Asics Gel Cumulus VII

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
Asics Gel Cumulus VII

Reader Reviews

40 user reviews of Asics Gel Cumulus VII See all

Overall reader score
A wonderful shoe.I have had no problems (knees/joints etc and I am 61) and am now on Cumulous V111 - Also a brilliant shoe.For me they are just the best and good insurance against injuries.Value - well as someb Continue reading...
I have had three pairs now and will buy more. Continue reading...
I agree that it is a shoe best worn in good weather. The mesh top doesn't provide much water protection. Even so I would recommend it. Continue reading...
Great for heavier runners as the cushioning is brilliant. I love these trainers! Continue reading...
a great shoe -would buy another pair Continue reading...

Discussions

Bought them when my pair of Gel 1100's finally stopped hiding the shocks, and have to say, they are the best things I've ever run in.

They're a soft ride, but not 'squishy' and the air flow through the upper is really good. Reasonably stable, but not so much that you notice, they really have been a bit of a revelation to me.

Basically, you put them on, you go for your run, and you forget about them. The only thought I ever have about my feet is that they feel quite comfortable. I don't worry about blisters, rubbing, soreness or anything else, which leaves me time to concentrate on my sore legs, my aching lungs, my tired shoulders, my churnign stomach...

Now, if you can make a pair of shoes that sorts out all those ailments as well, we'd really be getting somewhere!

Posted: 06/10/2005 at 12:44

am on my 2nd pair of Cumulus (not the new revamped version) and agree......slip them on and off you go with no problems..........

but I bet someone will disagree!

Posted: 06/10/2005 at 13:18

Anyone with any experience of Nimbus and Cumulus? I'm in Nimbus VIIs at the moment and they're great. Just wondered what the Cumulus were like.

Posted: 06/10/2005 at 13:44

I LOVE the Cumulus shoes! I tried the Nimbus last time - they were good - but I'll be going back for the new Cumulus in the next couple of weeks or so......can't wait!

Also, and on a very girlie note, they're lovely colours this time - all lilacs and purple!

Posted: 06/10/2005 at 15:32

I tried the Nimbus back in March this year after having a lot of trouble with Nike Max Moto. I didn't like the twist gel under the forefoot as it felt like my laces were tucked into my shoe. I returned them to the very nice people at Run & Become and went back to the good old Pegasus. Now they've messed around with those and I'm onto Mizuno Wave Rider - a very comfortable, springy fast shoe, great for tempo road runs but totally unsuitable for long slow trail runs. I'll keep trying - do the Cumulus have the twist gel thingy

Posted: 06/10/2005 at 15:49

Yes; Nimbus 5 - the 4's were the best shoes I've ever had, better than the more recent models - but still fantastic cushioning for my dodgy knees.

Posted: 06/10/2005 at 16:18

PS Why do companies fiddle about with shoes ; you buy one pair and six months later the same shoe looks and performs differently?

I can understand the sad trendies wanting to have something new but not runners - if it isn't broken why fix it?

Posted: 06/10/2005 at 16:20

Couldn't agree more. I now have 5 pairs of shoes I use regularly 2004 Pegs for recovery and easy runs, 2005 Pegs for off road fast runs, Wave rider for fast road runs, racing shoes for races and fell shoes for the country. My old pegs are on their last legs and I haven't had any joy in findig a replacement

Posted: 06/10/2005 at 16:37

I can recommend the Peg Storm - good for on and off road

Posted: 06/10/2005 at 16:45

I had the Peg Trail for 6 months in 2004 and they were great but when I replaced them the new ones gave me sore hips and knees.

Posted: 06/10/2005 at 16:55

After wearing out the Cumulus VI's that I bought last year, the VII's were a natural progression...and they don't disappoint!!

The first time I wore them for a race I improved my 5km P.B. by over a minute compared to last years time over the same course. (maybe I am just fitter!!!).

Anyway, they are again an good all round shoe.

Posted: 27/10/2005 at 23:52

Have used both shoes, but I prefer the Cumulus as they feel wider on the foot and softer than the Nimbus. They are also cheaper and you can get some great deals on the net.

Posted: 28/10/2005 at 12:31

RDR - you could take another 30 seconds off AT LEAST if you had a pair of shoes with less cushioning. Cumulus (and Nimbus) are aimed at high mileage comfort. When I first ran a 10k with a pair of Nike Air Zoom Marathoners I took 2 mins off a previos (recent) time

Posted: 31/10/2005 at 10:30

Mike Collins - you say that you replaced your 1100's with your new Cumulus. I think thew 1100 are stability shoes for mild overpronators, and the Cumulus are definitely cushionned shoes for neutral runners. Do you know what gait you run with - you should get this checked out at a proper running shop.

