Brooks Pure Cadence

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Brooks Pure Cadence
Part of Brooks' excellent Pure minimalist range.

Our Review

Part of a range of stripped-down shoes designed to promote a more natural running style. While each nominally caters for a different type of runner, the differences in construction are not substantial – a matter of more or less heft depending on your needs – and each contains the following ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

10 user reviews of Brooks Pure Cadence See all

Overall reader score
My first minimal shoes, changing from a very supportive stability Adidas due as I used to pronated badly. I still pronate a bit, but this shoe control it when I had the gait analysis.

I've recently changed m Continue reading...
A great shoes for anyone wanting to move into the minimalist arena. My podiatrist loves them and is really impressed with gait that I have when running in them. I would never go back to traditional cushioned sh Continue reading...

Discussions

Where can we get them? Is it possible? I would like to try them but cannot find anywhere.

Posted: 04/06/2012 at 14:04

Sweatshop have them, both online and in the shops. This long weekend they have 20% off. Or brooks website. I prefer to try in the shop but that depends how close you are to one?

Posted: 04/06/2012 at 16:19

up&running Oxford

Posted: 07/06/2012 at 23:13

I got mine from Sweat shop although gutted to hear they now have 20% off. love them but I get sore feet in them once I go over about 15miles. ran in Ravenna before and I think I might get some more of them for longer runs

Posted: 08/06/2012 at 12:13

I tried them at Sweatshop but decided against it as I still have a tendency to overpronate on one side and land on my heels.  I was sorely tempted though - yes, they did feel a little strange to start but I think you'd get used to that.

Please do try before you buy - the Sweatshop staff are so helpful and knowledgeable.

Posted: 02/07/2012 at 16:30

I was suffering really badly with Shin Splints from overpronating I went to Up & Running in Oxford they did my Gait analysis and after trying 3 different pairs I opted for the Brooks, they're amazing, I haven't looked back.

Posted: 10/10/2012 at 22:04


fpd

Hi all, I have been running in Brooks Pure Flow for last month or so with no issues, really enjoyed them - transisition to fore foot running going better that I could imagine. Weather has been good for last couple of weeks and haven't done much running in the wet in them.

However ran my first race on damp ground in them at the weekend (did same race/route 3 weeks earlier with no issues), although it wasn't raining the ground was damp and i noticed a slight slip on these when running fast.

Has anyone noticed what the Cadence is like in the rain/wet ground? No one has commented on this as a pro/con compared to the Flow reviews so hoping it is better...

Posted: 04/03/2013 at 13:53

fpd: I've been (sorely) disappointed with the grip on the Cadences. I noticed a few times they didn't give as much traction as I would expect from other Brooks shoes. In particular I had noticed a lack of traction going around some corners when damp. 

Unfortunately for myself I ignored the warning signs and wore them to do some reps on the road with my club. End result being I slipped on a manhole cover (on a corner), and had a lengthy trip to A&E for X-rays etc and a stonking black eye for a few weeks.

I no longer wear them for any sort of speed work. I personally can't recommend them, especially if you've had problems with the related Flows. They are good trainers, and are suitable for some, but I suspect it depends on your individual running gait. 

Posted: 04/03/2013 at 15:54

I have the flows and connects no problem with the grip, compared to the newtons that I was previously in the grip is amazing!!!

Posted: 05/03/2013 at 16:43


fpd

Sounded nasty Chimpster - hope you got over fall.

Yes in the very damp they do feel slightly shaky when running at speed but apart from that I have been very happy with them. These are my first forray into minimalist running and so far so good, some calf trouble getting used to the change from heel strike to forefoot but have managed 2 5K PB's in a row.

May try Connects next.

Lady F-B I was the same as you - with an overpornante stance and heel striker but I have felt the Pure's have helped my transisiton and would recommend them..

Posted: 02/04/2013 at 11:04



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion


Our score:

Your score:

Need to know

Scored consistently highly for cushioning, responsiveness and flexibility, and better than average for stability – a surprising achievement for a minimal shoe.
We couldn't find any!
  • Price: £100.00
  • Year: from 2012