Saucony Grid Stabil MC 5

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
Saucony Grid Stabil MC 5

Reader Reviews

8 user reviews of Saucony Grid Stabil MC 5 See all

Overall reader score
I am on my 23rd pair of Grid Stabils but my last three (all 2005 iterations) have suffered punctures in the heel unit within 200 miles. Continue reading...
Not very happy. The only plus point is that they provide good support for a moderate overpronator. Would not buy Saucony again. They are not in the same league as Asics or Nike! Continue reading...
Had two pairs of these for a long time and have been great. Very comfortable. Continue reading...
Top shoe that fits my feet. Continue reading...
Overall, I *think* I'm happy with these. As a severe overprontator who wears orthotics with these, Saucony are my only hope. Nothing else comes close. But this latest model doesn't seem quite as supportive arou Continue reading...

Discussions

i have fallen arches and ccan't get on with orthotics after a year of trying.not sure which motion control shoe to try, wave alchemy,brooks ariel or grid stabil mc?anyone else suffer with this problem and tried these shoes?please help me out.

Posted: 25/04/2006 at 06:51

Specialist shop with vid analysis is the first step. Then be guided by them. Some shoes don't suit particular people. I have the same problem and am on Asics Kayanos which are supportive rather than motion control but do the job. You may find that using a supportive footbed like Superfeet may help although I now use the Asics with the standard footbed.
Choose the shoe that fits you best.

Posted: 25/04/2006 at 08:22

i have had gait analysis done twice and they said the shoes they recommended were okay but had the most painful lower leg which went completely when i stopped wearing the shoes.i have been trying supernova control but although they were okay on my lower legs they gave me hip problems.i saw that wave alchemy were for people with flat arches but not sure whether to buy them so thought you guys might have tried these.can't keep forking out for shoes as i now have four pairs which i can't run in!!!

Posted: 25/04/2006 at 09:06

Hmm.. don't know what to make of that except perhaps to try another specialist. Whenever I've ahd gait analysis I've usually been left with a choice of at least 2 shoes and then it has been down to personal preference.
You could always try a footbed like superfeet in the shoes you have -it would save shelling out on a new pair and might make a difference?

The Wave Alchemys are fairly new I believe as are that new shoe Nike Caesium but I've no experience of them. There are probably threads about each shoe on here though.

Posted: 25/04/2006 at 09:17

okay thanks doctork.have a lttile time to decide as have torn my calf and am resting anyway.

Posted: 25/04/2006 at 09:31

Lynette - I have fallen arches too, and after a lot of experimentation, I am now wearing Nike Perseus (mild stability) with the Superfeet insoles Doctor K mentioned.

These are basically arch supports with heel cups.

I tried the stability shoe route too, but actually I don't overpronate when my arches are supported, so the shoes were wrong for me.

I also wear arch supports in my day shoes now.

Posted: 25/04/2006 at 09:37

I also have fallen arches, although it doesn't necessarily mean that I should be wearing support shoes. I'm a blip in the biomechanical norm, apparently.

Posted: 25/04/2006 at 10:07

I did try Superfeets and another support insole in a neutral shoe but they provided inadequate support -the ankle was being put under pressure by the support giving way under the weight. The Kayanos and other supportive shoes stopped that. Others I tried were the Saucony Grid Omni 5 and Asics 2100 (less well made than the Kayano for me).
Some people swear by Mizunos and can't live with Asics -in the end it is what suits you

Posted: 25/04/2006 at 12:33

Oh and the cushioning in stability shoes can vary from minimal to superb -the Asics are well cushioned for me -and it's cushioning the best part of 15stones!

Posted: 25/04/2006 at 12:35

i have a pair of asics 2100 but they didn't support me.all my other shoes are neutral which i put my orthotics in but this just doesn't work and all the problems seem to be as a result of this,thats why i thought a motion control shoe would be better.i heard the wave alchemy was designed for people with fallen arches and wondered if anyone else tried these.it gets expensive in the end and i'm sure my torn calf was a result of the arthotics upsetting my leg.

Posted: 25/04/2006 at 15:07

I've resurrected a couple of threads one comparing Asics/Mizuno/Brooks and the other about Wave Alchemy/Legend -they should both be near the top of the pile now -they might help. One entry is from Mizuno running -you might be able to e mail the guy with your queries.

The wrong shoe did for my achilles -tendonitis which the physio said is linked to foot and calf injuries too. Looking at the way I was running I wasn't surprised

Posted: 25/04/2006 at 15:57

i have read the thread from the mizuno man and have emailed him .thankyou sooo much for your help everyone,i hope i can sort this out otherwise i think my running career could be doubtful already.happy running guys

Posted: 25/04/2006 at 16:35

i wear the mizuno alchemy 6 although i believe there newer model is out now, i have alot of lower leg problems and it seems to have eased up but not completly gone since i have been wearing these, i have flat arches and the only problem i find at times is that my right arch tends to rub- but then thats not all the time and not at all sice i have been wearing asics kinsie [or something] low cut sock which i think are great. but back to the trainer its the best i have found out of the bunch i have tried- dont know what the prices are now but if you look at www.bournesports.com you will see the newere model is slightly cheaper than the older model which i have!

Posted: 22/01/2008 at 22:55

I have a pair of "sole beds" in my trigon guides.  Works for me.  The sole beds are shaped and can be heated by your running shop to mould to your feet in a neutral position if necesary.

Posted: 23/01/2008 at 11:14

I know this might be the right room to ask this but 'someone must know'!

I've just started running in a brand new pair of Asics GT2130's but on my second 10km run and I am already getting blisters on the same place on both feet, is this normal? Its on the instep of my foot if this helps at all.

Posted: 20/02/2008 at 13:31

Check if the stitching isn't causing it. I had that problem with a pair of Asics gel landreth 2 a few years back. Huuuuge blisters. I then figured out the upper build of Asics isn't what it should be, snipped the threads and ran happily.

Posted: 24/02/2008 at 15:05


Nam

Be very careful with an aggressive shoe like the Nike Cesium...

As ever it's horses for courses and some people love them, but because of the way the heel is constructed it can be a recipe for disaster...  Instead of a medial post to slow over-pronation, they wedge-angled the heel at three degrees to tilt the foot outwards before you even start to run.  Now, some feet don't like changing the way they heel-strike and effectively try to fight it in the gait cycle, giving you Tibialis Posterior tendonitis (you'll feel that on the inside of your lower leg above the ankle) in the process.

Posted: 24/02/2008 at 15:18

I have done over 500 miles over 2 years and these shoes have been excellent through everything I have thrown at them. I am a moderate overpronator. Would definately buy again!

Posted: 05/01/2010 at 17:42



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £70.00
  • Year: 2005 - 2006

RW competitions