However, if you're putting the miles in and are having no problems, then you should be okay - you'd notice pains in your legs and hips within 30 miles if the new shoes were going to be a problem.

Still, it's always good to be educated!

Posted: 31/10/2005 at 10:33

Thanks for that - I'll be honest, it was something I had checked out. I over-pronate very, very mildly, so the Gell 1100 was right for me in theory, but I was also upping my mileage in order to run the marathon, so felt I needed something softer and more forgiving. Trust me, at my pace, the thought that it might be costing me a few seconds here or there isn't a worry!

I've done about 100 miles in the Cumulus, and my legs feel fine. Well, they feel tired, but I'm not sure I can blame the shoes for that!

Thanks for the thought though - much appreciated.

Posted: 31/10/2005 at 10:39

Recently bought a pair of cumulus, love them to bits. My gait is very neutral, and the shoe feels really cushioned and responsive. Have to agree with the quality air flow. I used to get really sweaty feet which caused problems but no such problems now. They just feel like a comfortable pair of socks.
If you are looking for a cushioned shoe and you have a pretty neutal gait these are great!!

Posted: 17/12/2005 at 10:26

I'm in a similar boat to Mick, in that I over-pronate mildly, but only in my left leg!?
I've been using the 1100s and they're about ready for the bin. Considering training in the Cumulus as I'm upping my mileage for my first marathon and maybe could do with a more forgiving ride.
As the 1100s aren't causing any major problems I might race in them, or the new 1110s so that I manage a more respectable time.
Any suggestions/ideas?

Posted: 17/12/2005 at 19:39

After my old pair of adidas gave up the ghost I decided to get a new pair of asics which were recommended by alot of runners in the club

After excellent advice in Achillies Heel in Glasgow I bought a pair of Landreth II which sit between the Nimbus and the Cumulus shoes which are great shoes although they hardly get a mention on the forum pages would like to hear what others think of them

Posted: 20/12/2005 at 13:13

new model Cumulus after 3 pairs of the last ones

first run - 2.5 hrs - not a single problem.........

well done Asics

Posted: 20/12/2005 at 14:25

took 9 mins of my pb half marathon time 1.18 so anyone says you cannot run fast in them hasnt a clue.shoes dont make the runner just assist in injury prevention and these are a very good shoe

Posted: 13/04/2006 at 13:21

Excellent time, Martin, but you try a pair of DS Trainers or Racers in your next 1/2M and you'll take 60 to 90 seconds off that, (all other factors being equal).

Posted: 18/04/2006 at 12:09

Thankyou and I already taken your advice,heres hoping

Posted: 19/04/2006 at 13:11

I've always been told by the "specialists" that I am an overpronator - firstly mild latterly moderate. Started running 3 years ago in Asics 1080, progressed to 1090, 1100 and things were okay but not brill. Recently advised to change to my New Balance 766s to give my arches more support. However, developed ITBS and my physio thinks the NBs are responsible. He also thinks I do not overpronate. Had my running gait analysed - again - to be told left foot is neutral and right only very very slightly overpronates. Asics Cumulus is the shoe recommended and have just bought my first pair. Am about to try them out tonight when I start my "rehab" running programme. They feel good and I am cautiously optimistic. Up till now after long runs I've always got sore arches (probably because I've been running in shoes with a medial post which I don't need) and sore third toe (same cause possibly ?). I really hope the Asics Cumulus sorts all this out !

Posted: 08/05/2006 at 10:13

Kazz, I also overpronate a little on one foot only, and have had no problems with the Cumulus. Here's hoping they work out well for you too.

Posted: 08/05/2006 at 10:37

Thanks, JoeMole.

Posted: 08/05/2006 at 10:43

Kazz,
I too have a similar gait to yourself. Every time that I've tried shoes with a medial post, I too have ended up with sore IT bands. My best move was to the old Nike Pegasus - they were great - the new ones (2005 update) are not as good, so next I'm gonna try the Vomero. They, allegedlly, allow you to run with your natural gait. Which for folk like us is probably a good thing.

John

Posted: 09/05/2006 at 10:20

John

Good luck with the Vomero. Unfortunately, Nike never ever fit me - I've very narrow feet as well which doesn't help. So far the Asics Cumulus have been fine for me. I'm hopeful ...

Kazz

Posted: 10/05/2006 at 10:37

I've just tried to but another pair of Cumulus but the shop told me Asics have changed the colour and it will be a couple of weeks before they get their order in. Does anybody know if Asics have changed anything other than the cosmetics of the Cumuls? I had a bad experience last year, when Nike messed about with the Pegasus, which I don't want to repeat so if anybody has any info it would be great.

Posted: 21/07/2006 at 10:28



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £70.00
  • Year: from 2005

RW competitions