Asics GEL Nimbus 9

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Asics GEL Nimbus 9

Our Review

Updated version of Asics' flagship cushioning model. Designed for high mileage running for the neutral or under pronating runners.

Reader Reviews

31 user reviews of Asics GEL Nimbus 9 See all

Overall reader score
Would recommend to those looking for a decent running shoe Continue reading...

BKL
Went away to Mizuno wave creation, i hated it so much.

But the version 10 is superb again. Continue reading...
Great comfort and protection for long distance training. The upper is light and comfortable while still offering support around the heel and ankle. Continue reading...
An excellent cushioning shoe for us boring neutral runners - and it's good to find a shoe that suits sometimes problematic high arches. Continue reading...
Very good but the comfort will cost! Continue reading...

Discussions


Anyone bought these yet? Always stuck with this shoe and will be needing a new pair soon.

Posted: 28/06/2007 at 11:39

Know how you feel, the last six pairs I've bought have been Gel Nimbus. Thinking of moving to Mizuno Waves but have found them tricky to find. Nike Pegasus seems to have a lot of disciples too.

Posted: 28/06/2007 at 18:51

Also used these a lot, but now prefer the cheaper Cumulus - seem wider on the foot.

Posted: 30/06/2007 at 11:43

I just bought these trainers today...
I bought the nimbus 8 last week but had to take them back cause they didnt feel comfortable as the sizing is all wrong... i am a size 8 but had to get a size 7...
As soon as i put the Nimbus 9's on they felt incredible... loads of comfort but the true test is when i get out on the road tomorrow so will let you know... paid full price of £100 so they better be good as my adidas give me tight calfs and needed to invest in a decent pair of runners... Watch this space...

Posted: 01/07/2007 at 22:54


I ordered a pair of Nimbus 9s for £88 from Start Fitness with two pairs of Thorlos running socks thrown in for free. Thats a deal!!

Posted: 02/07/2007 at 11:22

Had a pair for the past 6 weeks and have put about 80-90 miles on them. They are better, IMHO, than the 8's. I did go with a wider width; however, they are more cushioned and stable. The added gel is ideal for a medium arch, neutral, non pronater like myself. I am 190 lbs. and avererage 20-25 miles a week. These are the second pair in a rotation. The other is the Nimbus 8. I do like the 9's much more. Hope this helps.

Posted: 03/07/2007 at 00:02

Have I got 8s or 9s? I dunno.

As a shoe it has been great. As an investment, less so, as they started to wear out after a mere 300 miles. Wear was from the inner liners. I'm still wearing them as they haven't started to give me any blisters yet and the cushioning is fine.
It's a bit of a shocker to me as my last pair (Mizuno Wave Elixir) were indestructible for 1500 miles.

Posted: 03/07/2007 at 23:53

If you have 9's, there will be a 9 on the outer heel area. The 9's have more visible gel than the 8's. I do agree with you on the inner liner of the Mizuno product. They are very durable, but they do not provide enough cushion in the fore foot for me.

Posted: 04/07/2007 at 14:23

Bought some 9's on Friday last together with a pair of Mizuno Waves for the first time. I'm alternating runs and after 2 runs in each the 9's are infinitely more comfortable though oddly enough I feel I can run faster in the Waves.

Posted: 04/07/2007 at 17:04

I got a pair of 9's today. Tried on 6 pairs in the shop from Brookes, Mizuno even the Gel-Kinsei but these are by far the most comfortable.

I over-pronate everso slightly so these strictly speaking shouldn't be for me, but the fit compared to the 'right' shoes did it for me.

I'll put some miles on them tomorrow.

Posted: 04/07/2007 at 19:40

So went out last night in my new shoes..all excited. Did a 10K and got a toe blister on right foot :(.

Bit gutted if you ask me. The shoes performed really well, felt great but at the 10K mark I started to get a blister.

I'll try some different socks tonight and will wear them around a bit today.

Failing that I'll put a plaster on unless you guys have any recommendations?

Posted: 06/07/2007 at 08:47

Burnt,

Keep in mind that they are new shoes and will need a little breakin time. Six miles is not much to expect; however, each pait of shoes is different.

Good luck

Posted: 06/07/2007 at 14:07


I've really enjoyed them and I've only done one run! I dont often have problems with blisters as I use Thorlos running socks with the runners.

They feel good and they haven't even been broken in properly yet. Feel a bit wider and more balanced/steady.

Better than 8s.

Posted: 06/07/2007 at 14:36

I too use those socks and 1000 mile. I've been wearing them all day today and will try a different lace set-up tonight.

I will say that they feel quite a warm shoe...if that makes sense. Then again it is July ;)

Posted: 06/07/2007 at 14:39


They're lighter than the 8s too.

Posted: 06/07/2007 at 15:55

Quick question...

