Nike Air Pegasus+

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Nike Air Pegasus+
Nike+ compatible shoe with a full-length cushioned midsole and crash pad in the heel.

Our Review

A Natural Motion crash pad in the heel of the shoe gives a softer landing, and a full-length layer of Poly-Urofeen over the midsole gives a better push-off. The upper has been redesigned for comfort and fit. In the women's shoe, the outsole has been stripped down for a more ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

19 user reviews of Nike Air Pegasus+ See all

Overall reader score
Nike shoes have been hit or miss for me. They are either a great built shoe that lasts a while - or a wreck that breaks me. These were not the worst expereince, but they were quite a wreck.

This was my first Continue reading...
Nice shoe that is good value. Feels lighter than it is and fits a reasonably wide foot.
Not my no1 though Continue reading...
Recommend this shoe as a good all rounder, my Asics Trabuco IV were better though. Continue reading...
A great everyday shoe, and great for distance. I've done over 550 miles in them and still seem fine and have tread left!
I prefer Wave Riders, but they're a close second, I love the Nike plus bit, cheaper than Continue reading...
Not a patch on Asics Nimbus,anybody that tells you they are is a lier. Continue reading...

Discussions

Hi folks - I'm on my third Nike Air Pegasus pair of shoes, and was very happy with them until this year's model. I've found the toe box to be too wide, and my feet move about at the front too much, the result being blisters on the outside of the balls of the feet.

Has anyone else found this problem with this model - and if so, what have you moved onto instead???

All tips gratefully received ...

PS. Sorry if this is already being discussed - I've tried searching for existing messages on this, but the search facility keeps falling over.

Posted: 23/07/2007 at 12:16

I have recently bought a pair of Air Pegasus 2007 following the recommendation of this magazine although I did get them in the States as they were only 22 pounds from the Nike outlet. I have not suffered from blisters yet, but I dont think I run enough miles to warrant blisters.
They are very large in the toe and when I tried the next size down they were too small. I think I will try Brooks next.

Posted: 26/07/2007 at 21:35

I bought a pair of 2007 and found the fit as good as the 2006 and 2005. Have recently switched to Sauncony Triumph 4 for the funky design :)

Posted: 27/07/2007 at 14:16

My first pair of Nike Pegasus shoes and I really love them! Great cushioning and as I'm a heavier runner this seems to protect my dodgy knees better than the Asics I've always worn before.

Very comfy and no blisters at all.

Posted: 08/08/2007 at 00:42

I wouldn't say they were too big, but there's certainly a lot more room in the toe box than previous models. Infact, I didn't like the new pegasus that much so swutched to Mizuno wave riders but even they feel a lot different from previous riders I've worn.

Posted: 08/08/2007 at 09:05

Had Air Pegasus in 2004 and found them very soft and cushioned - ideal for marathon training on the road. Bought another pair at Xmas 2006 and this version was much firmer, so hard in fact I couldn't do more than ten miles in them! A local running shop showed me the different cushioning units in them and there is a huge difference - the old unit has large air pockets but the new one is only one quarter the thickness - explains the difference in comfort. Complained to Nike but it did no good. It's a pity that such a comfy shoe has been changed so much.

Posted: 24/08/2007 at 08:17

2007 pegasus do feel fractionally bigger to me, enough to stop me wanting to race in them. the new insole, which does give me blisters, doesn't help, and i'm now replacing it with an older one. racing wholly in pegasus tc for the mo.

Posted: 25/08/2007 at 00:36

Sorry to go against the previous posts but I found them and little be smaller than previous pegs or motos.

I normally take a size 8 in Nikes and size 9 in ASICS but have found the latest pegs a bit tight, they may break in ortherwise I'll need to go up half a size.

That apart they are excellent. Second time I wore them, I couldn't tell that they were new.  

Posted: 05/09/2007 at 20:30

Mine are fine, although only just bought them and haven't run about in them yet.  walked around in them and no problems.

Using them as a direct replacement for my Asics Nimbus 9s and hopefully they will sort out a few problems - shame they still can't do them with longer laces.

My 2006 Pegs are stretched out a bit now and I never had any problems with blisters etc.

Posted: 06/09/2007 at 12:13

I agree with you about the laces.

Posted: 06/09/2007 at 15:24

I am Loving the 2007 version,

havent noticed them as being too big, insole much better that the 2006 model which rubbed like hell on my instep.

They are supper comfy and feel alot springy-er than the last model.

cheers

Neal.

Posted: 10/09/2007 at 13:30

Having worn these for a few runs now, I can give my opinion:

Comfortable up to a point.  Yes, they're springy and well cushioned and have helped with the ITB problem from wears Asics Nimbus 9s, but they are tight.  for the first time ever, I have blisters on my feet, mainly my right one.  The shoes are tight around the big toe and do rub a lot although no real pain when I'm running.  I had to change from a size 7.5 to an 8 for my last pair and to be honest, the 8s this time around seem smaller as there's less space between my toes and the front. 

Posted: 17/09/2007 at 11:24

i can only run in nikes due to very flat wide feet. Have found this new model is the best ones for me so far! have now got three pairs a spare pair and the pairs i rotate use of. only issue i have is getting orthopedic insoles wide enough for the shoe. i did have to go up a size than normal shoes for the extra width,

Posted: 15/03/2008 at 19:38

i am on my third pair, latest brought just before Xmas - are they 2008?? a couple of weeks ago i was doing a long treadmill session (owing to those storms/rain/wind etc) and ended up with the beginnings of blister as Shaun describes. i put it down to old socks (presumably thinning over the miles) as i can't fault the shoes.

PS new shoes every 400 miles , how many miles to a new pair of socks?

Posted: 20/03/2008 at 20:19

Does anyone know where can I purchase women's Nike Pegasus 2007 in size 5.5 for my wife?

I can't find any stock of this size on the internet.

Can anyone help?

Thanks.

Brian.

Posted: 19/05/2009 at 16:37

I don't like the new Pegasus. I think they've ruined the Skylon as well - used to be a great shoe. I don't find Nikes suit me now. Brian, have you tried start fitness?

Posted: 22/05/2009 at 10:48

Thanks Flying,

The Pegasus 2007 suited my wife perfectly with no blisters and are extremely comfortable. The new ones are the same as any other average running shoe so there's no reason to buy them.

I tried all the major online running shops, including Fitness, with no luck to date. 

I'll just keep trying.

Cheers

Brian. 

Posted: 22/05/2009 at 14:26

Definately bigger fit. I have wide feet so initailly went for the wider fit that Nike do in this shoe. It was massive just to big every were. I eventually opted for the normal fit and for a wide footed runner such as myself, found them to be perfect ,plenty of room in the toe box and totally comfortable for a 13 stone plus runner. I will stick with these for the foreseable future as it can be difficult and some times frustrating trying to find the perfect fitting shoe. Especially when buying on line.

Posted: 09/08/2009 at 10:20



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion