Asics Gel Nimbus VII

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
Asics Gel Nimbus VII

Reader Reviews

79 user reviews of Asics Gel Nimbus VII See all

Overall reader score
A great shoe for long distance running. Continue reading...
Great long distance running shoe. On my third Nimbus pair. Strangely, even though I've always bought the same size, the fit of the last pair was different, more loose. Hope I can put that down to manufacturing Continue reading...
for the neutral runner hard to beat Continue reading...
Good shoe, will buy again. Continue reading...
will be getting another pair - favourite trainers for long slow runs Continue reading...

Discussions

I have worn the Nimbus 5 & 6 with no problems and recently bought a new pair of Nimbus 7s. Went for short run (4 miles) and blistered on both heels ! Both shoes have a raised ridge inside the heel counter that became very apparent as I ran. Did some searching on the net and found this appears to be a very common problem - look at the feedback on roadrunnersports.com. Don't know if this is a design or manufacturing fault but seems very dodgy for a company with the reputation of Asics. Have I got a bad pair or have other people had similar problems ?

Posted: 25/08/2005 at 21:26

Haven't reached 7 yet

I have just binned a pair of 4s and replaced with 5s. I try to stay 2 behind, keeps the price down!

So far I would nominate them for sainthood

Posted: 02/09/2005 at 18:15

:-(

I really hoped this was a resurrection of this thread...
http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/forum/forummessages.asp?URN=5&UTN=23180&last=1%20&%20SP%20=%20624923518668400236414%20&%20V%20=%206
(sorry don't do the link thing...)

No experience of the shoes though, sorry.

Posted: 02/09/2005 at 19:04

Got a pair of VIIs.

Love 'em. They're now my shoe of choice.

:-D

Posted: 03/09/2005 at 11:40

Asics Nimbus seem to have had a blister problem for some runners going back years. I gave up on my Nimbus 3s when they started giving me blisters on my instep after about 6 miles. I discovered that it was a common problem.

Posted: 04/09/2005 at 16:57

Hi, I have experienced exactly the same condition - blistering on both heels when running. I've overcome this by either wearing 2 pairs of socks or doubling over one pair back on themselves under the heel. Don't have any problems now at all.

Posted: 09/02/2006 at 08:53

I have just bought a pair of these and have had no problems at all. They are the most comfy pair of running shoes I have ever had!

Posted: 09/02/2006 at 09:07

Funilly enough, I have 7 pairs of trainers in current use (racex2, xcountry, trail, roadx3) and Nimbus are the only ones that have never given me a blister. Did a 16.2 miler yesterday in the VIIs and it's not my feet that hurt today!

Posted: 09/02/2006 at 09:32

I've always used the 2XXX series till now. My newest shoes are Nimbus vii and they are without a doubt the finest shoes I've worn. They are fairly light, well cushioned, not too soft, breath well and are responsive. No rubbing or hot spots. The shoe is an exceelent snug fit. Can't rate them high enough.
I have high arches,narrow heels and quite a broad forefoot. I weigh in at around 10st 8 and my weekly mileage is about 30.Hope this helps.

Posted: 09/02/2006 at 10:33

This is an interesting thread I had a pair of nimbus vii's, which i wore for 4 weeks ran a total of 62 miles and started to get problems.

I wear an orthotic insole but i found that the plastic heel counter in the shoe wore through the inner liner giving me a rather large blister. when i examined both shoes there was evidence of wear after such a short time.

I took them back to where i got them and the shop, STARTFITNESS, were kind enough to replace the shoe after i explained my problem. I actually had two pairs and they changed both.

I think that for me the heel counter may have been wrong, what i can say is that i couldn't fault the cushioning of the shoe or the quality of the upper. the plastic heel counter was to blame for the blister.

i now have two pairs of mizum=no wave creation 6.

Posted: 09/02/2006 at 14:31

Exactly the same thing here. Raised ridge on the heel and with the extra toe room they feel like flippers after 20 min's. Also getting back and shin pain too. Bought 4 weeks ago (for 95 quid!!!) and they just don't feel nice.

I've been out the last two nights in my old GEL1090's and ran like I was on air again... Going to try different insoles and if that doesn't work they are going on ebay as they have only done 20 or so miles! Quit upsetting really.

Posted: 09/02/2006 at 19:54


Dear All,

I normally run in Mizuno Wave Riders or Creation but thought I would try the Nimbus VII whilst training for FLM. They are much higher on the heel than either pair of Mizuno but have more cushioning in the midfoot.

Probaby have run about 30 miles in them with no problems so far. Very comfortable shoe and I am using a Sof Insole having removed the Asics insole.

HT

Posted: 09/02/2006 at 20:07

H.T thats why I've switched brands now looked a shoe that was lower on my achilles, when i first used my nimbus vii's i had a sore achilles

Posted: 09/02/2006 at 20:10

Hi All. Have has Nimbus VIIs and I am about ready to change them, they have only just started giving me a few problems, which other shoes haven't as they are coming to the end of their life. Up until now they have been great!!

Posted: 12/02/2006 at 16:45

Let that be a lesson to you all!

Wear shoes that are comfortable (after a little run and jump in the shop).

But more importantly get a shoe that suits your gait! I have a neutral gait and find that any well constructed shoe that bends well in my hand is excellent (my current NB,Asics & Adidas road shoes are good but my Asics tiger paw 2004 (tres bendy) are fantastic!)

I should also say that the best training and feeling in this world (well nearly) is to run barefoot on sand, I would recommend it to you all.

