Mizuno Wave Rider 9

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Mizuno Wave Rider 9
If you liked the cushioned, smooth and light Wave Rider 8, you'll like number 9 too.

Our Review

Fans of the Wave Rider 8 will be pleased to read that Mizuno hasn't tinkered too much for the update to its classic cushioning gem. If you liked the fit and feel of the previous version then you won't find anything amiss here as the upper material and the midsole ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

30 user reviews of Mizuno Wave Rider 9 See all

Overall reader score
A truely excellent value shoe - I got mine for £60 online. Lightweight, easy to keep clean and if you are tall with a heavy foot I thinkyou will ot find a better shoe. Continue reading...
Best shoes I've bought since my first pair of 'high tec ' shoes the Nike Air in 1995. They were great straight from the box ; no wearing in period although aI did a few short runs before taclinga 18 miler. No Continue reading...
Excellent shoe for lightweight, medium-long distance training. I put mine round a couple of half-marathons plus Hellrunner and it was out-standingly comfortable with no performance problems at all events. First Continue reading...
Best shoes I've ever worn. Speedwork, 20 milers, no problem. First time in Mizuno for me, after loads of Nike and Adidas. Light enough to race in - I PB'd a half marathon in them last weekend, preferring them t Continue reading...
A slipper like shoe comfy light and roomy I wear these for runs under 13 miles (Asics Cumulus for long runs as I like the extra cushioning)and find these great for racing Continue reading...

Discussions

I actually think these are rather worse than model 8 (which I love) ... what the heck is going on?

The sole in the mid-foot seems to be far too tough. The actual feel of the shoes is nothing like version 8.

Disappointed.

Posted: 11/03/2006 at 16:41


Trouble with WV 8 is that I wear out the midsole within 2 months. This tougher update might be ideal for me.

I think Mizuno are aware that their soles are not robust. I am wearing out the Creation 6 in practically no time despite rotating 3 pairs of shoes.

Posted: 11/03/2006 at 17:25

Hmmm ... that may be so (the studs on my 8's have also worn down quite quickly).

But I think they have gone too far the other way!

Posted: 11/03/2006 at 17:43


How long have you had the WR9 and how many miles to you estimate that you have run in them?

I doubt that I even get 300 miles out of my Mizuno shoes which is why I have moved on to Asics Nimbus VII and Cumulus VII. More cushioning and appear to have a more robust sole.

I did think about the WR9 for FLM but bought the Cumulus instead.

I underpronate and get through 6 pairs a year so I am rather interested as to how you get on.

HT

Posted: 11/03/2006 at 18:09

I have worn them for two runs, a 10 miler and an abortive run today of 4 miles.

I shan't be wearing them again, I don't want to invite an injury - that is how bad an experience I've found them. They just feel so goddam harsh. That is the word I believe sums them up.

Ironically heel-strikers may not notice any difference at all. I strike on the mid-foot and I believe what they've done (maybe) is to harden up the lugs on the outer mid-sole. They're not star-shaped anymore, they're oblongs. Maybe this is to improve traction for heel-strikers, I don't know.

The actual restitution ("bounciness") of the soles when you press your thumb is seems fine. You wouldn't believe that to be the case though when you run in them.

I'll be complaining to Mizuno about it, I think they should know. I can't believe I can go from one version to the next and have such a difference in experience of running.

It's not me, I'm sure, that's why I gave them another try today.

Posted: 11/03/2006 at 20:16

After 500 miles on my wave riders (V8) I bought a new pair today, again version 8. I tried on the new version 9 and after a lot of deliberation eventually bought the V8. I can't put my finger on it but the V9 didn't feel quite right

Posted: 11/03/2006 at 20:36

HT
please can you tell me the difference between the Asics Nimbus and Cumulus?
I started running in Asics GT 2100 as I was told I over pronate slightly but when I went to my local running shop to buy my second pair(as i'd had a few knee twinges and sore shins so thought it was time for a new pair)They looked at my worn tread and it showed I was wearing down the outer side of the toe so they advised buying a neutral shoe as the support in the GT2100 was too much.
I was shown Nikes(which fitted awful) Brooks Radius and Mizuno wave rider 9.There wasn't much to choose between the last two and I chose Brooks.After doing a couple of 3.5mile runs they feel a bit like I'm running in platform sole shoes! there just feels a lot under the sole..if that makes any sense? or is it just because they are a different type of shoe and I'm not used to them?
After looking at neutral Asics I wondered if maybe I should have tried them as I did find my GT2100 very comfy...hence my question.

Posted: 11/03/2006 at 21:50

I've been loving my Rider 8s and have got 370 miles out of the current pair... and thinking about my next pair. I'm almost definitely a heel striker. At one point I thought I was mid-foot, but I'm not really.

Do I dare try the 9s or hunt round for some 8s... Hmmmmm

The 8s were as near as damn it my perfect shoe! Darn.

Posted: 12/03/2006 at 09:28

Try them on in the shop Dave, you'll know fairly quickly if you go on the treadmill.

Posted: 12/03/2006 at 11:00

I didn't want to get used to the Wave Rider 7's when I first got them, but my other trainers got worn out - now I think they're great now I've given them a proper shot.

Posted: 12/03/2006 at 12:16

Rustyktd,

I think the Nimbus VII is the heavy duty cushioned shoe and the Cumulus slightly lighter racing shoe.

I ran the Brentwood Half Marathon today in the Nimbus with no problems although the sole is beginning to wear on the midsole are but they do seem more robust than the Mizuno.

Have yet to have a run in the Cumulus but they should be fine for the FLM. I did think about the Brooks Radius and might try them next.

HT

Posted: 12/03/2006 at 18:45

Im new to the Wave Rider8 got a pair to wear with my orthoses.Im a heel striker so find them light and comfy,is it me or do they sound a bit flappy when your toe hits the ground?
other Mizuno wearers tell me its to do with wave plate
I dont like the idea that they will wear out after 200miles tho!!
I tried the Cumulus and found them a bit shallow at the back and my foot slipped out

Posted: 13/03/2006 at 15:46

Goldbeetle,

You should not have a problem with quick wearing if you are a heel striker because the vulnerable area is the midfoot. I have not experienced a problem when the toe hits the ground and I have had 6 different Mizuno pairs of shoes.You will enjoy this shoe I am sure.
TGT

Posted: 13/03/2006 at 15:53

HT
thanks for your reply.Been out in my Brooks again and although they still feel stiff and thick soled I'll carry on with them for now but I will definately be looking at the Asics for my next pair.
I guess it's trial and error when running to find a make of trainers that suit and as I'm fairly new to this I guess I have plenty of time ahead to try out different makes!

Posted: 13/03/2006 at 21:50

Rustyktb,

Keep us posted because I am interested in the Brooks shoes and having tried a number of makes, I have yet to find a shoe that is ideal for my under pronation. I have murdered Saucony, New Balance and Mizuno already and am now attacking Asics.
HT

Posted: 14/03/2006 at 20:21

I too have found the WR9 to be 'harsher' than the 8's, feels like the cushioning is alot stiffer and after a 15miler on Saturday the balls of my feet felt bruised and painful. I don't have any problems with the soles wearing out, after 400miles in WR8's the grip still looks like new but the cushioning has gone.

Posted: 15/03/2006 at 12:35

HT
sounds like you have been through lots of brands of trainers trying to find one that suits! Think I'll be checking out Asics again for my next pair,although the Brooks seem fine I don't think I'll try another pair.Good luck for FLM!

Posted: 15/03/2006 at 21:59

Rustyktb,
Road tested the Cumulus last night on our club fartlek session and ran about 9 miles in total. No ill effects and they should be ideal for FLM. As comfortable as the Nimbus.
Interestingly it could be that the Wave Rider 9 would be ideal for me as a serious supinator but no good for most other people. I might put the Mizuno people on the sport at the Marathon Expo - they probably hate me any way as I keep moaning to everyone about their less than robust soles.
Perhaps Mizuno should sponsor an old git just to shut me up?
All the best,
HT

Posted: 16/03/2006 at 21:59

Well I'm glad it's not just me Gavin!

Have replaced them with Cumulus now.

Posted: 17/03/2006 at 12:53

I got the 9s yesterday. No problems with them. They do not seem harder than the 8s were when I first got them. When I did my early long runs with the 8s I got bruised 'balls of feet', but the 9s seem no different. Did 8 miles last night in them with no issues. Even when I pushed the pace up a little there was not problem with harshness. Perhaps the Mizuno's take a bit longer to bed in than other shoes - this wouldn't suprise me...

djb

Posted: 20/03/2006 at 08:45

I did 13 miles in mine (two separate runs; 10 and 3) and I knew on the 2nd run that they weren't good for me.

I was half expecting a thumbs-up from the heel-striking contingent. Externally at least the heel unit appears to be no different, if that's the part that's absorbing most of the shock then toughening the outer sole (maybe) and adding bigger midsole studs will not make as much difference.

Maybe this is a good move for Mizuno as most of their customers will be heel-strikers, but it did make my life difficult! The Cumulus seem fine apart from a slightly over-supportive arch, but I'm past caring now.

Having no luck at all with shoes, bought some NB 900's in a size 12 (which is the size of NB shoe that typically fits me), only to find they're too tight. Unbelievable, I'm 6'1" and a size 11 street shoe size, and size 12 running shoes are too tight.

It's a minefield this shoe-buying business, it really is.

Maybe I should go back to heel-striking? ;-)

Posted: 20/03/2006 at 13:20

Or perhaps start running in Reebok Classics and footy socks?

:-))

Posted: 20/03/2006 at 13:21

Well there' no point me asking if you are the same size as me... I'm size 8, so I can't take your 9s of your hands unless I want to look like a clown.

Out of interest can you recall if you broke your old 8s in as quickly as you tried the 9s?

I find that I used to be a bit keen with using shoes until they died and then started wearing new ones for all the runs, instead of wearing them in over 20-30 miles of short to medium runs... and then finding the new shoes harsh. Not saying that the 9s will ever be good for you.

What about the Wave precision as a lighter alternative to the Cumulus...

Posted: 20/03/2006 at 16:05

The Mizuno's have already gone back, it was the NB's that were too small.

I genuinely can't remember how long it took me to wear in the WR 8's; you never know that might be the reason, but given my initial reaction to the 9's I am doubtful.

As soon as I get my money back on the NB's, I will go to Runner's World store in person and be a pest.

Looking at:

NB 900's (correct size!)
saucony fastwitch
asics gel ds trainer or racer

The Cumulus replaces the Mizuno's for the long run; it was just racing shoes I was looking for in addition ...

But cheers anyway.

Harbour Wallbanger on a Sunday again this year? Met you briefly at the 10K 2004, you might not remember.

Posted: 20/03/2006 at 16:42

Not sure about the HWB... I'm not sure who is dealing with it at the moment...

djb

Posted: 20/03/2006 at 16:50



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £75.00
  • Year: 2006