Are the 9's worth the extra £20 (online) over the 8's (£15 as in one place you pay for postage).

I weigh in at 14st and come down hard on my feet so want the best cusioning..

thx

Posted: 07/07/2007 at 09:25

...forgot to add.

what is the size like on these as on a US site they say to 1/2 size up. I tried a pair of Nimbus 8's on earlier and they were a little tight, but did have a thumb width from my toe to the end.

Posted: 07/07/2007 at 11:52

I think the 9's have more cushion than the 8's. I think this is due to the added gel.

Size wise, the 8's & 9's are sized the same.

Posted: 07/07/2007 at 17:18

Paul, out of the two I would go for the 9's. I need max cushioing in my shoes as I come down really hard on my heel. The Nimbus 8's were pretty shocking...completly different than the 7's, with less cushioning. they also had a smaller toe-box which squashed my feet so I had to go for a half size up.

With the 9's they brought back in added cushioning again, in the heel and mid-foot, and they are a lot more roomy in the toes (so normal size is ok). The extra price will be worth it if it reduces the risk of injury.

Posted: 08/07/2007 at 13:14

I have been running in these for little over a week now and they are great... i have started getting a few blisters though... Im training to get in the para reserves and need to get under 9min 30secs for 1.5mile... i have done it in 8min 59secs... Plus i have managed to do 5mile in 34min 25secs so i am well happy with these... One thing i had to do though was change the inner soles as my feet were on fire... there is too much insulation in the shoe and causes your feet to heat up... luckily i have a pair of adidas climalite innersoles that have breathable holes in so relieves the heat... but they do look the business.. well worth the money...

Posted: 10/07/2007 at 22:49

Julian, I couldn't agree more. See previous post.

I've now had mine for a week, several runs in and the blisters that I got in the first run have now stopped...they were obviously just bedding in.

But they are warm, perhaps I'll look for a different inner sole like you.

Highly recommended shoe though.

Posted: 11/07/2007 at 06:56

I have run in Nibus since the Nimbus VI, in my opinion, the NImbus IX is the best so far. I am not quite recovered from my Achilles tendonitis, but when running in the Nimbus IX, with heel lifts, there is no pain at all and they are so comfortable I sometimes forget to take them off after a run!

Posted: 19/07/2007 at 09:01

iv'e just bought a pair of these, £85 delivered then i spotted them for £72 on joe jogger. only had one run but seem very comfy to me. had nimbus since the 7s so am used to them.

Posted: 19/07/2007 at 12:09

Latest in a long line of Nimbus for me and there's no surprises. It's a Nimbus alright!

The only thing that could be considered remotely queer is that I've had to take the laces up to the very top hole to stop the shoe moving around, and I haven't had to do that since Nimbus V. Not a problem, the shoe is now firmly on.

WRT Mizunos - I have a pair of Wave Rider 9s that I rotate with Nim VIII and Nim 9, and as someone said on the last page, they are less padded and feel faster (which follows) but in general I don't find that mizunos last as long as asics in the foam of the sole.

I went to the US recently, and Nimbus 9s are $125 in footlocker. That's £62.50p in real money, give or take a quid or two. I thought that the days of huge price differences were long gone, but I guess the exchange rate is handy for us at the mo!

Happy running!

Posted: 19/07/2007 at 14:37

Just completed a 25k in my 9's. They performed great. The run was held at midnight to combat the heat here in Texas. Temp at race time was 77F, but the humidity was a little on the high side. Anyway, the shoes performed well and no blisters.
http://cowtowncameragirl.instaproofs.com/printDetails.php?event=24633&fav=1&col=1&id=5776327

Posted: 19/07/2007 at 15:31

I have been running in Mizuno Wave Rider 10 and have just bought a pair of Asics Nimbus 9 to replace them. The Nimbus 9 are a much snugger fit and much more cushioned. Have only done 3 runs in them so far, a 6miler a 9miler and a 14miler and they feel great. Won't be going back to Mizuno. I find the 1000mile Tri socks the best combination due to their thiness and the shoes snugness.

Posted: 20/07/2007 at 00:34

Is there much difference between the nimbus 9 and the cumulus 9? and against the nimbus 8? how does this three shoes compare to each other?

Posted: 10/08/2007 at 00:16

I have previously posted the below question and upon reading the above threads you have all answered my question, I am now off to buy the Nimbus 9's thanks one and all for all your advice...

I have recently got back into my running and am now really into my training for the Great North Run, I am also a club running and run roughly 25 miles a week. I currently run in Saucorny but have been having a few niggles in my calves over my longer miles (12-14milers) and I have just visited my specialist running shop who have suggested I change to Asics... The two they showed my are the Nimbus 9 or the Cumulus 9..Any advice by people who currently run with these would be really useful. Both felt great on and I ran on the treadmill. The Nimubus 9's are £100 and the Cumulus £80..realise that you can get them alot cheaper on JoeJogger!!
I am a neutral running with a normal gait
Any advice really appreciated.