Posted: 13/02/2006 at 00:16

I bought my Numbus VII's at a specialist running shop and after gait analysis which involved a run along the road and in the shop with the sales-bod/specialist watching intently (apprently). I too have a neutral gait which is why I ended up with them. Just adds to the feeling of dissapointment :-( !

Cheers!

Posted: 13/02/2006 at 06:59

Paid £95 for mine a few weeks ago. never had blisters with anything else before. Ran 18 miles this morning and big blister on outside of big toe. Was planning to wear them for FLM but not sure now. Trouble is - have I got time to wear anything else in?

Posted: 18/02/2006 at 22:33

ouch LTS. I paid £65 for mine from start fitness. Only done 3 runs so far and no more than 6 miles on longest run. Feel v. comfy although I think i may suffer blisters on my instep on longer runs as they feel a bit snug there. Cushioning seems v. good.

Posted: 18/02/2006 at 22:47

Just a follow up message. Did 17 miles today with no problems or blisters.

Still happy with the cushioning.

HT

Posted: 19/02/2006 at 21:45


JGr
Hi all, I was wearing NB 1060's for a couple of months and developed a blister on the inside of my left forefoot. Turns out the shoe didn't hold my foot tightly enough in place and I was moving over the inside of the shoe.
Just got a new pair of Nimbus VII's though and find them very comfortable, holding the feet where they should be. No Blisters, Happy Days!!! I always wore Asics before so I don't think I'll venture away from them again in a hurry.

Posted: 22/03/2006 at 20:34

Hi

I've run in Nimbus V11's (2005 model) for the last year. I have had intermitant knee and achiles problems, but put this down to my age etc. I ran the Duchy marathon a couple of weeks ago and things were fine.

I then bought a pair of the 2006 model Nimbus V11's - and after a 30 mile on Saturday (training for Comrades) have extremely painful ankle joints.

It feels like the shoe's have far more stability built in - which doesn't work for me at all.

Any thoughts?

Posted: 26/03/2006 at 17:56

Forefoot blisters all over the shop with these trainers (Nibmus VII)

Cushioning is great but the fit mings.

Posted: 10/04/2006 at 10:23

Yep me too outside of heel is now bleeding and raw.

£95 spent to have more time off, I didnt need that

Posted: 18/05/2006 at 13:50

Just to say now have a pair of Nike Vomeros on my feet

Posted: 18/05/2006 at 13:51

Have just got a pair of the new Nimbus VIII which seem to have addressed alot of the problems of the VII. Fit is better, no blisters, seem to be more stable (I found the VII not stable enough). They're now £100 a pair though....

Posted: 18/05/2006 at 17:04

I just bought the nimbus last weekend, not had any problem blisters yet but i've only used them on very short runs to break them in.

Can any of you nimbus experts tell me how i can find out which ones i have? I don't see any numbers on them, they're white & baby blue and the uppers have netting on them.





Posted: 18/05/2006 at 17:53

Sound like the VII

Posted: 18/05/2006 at 18:02

Ariana - go to startfitness.co.uk and look there - they have pictures of both the VII and the VIII.

Posted: 18/05/2006 at 18:03

Thanks, i got the VII in the 2006 colour, i could have got them in the 2005 for 10quid cheaper! Well now i know...

Posted: 19/05/2006 at 12:16

VIII now available at sportsshoes.com

Posted: 19/05/2006 at 13:11

After about 4 miles the nimbus start to burn the soles of my feet

Posted: 19/05/2006 at 14:14

i was planning my first long run in them this weekend, ye got me worried now.

Posted: 19/05/2006 at 17:05

I wore nimbus VI for ages with no probs except a couple of toe blisters early on.
Bought the VII a couple of months back and I think they are even better.
No blisters, used them for long runs after a couple of shorter test runs with no problems, better cushoining as well. My feet dont tingle even after 2 hours.
Got mine from vigin runner. Bargain

Posted: 21/05/2006 at 21:17

I did 70mins followed by a bike ride in the nimbus VII (ladies) at the weekend with no problems thankfully, i was a bit worried from the reports on here but they seem to be ok for me, i love them actually, i feel really bouncy in them, maybe though it's because my last few pairs of trainers were completely wrong for me (Kayanos).


Posted: 22/05/2006 at 09:24

The Nimbus VIIs work well for me. Definitely no complaints - I'm loving them.

Posted: 22/05/2006 at 22:07

Hi there

I have just posted a similar story (Asics and Orthotics). I have a pair of Asics 1110 with a raised ridge inside the heel counter that causes massive discomfort. I first noticed this raised ridge a year ago when I purchased some 1100s. I have also noticed that many of the Asics shoes are now adopting this inner ridge. It may strengthen the form of the shoe, but for anyone wearing orthotics (which raise both heels quite a few milimeters up the heel) it is a major problem. It is a shame, as the Asics are a perfect shoe for the type of orthotic I wear.
Can you point me to some of the threads you viewd on RunnersWorld please? I have talked at length with different shoe retailers about the raised ridge issue in Asics, but they have all stated that no one has ever raised it as a problem so far. (Which I find hard to believe.)

Many thanks

Peter

Posted: 23/05/2006 at 00:02

Peter i use orthotics in my asics nimbus (ladies) & have no problem at all...They didn't work so well in my NBs but the nimbus are my perfect shoe at the moment.



Posted: 23/05/2006 at 08:53

Mark Derry!

Posted: 23/05/2006 at 09:43

:-D

Posted: 23/05/2006 at 09:44

I've never had a problem with Asics whatever the model.

Posted: 23/05/2006 at 10:17

See more comments...

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion