Asics Gel Evolution

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
Asics Gel Evolution

Reader Reviews

2 user reviews of Asics Gel Evolution See all

Overall reader score
i bought a pair of these earlier in the year to try out. they cost me £49.99 and normally rrp is £90. i have to say i was glad i didnt pay the full price as they are pretty hard and heavy! Continue reading...
Although this shoe offers adequate support, the 55 weight red SPeVA is marginally on the dense side for lighter runners and this, like the Koji, is best suited to the bigger frame.

Aesthetics count in the en Continue reading...

Discussions

Has anyone tried this shoe. I have had problems with my knee in the past due to over-pronation and am looking for a suitable shoe to help reduce the problem.
All advice is welcomed.

Kate.

Posted: 27/04/2004 at 17:05

I,ve always been a nike person when it comes to running shoes,but today I bought a pair of Asics gel 1090.If it helps I had no problems with any of my previous nike shoes.I,m going for a run later with the new Asics,so i,ll let you know how it went.

Posted: 30/04/2004 at 01:01

Thanks Michael, I look forward to reading your verdict. I have a pair of Asics 1080s at the moment, which are ok, but I think I need more control.

Posted: 30/04/2004 at 09:19

Hello Kate,I,ve been out this morning,doing a 35mins run,without any problems [touch wood].Also I run with cushnstep insoles,just to give me a little extra support.They can turn your 50 quid trainers into 80 or 90 quid trainers!! By the way,I,m just up and running after the FLM.The next biggun is the great north run.Are you training for anything? I HOPE the advice is ok for you.

Posted: 30/04/2004 at 13:05

Hi Michael, I also have small foam inserts fixed onto the instep of my shoes which has helped greatly with my knees. I'm not training for anything specific at the moment, but just trying to get fit again after 6 weeks of sporadic running due to illness. I joined the Bedford Harriers in February but what with one thing and another, haven't been able to attend many sessions. I'm now looking forward to an injury and illness free summer.

Posted: 30/04/2004 at 13:57

Hello Kate,sorry to hear about your illness. To keep those little germs away,I swear by a couple of pints of guinness a week!I,ve read that the ladies Asics 1090 is an excellent shoe for stability.The article is in runners world archives on this website.If you can get yourself fit by september then enter the great north run!There is a pub right next to the finish!!!

Posted: 01/05/2004 at 09:52

Hi Kate - I started running last october in prep for the london marathon. i chose the asics koji shoe as i need motion control, i will never look back. I ran all 26.2 miles and didnt even get one blister :) i have since bought another pair. If i run in anther shoe i suffer big time with knee/ankle problems.

Posted: 14/06/2004 at 13:16

Thanks Helen, I have read an article about Asics Koji which said that they were good for motion control, but I wasn't sure whether they were still available.

Posted: 14/06/2004 at 13:49

I resumed running after a very long stay and immediately suffered shin splints. Diagnosed with over pronation I began running in Saucony 3D grid hurricane 5's. After about 9 months of trouble free running I suffered an ankle injury and was off for 3 months. Resuming running and the shin splints returned. Frustrated and blaming the Saucony's as the culprit I took the advice of a running shop (that being that my overpronation and weight was too much for the Saucony to cope with) and plumped for the ASICS Gel Evolutions. I almost immediatly ran into problems in that I started suffering a tightness deep in my left calf similar to permanent cramp following a 4 mile run. I continued thinking this was a legacy of my old trainers only to have to stop running for a further 2 months to recover. Resuming running again I experimented between my old pair and the Asics. The old pair there was no sign of the calf issue, the Asics and it came straight back. The moral of the story is that my Saucony's were just worn out and I should have replaced them with the same. The Asics for me are just too soft and spongy (I'm 100Kg and 6ft 4in) and they don't stabilise my heel as it strikes. I'm off to buy a new pair of Saucony Hurricanes and mark it up to experience.

Posted: 29/05/2005 at 22:27

I went to see a specialist after a year of one injury after another. He said that i overpronate considerably with my left foot and to some extent with my right foot. I was also suffering with a right knee problem.Before visiting the specialist I had recently spent about £400 on different running shoes in an effort to prevent injury.The specialist advised custom inserts but said i might get away with motion control shoes. I bought a pair of Gel Evolutions and my nagging injuries are fading away and i am still managing to train 10k and 5k on alternate days as well as train with my son to get him fit for Army selection.I weigh 12st 7lbs and my height is 5ft 7ins.

Posted: 01/07/2005 at 08:28

I'm a beginner and knowing I have farily flat feet, bought Asics Gel Evolutions at an internet shop. When I tried them on they felt comfortable enough but after my first run in them I had a painful blister on my instep. I couldn't manage my usual last sprint to the finish line as I was hobbling like an old lady.

Now I wished I'd visited a shop for advice before I bought running shoes. I've heard Lillywhites in London let you run on a treadmill - try before you buy.

Looks like £75 may end up down the swannie. Anyone who would like some Asics Gel ladies Size 6, worn only once, please get in touch.

Posted: 07/09/2005 at 14:59

I started running using the Asics 1090, which I brought in a running shopin Brighton. I has noproblem with it. I then got the new version of the Asics 1090 on the internet. I started getting terrible bisters in the arch of my right foot. I tried changing socks, insoles, the lot! In the end I went to another shop and got my feet checked out again and they tried me in a pair of Evolutions. Basically I over pronate and my right foot tends to point outwards as I run. Its more pronouced when i get tired.

Now after 8-9 months using the Evoloution I have just started getting pains again (no blisters yet) in the arch of my right foot. I went to the Asics scanning session in Brightom where they video you running on a treadmill. They said that the diagnosis to run in Evolutions was right and that I was getting pains again becase the shoe was being replaced. Inetrestingly they said the Evolotion is good for me becuase I'm overweight. They recommended that I try the Kenyano on shorter distances and use the Evoloution for longer distances. When I lose weight they think I can change to Kenyano's for longer distances to..

So I suppose the moral of the story is

1. Go to a Gold Accredited Asics running shop only.

2. Don't get tempted to buy shoes on the internet until you are really happy with your shoes, even then updating to a newer model may cause unforeseen problems, especially if you are increasing milage at the same time.

3. Get you feet checked about a number of times, especially if it involved videoing you running on a treadmill!

Posted: 09/12/2005 at 22:20

Kate -Having tried a few shoes I've gone back to Asics Kayanos -can't be beaten for the over pronator in my view. Expensive but you can buy last season's colours for 70 quid or so. Don't rule them out -they are supremely comfortable and provide great support.

Posted: 10/12/2005 at 13:21

The 2100s look fine on the treadmill but their construction makes for irritating blisters on the left arch. The Kayanos don't.

Posted: 10/12/2005 at 13:30



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £90.00
  • Year: 2004