Mizuno Wave Rider 13

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Mizuno Wave Rider 13
A shoe whose reputation for cushioning precedes it.

Our Review

What’s new? A shoe whose reputation for cushioning precedes it, the latest version of the iconic Wave Rider is fitted with Dynamotion, essentially a series of stretch panels throughout the shoe, which move with the foot to reduce impact forces.We say Lab tests showed this to be one of the ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

8 user reviews of Mizuno Wave Rider 13 See all

Overall reader score
This review relates to the women's version of the shoe.
When I first put these shoes on, I couldn't believe that they were Mizuno's top-of-the-range 'cushioned' shoe. Incredibly light (almost as light as my Ad Continue reading...
Mixuno must base their shoes around someone with the same shape feet as mine because I've found the Musha 2, the Kaze 5, and the Rider's 12 and 13 fit like a dream from the word go. I started running with Asics Continue reading...
Very happy with this purchase. Wasn' 100% in the shop trial, but outside on the road they just boosted my whole performance instantly. Continue reading...
Great shoe will be buying the same again! Continue reading...
Great shoe, my next pair will be another pair of Wave Riders. Continue reading...

Discussions

very comfortable shoes, choose mizumo every time.

Posted: 10/03/2010 at 22:11

I bought these trainers 3 weeks ago, having always worn mizunos i expected the same comfortable fit.

My toes are now suffering as i find these narrower than the usual wide fit- and have now had to buy another new pair of trainers instead

Very dissapointed

Posted: 11/03/2010 at 13:07

I have these and have had no problems they are very comfy. I did a half marathon in them 6 days after I purchased them. they are nice and light and responsive too

Posted: 11/03/2010 at 13:38

I've had these for a couple of weeks, having always had Saucony's I thought I'd give these a try. I had my gait checked and found I very slightly pronate but was recommended to stick with a cushioned shoe. I find these excellent, very comfy and light whilst giving great cushioning. Recommended

Posted: 27/03/2010 at 14:59

ready to replace my wave riders and considering wave creation,anybody wear them

Posted: 01/04/2010 at 21:39

The 13s seem to be a slightly snugger fit than the 12s, but are still very comfortable and good and responsive, as has been mentioned. They are so gentle on my knees, it's a treat.  I'll see how I get on with them at VLM, but I fully expect to be ordering another pair soon.

Posted: 05/04/2010 at 22:24

I changed to these from Asics 1140s after undiagnosing (?) myself with overpronation. I've got two pairs on the go both with 350ish miles on each; I'll be buying another pair in the next couple of days to run VLM in. Comfortable and much lighter than the 1140s. Looking at the wear pattern I'm sure I'm more midfoot striking now also.

Posted: 05/04/2010 at 23:19

Usually wear Asics Cumulus but find them not very long lasting. After having worn out a pair of New Balance 1906 I tried these. They are a great shoe, comfy, light, plenty cushioned enough. Wont be going back to Asics in a hurry.

Posted: 10/04/2010 at 15:45

Have had my Mizuno WR13s just under 3 weeks now and 52k in I have to say I've been impressed with them so far. Work well for me, fit like slippers and though I have pretty broad feet as well (often a problem for me with shoes of all sorts not just runners) I find plenty of room in these, more so than some of the other comparable shoes I tried when I bought these. Thumbs up from me then for what that's worth! 

Posted: 27/06/2010 at 18:24

I've run in Mizuno Wave Riders for a number of years, but unfortunately, the Wave Rider 13s have been a problem right from the start. I have developed large blisters on the arches of both feet and find them uncomfortable to run in . I am very disappointed as this is probably the 10th pair of Wave Riders

 I have bought over the years, and now I need to go and buy some new ones so I am able to run. (

Posted: 02/08/2010 at 12:49

I didn't notice any difference between the Wave Rider 13s and the Wave Rider 12s. It must just be a question of fit.

Posted: 27/08/2010 at 10:23

I didn't notice any difference between the two either. I think they have only made minor changes to the mizuno wave rider 13

Posted: 05/12/2010 at 16:02

Must be on my 6-7th pair now - never had a problem with them and fit even better than the 12s did.

Posted: 06/12/2010 at 19:49

Was in my local running shop yesterday and noticed the new Waverider 14s on the shelf. Was a little concerned about the look of the new heel; it looks a bit higher than on the 13s. I really don't want anything which is likely to promote a heel strike. When I first started using WR13s (on my 6th pair now) I immediately noticed I was more midfoot striking after changing from Asics 1140s which had much more bulk about the heel. Also had no real calf problems with the 14s.

 Does anyone have any feedback on these?

Thanks.

Posted: 31/12/2010 at 10:38

Think the Rider 14 has the same heel/forefoot heights as the 13 - normally 24mm/12mm respectively. Main changes are new AP+ midsole material (more resilient/bouncier) and slight changes to the upper.

Posted: 01/01/2011 at 13:29

RR: thanks for that; the heel just looked high in the shop. I should have taken more time and put the 13 alongside the 14 as they did have both on display.

Posted: 01/01/2011 at 16:03

Lots of opinion here on the Wave Rider 14.  Not much, if any, of which is positive.  User comments begin near the end of the 1st page: http://www.runnersworld.com/community/forums/shoes-stuff/shoes/mizuno-wave-rider-14/.0

I've not worn either Wave Rider 13 or 14, but have tried the new Inspire 7, and it appears Mizuno has changed the fit of both models.  In particular the heel collar is now very high, which would be great if you wear orthotics.  However, perhaps not so good for those who don't.

Posted: 02/01/2011 at 01:57

WetWeek: thanks very much for that link. The 14s do look very different to the 13s; more brick-like. I changed to the 13s as I was looking for less support and these look like a step backwards to me. I'll have to try to find an outlet for the older model.

Posted: 02/01/2011 at 07:02



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion


Our score:

Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £85.00
  • Year: from 2010

RW competitions