Thanks

Posted: 13/08/2007 at 11:13

Have a look at www.jjbsports.co.uk
My Nimbus 9's cost 74.99 with free delivery. Orderded mine this morning.

Posted: 13/08/2007 at 22:08

Nick,

I hate to say this, but if the shoes you get look like the ones on JJBs website, they are the Nimbus 8's not the 9's - still very good shoes though

Posted: 14/08/2007 at 11:35

Appreciate your concern.
Not yet arrived- but will let y'all know.
Nick

The confirmation email says this...

Product Quantity Price
Asics Gel Nimbus 9 Size 10 1 £74.99

Posted: 14/08/2007 at 13:06

Picked up a nice red pair of Nimbus 9's from Simon @ SoleObsession (www.soleobsession.co.uk) in Sailsbury for £79 - same price with free delivery if you order from his website.

Yet to run in them but the do look very red - a'la Wizard of Oz...

Posted: 16/08/2007 at 21:37

Had a couple of runs with the Nimbus9's and must say I am impressed.

They offer sooo much cushioning and don't seem to need much 'breaking in' as they are comfortable right out of the box. I replaced a pair of Kayano13's with these as they gave me bad knee pain as I seem to run on the outside of my feet (or at least my work shoes wear that way) - with the Nimbus no more pain.... So I have a pair os shoes I can run in (at last) and an almost new pair of Kayanos that are fit for gardening - oh well second time lucky.

Nick - check your order with JJB as in their site they have Nimbus9's for £74.99 and £84.99, the cheaper ones show a picture of Nimbus 8's, even though the title says 9's. If they send you 8's argue like mad that they are not what is described - sale of goods act and all that.

Posted: 19/08/2007 at 22:16

I have just bought a pair from Sports World (shops in most towns and cities I think) for £77 in the shop, haven't run in the yet but they feel good. 

Posted: 20/08/2007 at 22:19

Just bought my first pair of proper running shoes today. Asics Nimbus 9s.

I was very impressed with the shop's foot scanner, which determined that I was a supinator requiring a neutral shoe. The monitor seemed to show that I land on the outside of my foot. I'd previously been wearing a cheap pair of Reebok Premier shoes which the shop assistant said were suitable for pronators and not me. They have grey cushioning under the middle of the shoe which apparently means they have a stabilising or controlling effect? I wish I'd known what I was doing.  If I'd had a cow and she'd had a handful of beans I'd be well on my way to owning a beanstalk.

Have I bought the right thing or did they just see the opportunity to sell their most expensive shoe to someone who know no better?

Paid over the odds it seems at £100, and if I'd read the thread first I might have been able to save myself a bit of money. Don't really mind paying more than necessary this time if they're the right type of shoe because I was pleased by the service provided (provided it was good advice).

I'd be grateful for your advice - I'll not wear the shoes until I know for sure they'll be okay.  Thanks in advance.

Posted: 24/08/2007 at 15:48

I think you've definitely done the right thing going to a professional first off.

Businesses dont generally 'just sell you the most expensive pair'. For the simple reason that if they did- they'd get found out pretty quickly and soon be out of business.

Ok- you may have paid more than some- especially online- but the advice you've been given is well worth it. Now you know you have the best equipment for the runs ahead.

Once you've worn them in and run comfortably for a while- you may decide to buy the same pair again- this is the point you can shop around on the internet for best price!

 --

As for me... I'm still in 'negotiation' with the online retailer who Durham Dawdler correctly predicted sent me Nimbus 8 instead of Nimbus 9. All I can report so far is that the day after I contacted them the online price went up. I've had no response to my email or letter yet.

If I dont get a response from them in tomorrows post, it's trading standards time I think. 

Posted: 24/08/2007 at 16:14

Winstanley,

 I also am a supinator.  They are not steering you wrong.  The Nimbus 9 is the best shoe that I have found for us outside landers.  I have about 150 miles on my 9's and they are hands down my favorite shoe.

Posted: 24/08/2007 at 16:26

Thanks to both for your advice. I'll start wearing them now.

 Regards.

Posted: 28/08/2007 at 09:47

Just off to purchase some this afternoon! Been running on saucony for last 6 months, and been suffering with shin splints in my right leg. Hopefully these trainers will help me on my recovery (am just wondering if all the support from the saucony's has gone and that has contributed to my injury!).

Posted: 03/10/2007 at 11:35

Did my first 4 miler in these and the pain is a lot less! Hopefully on the road to recovery now . They are a lot warmer on my feet than my last pair of trainers though! but very comfy..

Posted: 08/10/2007 at 11:17

See more comments...

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £90.00
  • Year: from 2007

RW competitions