Nike Air Pegasus

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Nike Air Pegasus
Light, smooth and soft – the Pegasus is great for lighter runners who don’t need extra stability.

Our Review

The original Pegasus was introduced in 1983 and, apart from a couple of years when it was dropped by Nike, has been a big seller since. With this latest version Nike has worked on the upper, to provide a better fit and more support around the arch. The cushioning comes ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

66 user reviews of Nike Air Pegasus See all

Overall reader score
With the Nike reputation I thought these would be more comfortable, feet wouldnt get wet and didnt expect blisters Continue reading...
For the neutral runner running over 40 miles per week these are the shoes. As your main on road training shoes perfect additionally can be used as race shoes including upto ultra road races. Continue reading...
Slightly wide fit - therefore it must be sized carefully. Otherwise a good shoe. My first. Also lasts long (3 years) under moderately rough handling. Continue reading...
These were my first pair of running trainers and these are still my favourite of all the pairs I own. A good sturdy pair of shoes at an affordable price. Perfect for first time buyers. Continue reading...

Discussions

Reports say that they are less supportive than the old pegs, I am sure they also have a double insole to accommodate orthotics.

Anyone given them a rip ?

Best pegs in my view were either about 1984ish or 2000 (green ones)

One of my staple shoes, good for no injuries but no good for speed. IMHO

Posted: 09/08/2005 at 23:06

They seem very good to me. Arch may be a little too high though.

Personally I miss my 1995's.

Posted: 10/08/2005 at 08:50

I bought some the first week they came out and have put them at the back of the cupboard.
I think they are very different to the previous model and can't get on with them. I am now desperately looking for a replacement shoe as I have been running in the old pegs for 18 months with no problems but instantly knew this version was wrong for me with the reappearance of old problems.
Agree with CH that they do seem to have a high arch and grip your heel quite firmly.

Posted: 10/08/2005 at 16:55

I bought some the first week they came out and have put them at the back of the cupboard.
I think they are very different to the previous model and can't get on with them. I am now desperately looking for a replacement shoe as I have been running in the old pegs for 18 months with no problems but instantly knew this version was wrong for me with the reappearance of old problems.
Agree with CH that they do seem to have a high arch and grip your heel quite firmly.
So if anybody is interested in a new pair ladies size 6, I have run 5 miles in them, email me.

Posted: 10/08/2005 at 16:56

Whoops don't know how that happened!!

Posted: 10/08/2005 at 16:57

I've had some 03, 04 and 05 versions, and these 05 ones do seem tighter and not as supportive as the previous ones. At first I thought it was because they needed 'wearing in' but after a few miles I don't think they've settled quite as much as I'd like.

Posted: 11/08/2005 at 10:09

Just wearing a new pair in now after a fruitless search for 2004 Pegs in my size....They do feel a bit different. Seem to be tighter across the laces and looser in the heel....

I took out the insole as I put in my orthotics. The insole does have a higher arch than the 2004 Pegs.

Seem to be settling down OK and the ride is similar to 2004s.

Posted: 12/08/2005 at 09:39

I love them! Bought them on Tues, did 23 miles in them today - no probs whatsoever. It was a risky thing to do I know but I wanted to test them out. They seem more cushioned than my old pegs (this is about my 6th pair)

Posted: 21/08/2005 at 21:21

Thinking about getting a pair just for a change. Tried some on last week and they felt really comfortable. Not so sure now after reading some of the comments. C'mon, somebody reassure me!

Posted: 24/08/2005 at 15:31

I have to say that I don't really rate mine anymore. That arch is a little too high and they are a tad too narrow in the mid part of the sole and too open in the toe box.

I'm wearing them round the office today mind where they are very nice........

I'm going to change up to some Nimbus' I think.

Posted: 24/08/2005 at 15:35

I still love them, 45 miles in them now, not even a red mark in sight. I don't get on with Asics but lots seem to. Think am going to order another pair of 2005 Pegs so can have spares.

Posted: 25/08/2005 at 11:22

I`ve just returned to running after a 5 year break,I`m thinking of buying a pair of peg`s (having had a pair in the past) as I slighty pronate and use orthotics due to achilles tendon problems, I also have a high arch, would other runners with simular problems recommend them ???

Posted: 19/09/2005 at 11:48


Depends how slight your problems. Perhaps you need a shoe with a smalish medial post. Go to a running shop and try a few out.

Posted: 19/09/2005 at 11:54

I wear orthotics for plantar fasciitis in my 2004 Pegs. Don't have high arches though.

Posted: 19/09/2005 at 23:36

Bought some a month or two ago. Did a short 20 min run and they ripped my feet apart. Haven't worn them since. They blistered my feet in the middle on the outside. Don't know whether it was due to the narrowness of the shoe or the insole being folded up slightly around the mid foot and heel.
I've got on well recently with Saucony Jazz and Mizuno wave riders if anyone is looking for an alternative.

Posted: 20/09/2005 at 14:02

If anyone's interested, sportsshoes have a sale on at the moment and there are some older style ladies storm pegasus for £38 odd: sorry I dont know how to post a link - http://www.sportsshoes.com/product/index.php?id=360&product_code=NIK1489
looks like this might be a recent clearance they've got because there are most sizes available from 2 to 8 including half sizes. Some mens available at similar prices but not the range of sizes unfortunately.

