Mizuno Wave Creation

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
Mizuno Wave Creation

Reader Reviews

5 user reviews of Mizuno Wave Creation See all

Overall reader score
keep me running all the way Continue reading...
If you can find them cheaper than £90 (found mine for £45 on eBay), would recommend as a good "blend of everything" shoe. Continue reading...
A very well cushioned and comfortable shoe. I was finding it difficult to decide between the Creation and the Wave Rider but when I tried running with one on each foot it was very easy to make the decision to Continue reading...
A more sturdy sole than the Wave Rider 8 which I wear out very quickly with the steady mileage I undertake. Continue reading...
long lasting comfort from a great fitting shoe (and I like Saucony as well) that provides fantastic heel and forefoot cushioning that is consistent. Continue reading...

Discussions

Just seen there's a Creation 6 out now, however it doesn't appear to be much different to the 5 (new upper ?). Does anyone know what the differences are ? Am I better going for discounted Creation 5s or is it worth spending the extra for the new ones ?

Posted: 10/03/2005 at 09:01

I've had three pairs of Creation 5's and love them. Looked at the 6 but like you can't see much difference other than colour.

Posted: 10/03/2005 at 09:46


H.
Just bought the 6 (but only because they were super cheap in the States), haven't tried running in them yet. Might do tonight so I'll let you know....

Posted: 10/03/2005 at 13:39

how much were they in the US? I'm going on Saturday.

Posted: 10/03/2005 at 15:36

The midsole and outsole of the Creation 5 & 6 are the same, we have purely changed the upper pattern.
We have improved the forefoot fit with the new upper and also used a slightly better airmesh but the basic idea is that a Wave Creation 5 wearer can slip straight into a pair of Wave Creation 6 and get the same ride but with a slightly improved fit.
Hope that helps
Simon@Mizuno

Posted: 15/03/2005 at 13:46

Are the Creation 6 suitable for an underpronator? Currently using Saucony Triumph and New Balance 1023 both wearing out on outside in the midfoot area.

Posted: 15/03/2005 at 20:12

Gerald...
Just personal experience as an under pronator myself. I've run in the wave cration range for about 3 years now and found the Creation 5s to be ideal for under pronation along with the Grid Triumphs you mention .
The change in the Creation 6s with the introduction of some new Mizuno technology appear to have introduced more stability which is not suited for me .
The Creation 6s gives me issues with the arches of my feet . I am currently trying the Asics Nimbus 6s which with 50 miles on them are good but not as good as the old Creation 5s .

Posted: 16/03/2005 at 09:22

Steveo,
Thanks for the observations on the Creation 6 which appear to be different to the 5s. My Grid Triumphs began to show signs of wear almost immediately although the NB1023 are lasting better. I weigh approx. 84kg and always land on my midfoot/forefoot area - never the heels which never wear out on my shoes.
Asics are not suitable for me so I am disappointed that the Creation 6 may cause problems especially as I am a Mizuno fan. The Wave Rider does not have enough cushioning in my opinion.
Back to the drawing board?

Posted: 16/03/2005 at 10:20

Take a look at the Saucony Grid Shadow. It's got their extra hard rubber in the area where you land. It's not in the same high end cushioning bracket as the Creation or Nimbus, but you don't need all that technology in the heel. If you find them too hard, try sorbothane prosole under the innersole.
I am an underpronator who lands on midfoot aswell, this combination works well for me, as does Asics Cumulus with prosoles (I do nearly all my running on asphalt)- I do need an extra half size though.
The arch issue with the Creation 6 could be that the new inner sole is flat, whereas that of the Creation 5 is designed for high arches. If Steveo still has his 5's try changing over the innersoles.

Posted: 16/03/2005 at 22:09

Took the plunge and went for the 6s. Compared them to my old 5s and the midsole/outsole is exactly the same. Upper fits better (for me at least) - other big change as mentioned by RB is that the insole doesn't have as much arch support as before. Found this a little disappointing as I have high arches and like this but hasn't caused any problems yet. Other change is that the cushioning feels softer - guess this is down to the new insole as well. Overall a fantastic shoe - very well cushioned, superb fit. Bit misleading to call it the Creation 6 as this implies big differences to the 5 - there aren't any.

Posted: 17/03/2005 at 12:17

Humble apologies for misleading facts .

I was comparing an older pair of my Creation 4s with my Creation 5s . The wave plate is completly different . Got my brands and models mixed up as the latest Nimbus I run in are the version 6 .

RB and RR are correct there appears to be very little difference in the Creation 5s and 6s from wat I can see .

For me though the Creation 5/6 has ruined a great series of shoes that were perfect for me .

Posted: 17/03/2005 at 18:03



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £90.00
  • Year: 2005