took one every 45 minutes so I took 7, but pretty easy iwith 6 in the bum bag and one dropped at start. I guess if you run quicker, you need less.

Posted: 13/07/2011 at 13:15

I asked Paula Radcliff on twitter a few days ago whether Jelly Babies are just as good as sport-specific carbs... she said sport products were much better for electrolytes

Posted: 13/07/2011 at 20:16



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion


Our score:

Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £0.99
  • Year: from 2006

RW competitions