Posted: 20/09/2005 at 15:47

I was using the 2004 Pegasus throughout my marathon training and was really happy with them. Based on this I bought the 2005 version but I stopped using them after about 4 weeks. I found them narrower than the previous model and while I didn't get any blisters I did pick up an IT Band problem which I never had with my old Pegasus. I don't honestly know whether the new shoes contributed to this or not but I've changed over to the Asics Cumulus now and find them a lot better.

Posted: 30/09/2005 at 18:05

Having raved on about them before I've now had to stop wearing them as they kill the top of my feet. I've worked out it's because the tongue is sewn in so it makes them a lot narrower than the old ones, am thinking of cutting either side of it to free it up a bit. And i haven't even got high arches so it must be bad if you have. Apart from that I think the cushioning is better than the old ones.

Posted: 30/09/2005 at 23:21


Having seen the reviews and comments I have just ordered another pair of the last model.

Posted: 30/09/2005 at 23:39

my 2005s are only 15 miles old and have developed a mighty creak in the right forefoot. feels like the whole shoe's about to come apart. wish i hadn't bought them overseas.

Posted: 04/11/2005 at 19:16

Mine creak too

Posted: 04/11/2005 at 19:53

Mine creak too! I only wear them when I go to the gym but after 5K on the running machine yesterday I couldn't go on any further because the soles of by my feet were agony. It's going to be back to my Kayanos I think!

Posted: 04/11/2005 at 21:40

so it seems to be a 'feature' then. i'm going to contact their head office anyway. i'll post back further info.

Posted: 05/11/2005 at 08:49

I have done 300 miles in current pegs and really like them. Maybe not as supportive as earlier versions. Heel orthotics fit well. I will replace early in the new year probably will get another pair.

Posted: 16/12/2005 at 08:13

If anyone is still searching for the previous, 2004 model style pegausus, give us a try at www.foot-traffic.co.uk
we have mens and ladies in most sizes at only £29.99. Various colours. If you dont see what you want there call and we can give you the most upto date stock check! 01204 301230

Posted: 16/12/2005 at 09:01

Just tried on a pair as they we in the sale at Sweatshop. They are much narrower than my current ones (03 version I think, bought as latest version in Feb/March 04 - salte grey colour). What are the 04 version like? I have a wide foot, would they suit?

Posted: 13/01/2006 at 12:30

It's prob that sewn-in tongue feature I was on about earlier. I've just bought a pair of Mizuno Wave Riders, they seem fab and it seems Pegasus fans get on well with them.

Posted: 13/01/2006 at 13:06

Hobbling Round

I must admit I did not notice that they were narrower. I have now dumped my 04 pegs in place of Mizumo Wave Rider 8. I was loathe to since I have had 4 pairs of pegs. The wave riders felt as if they were more cushioned, which is what I need.

Posted: 13/01/2006 at 13:11

I'm the same, I've had a gerzillian pairs of Pegs. No doubt I'll go back to them, I usually do

Posted: 13/01/2006 at 14:51

I have bought a pair of pegs and do find them thight especially with orthotics in

Posted: 13/01/2006 at 17:27


I was cornered in the NYC Marathon Expo to test various widths and fits of Pegasus by some testers from Nike. I told them the 05 model had problems and they said they knew which was why they were testing.

Posted: 13/01/2006 at 20:30

Alex

Thanks for the info. So it's wait for Peg 06 then. With more cusshioning.

Posted: 13/01/2006 at 21:17

Oh brilliant. I mean why bother changing them in the first place. Silly people.

Posted: 13/01/2006 at 23:54

Mrs O

I agree with you entirely. It seems all the shoe manufacturers have to tinker/change their models. They seem to follow the mantra if it aint broke let's break it. Which seems very strange to me as with the runners I know brand/shoe loyalty is very high.

If anybody from Nike would like me to test their 06 pegs. I would be delighted!!!

Regards

HB

Posted: 14/01/2006 at 07:18


Could'nt wait for the 06 pegs so bought some 05's last week. Ran a 30k race on sunday in them no probs whatsoever. Yes they do feel a bit narrower but also a little bit more responsive. They are also very muddy now!!!!

Posted: 14/02/2006 at 18:09

Cushioning not up to scratch for heavier runners.
Laces too short.
Forefoot too narrow.
In short, the worst Pegasus to date.

Posted: 08/03/2006 at 09:26

my 2005s were quite good

only lasted 376 miles though

Posted: 08/03/2006 at 09:38

I agree the laces are too short. I think they are better than last years model. They are a touch lighter and feel faster but admit maybe some of the cushioning has been lost. Have they lowered the heel?

Posted: 08/03/2006 at 09:56


I bought a pair on a sale recently. They are not remotly the same shoe as previous pegs. Cushioning is def completley different and the shoes now feel much more my stiff reebok road lites. I think more a miss than a hit, they do not protect me from injury like my others used to and the laces are well too short.

Posted: 08/03/2006 at 10:10

I have narrow feet

Posted: 08/03/2006 at 10:26

See more comments...

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £60.00
  • Year: 2009 - 2006