Brooks Beast/Ariel

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Brooks Beast/Ariel
Softer and slightly more flexible than previous versions, best used by heavier runners and those who need maximum support.

Our Review

The Beast (or Ariel if it's the women's version) is the daddy of control shoes, offering outstanding stability. With that in mind Brooks have been careful not to rock the boat and have made only minor revisions, such as wider overlays for added support and an extra midsole wrap on ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

5 user reviews of Brooks Beast/Ariel See all

Overall reader score
I've done a lot of looking around to find good motion control running shoes and these are by far the best shoes I have had. If you are lucky enough to find a pair in your size I would definately buy them, infac Continue reading...
I have very poor lower body mechanics and shouldn't really run in the first place but it's the only way to stop my 20 a day habit and to keep the flab off so have little choice.
If you over-pronate like me an Continue reading...

Discussions

Hi all

I'm trying to get into running but have been having leg pains (see my other posts).

I went to a shop over the weekend (Running Bath) who did a foot scan and said I had slight over pronation.

They looked at my existing shoes - Mizuno wave nirvana 2

The lady said that they still had plenty of life in them having done less than 100 miles of use but she did say that they were very supportive shoes and maybe too supportive. She looked at the soles of the shoes and pointed out some excessive wear on the outer edge which she said could be wear they're too supportive and causing me to lean to the outside of my feet.

She suggested a few different shoes which I came home and researched before ordering a pair of Brooks Adrenaline GTS 9's.

A friend is looking at Brooks Beasts and having read about them they seem like the may or may not be better for me.

I'm a heavy guy at present (18st 7lb) and 6'3" tall.

Should I cancel my order for the GTS 9's and opt for the Beasts or will they be fine or of little difference?

Cheers,


Wayne

Posted: 26/07/2009 at 20:35

I'm a sever over-pronator, and the Brooks Adrenaline was recommended for me.

Don't know if that helps....

Posted: 26/07/2009 at 20:44

Well, I was recommended the following:-

Asics - 2140
Nike - Structure Triax
Brooks - Adrenaline GTS 9

Having read some reviews on here I opted for the Brooks. Looking at Wiggle.co.uk though the 2140 is their better seller...not sure now?

Also, do these shoes come in differing widths? I've got quite wide feet.

Cheers,



Wayne

Posted: 26/07/2009 at 20:51

I'd go back to the shop and buy them from there. The Beast is a more supportive shoe than the Nirvana that you are currently wearing and the lady said that was too supportive.

Posted: 27/07/2009 at 11:36

Thanks.

I've not ordered the Beasts and the Adrenaline are due to arrive tomorrow so if they're no good I'll have to take the hit and try and visit Bath on a week day (weekends are just too busy to be running up and down the street!).

I've only been to 2 running shops (Bristol and Bath) and they're both in locations which make running/gait analysis really difficult - how odd!

Posted: 27/07/2009 at 15:08

i'm a severe over pronator and had gait analysis and bought gts9's.highly recommended.need a new pair now after 6 months.

Posted: 29/07/2009 at 22:07

the GTS 9's arrived and I sent them back

Just walking around the office in them and I could feel my ankly rolling inwards? It may have been becasue I was used to wearing the Mizuno's which are very supportive I don't know - but because I couldn't effectively try running in them without making them dirty (and then not being able to return them) I choose to send them back.

Next time I'll go to a running shop and actually try some on.

Posted: 30/07/2009 at 10:09

I am suprised you felt the Brooks didn't have enough support.

Posted: 30/07/2009 at 10:31

Wayne, in Bristol there are 2 running shops that offer gait analysis and have loads of shoe brands in stock for you to choose from for your personal fit.
My Moti on Whiteladies Road and EasyRunner on Horfield Rd at the junction with St Michaels Hill

Posted: 30/07/2009 at 10:54

Hi there

I got the Mizuno's I currently have a few years ago at EasyRunner.

I tried on at least 10pairs of shoes and also ran up and down outside at least 4 times in different shoes before buying the Mizuno Wave Nirvana 2's that I have now.

They've had less than 100miles of use and have plenty of cushioning so I guess I'll just keep them for now as they are very comfortable.

I never thought that there was anything wrong with them, I was just looking for a more 'technical' analysis than someone simply watching me run down a street with uneven paving stones!

Ideally, I'd like to go to a shop that has a treadmill where they can see exactly what my gait is like.

there may be nothing wrong with the shoes I have, I'm simply trying all avenues in the hope that I can overcome the pain and misery I'm experiencing

Posted: 30/07/2009 at 11:21

Both of those shops do analysis on a treadmill Wayne,
EasyRunner have expanded/extended and you do still run outside to see how you feel in them where My Moti do the running on the treadmill again so not quite offering the road feel

Posted: 30/07/2009 at 11:39

ah, well unfortunately I no longer work in Bristol so ideally somewhere in Bath or further south would be even better (I'm 15miles south of Bath).

Shame they didn't do it when I was there

Cheers,


Wayne

Posted: 30/07/2009 at 16:55

You should try a shop called run in swindon. They do the gait analysis on a treadmill and check the angles of your feet using a video camera. They are very helpful there

Posted: 29/08/2009 at 21:20

Echo Rebecca Handel.  My OH bought his shoes from Run in Swindon and he was very impressed

Posted: 02/09/2009 at 09:38



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion


Our score:

Your score:

Need to know

Outstanding stability
Flat-arch fit
  • Price: £95.00
  • Year: from 2009