Nike Air Zoom Vomero 2

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Nike Air Zoom Vomero 2
If you're after a pillowy ride, then you'll love the Vomero. Some runners, though, will, find it too soft.

Our Review

With its segmented outsole, Nike's new top-end cushioning shoe takes some cues from the company's Free range. It also uses the new “Control at Origin” stability feature. This is essentially a softer crash-pad on the outside edge of the heel, designed to slow pronation before you move through the gait ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

66 user reviews of Nike Air Zoom Vomero 2 See all

Overall reader score
Expensive for the way they've lasted. Continue reading...
I have never bought nike before, always thought of them as a fashion shoe and not a serious training shoe, it's nice to be proved wrong occassionally Continue reading...
As a light weight runner have found the wear rate awful , you will spend a lot of money on shoes if you use these often Continue reading...
I would give this shoe a 7/10. Continue reading...
A nice shoe which is extremely cushioned. Unless you are looking for pure cushioning, there are much better shoes out there. Continue reading...

Discussions

After trying mizuno wave nirvana, kayano XII, nimbus, and now Vomeros I can categorically state that The Vomero (kind of a big boys Pegasus) is the most comfortable shoe to run in that I have ever come across.

The difference is like going from a Suzuki leaf sprung jeep to a Range Rover. I never ever thought running on the road could be considered comfortable.

Ok Many of you will realise that there is a type of shoe issue going on here. I was wrongly advised to get a stability shoe at first and after weeks of Shin splints and achilles problems I am now in a cushioned shoe, but even between the Nimbus and the Vomero the difference is out of this world.

Crap name but a great shoe, I am a Nike man after all. If you are after a nuetral shoe and love the comfort zone get these. They are responsive and because they are comfortable and light I shaved a minute off my PB for 5k on my first run in them, and I was being cautious!

Posted: 20/05/2006 at 07:46

Cable you run in excatly same as me then!
Nimbus and vemeros.

Yes like pillows but I find on shorter stuff nimbus wins out.

Posted: 20/05/2006 at 09:32

cabletow, you read my mind.

I just came on here to ask for advice on the best heel ultra-cushioning shoe since I too have had problems with my achilles.

The only problem is, I feel uncomfortable stumping up the 85 quid.

Anyone know of any comparable shoes costing a bit less?

Posted: 20/05/2006 at 10:07

As he saying goes, Quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten.

What price is getting rid of your achilles tendonitis and all the rest days that the tendonitis forces on you.

Just my 0.02p

Posted: 20/05/2006 at 16:29

fair point well made. sweatshop is already on my radar tomorrow and - hopefully - a brief run afterwards to test out my huge feet encased in cushioning nirvana!

Posted: 20/05/2006 at 19:51

Dave, did you get any Vomero's? I trialled a pair the other night from the Nike van, did 8 miles and was well impressed. If anything they were a bit too spongy. The following couple of days my ankles were a bit sore though I managed to run. Like you I agree with cabletows point about quality, but when ther are shoes for a lot less money, I find it difficult to justify. As anyone else got these who maybe found them a bit to bouncy/spongy to start with but have found they settled after a few runs?

Posted: 26/05/2006 at 11:20

Arnee
I found that for about 25 miles they "bounced" however now they are great.
Still pillow like but responsive.

Posted: 26/05/2006 at 11:48

Cheers TT, oh what the heck, it's only money.

Posted: 26/05/2006 at 11:55

Dunno, had mine for graiits ;-)

But about to stump up for my second pair.

Posted: 26/05/2006 at 11:56

I bought the Nike Air Zoom zkylon which are cheaper, have the same "Free" technology in the sole & a lower heal. I really like them as they run really smooth. A little bit slippery on wet grass though.

I don't know whether to buy another pair now or wait for the next revision.

This new wave of shoes from nike certainly have me excited - the whole lower leg gets a workout which can only be a good thing & at last a step in teh right direction

Posted: 26/05/2006 at 12:08

As long as they DON'T mess with the x-country spike range i will be happy with that.

Posted: 26/05/2006 at 13:00

they do settle with miles, cant fault them now and I reckon they are good for many miles

Posted: 26/05/2006 at 16:37

Ended up with a pair of Nimbus. The guy at Sweatshop said that unless you have a perfect running style they accentuate any faults you have in your gait.

The Nimbus are pretty nice. A world away from my Adidas A3s.

But I still have the heel problem, so I'm gonna see the sports physio and sort myself out.

Posted: 26/05/2006 at 16:45

very nice shoe although my second pair are being a little bit of a pain to break in

Posted: 26/05/2006 at 16:58

I totally disagree with gait correction & any type of foot corretion so the likes of the free, vomeros, zoom skylons suit me. I was told I over pronate but since going neutral & lower heeled shoes I have had no injuries at all.

I really believe all the barefoot principles laid down in teh forefoot running thread here, various barefoot sites & the pirie book, however I tried running in Puma H.Streets (plimsoles basically) & they put a bit too much strain on my calfs so a slghtly thinker sole suits me for a bit mroe comfort.

Posted: 29/05/2006 at 16:32

Had been killing my shins with a pair of JJB Asics for far too long, and finally got round to having my gait analysed.

Turns out I supinate, and Runnersneed tried me out on both Asics Nimbus and Nike Vomero.

No contest for me. I'd gone into the store with sore shins, but as soon as the Vomero were on, I was running pain free on the treadmill. The Nimbus just didn't do it for me at all.

I'd say they lacked a bit of responsiveness at first, but I'd definitely sacrifice that for the ability to run pain free. A couple of months on from getting them, they're an absolute dream. A tenner less than the Nimbus as well.

Posted: 11/06/2006 at 01:56

The price never bothered me, in the shop I thought my feet had died and gone to heaven, but when I tried a quick paced run in them I had to stop, take off the shoes and my socks and try to take the burning out of the balls of my feet. I've been running in Nike's since the early 80's and I've never experienced that, except for the day when I raced an 800m and lost my shoe with a lap to go and ran the last 4 barefoot - finished 2nd - but by god that was painful.
I now use the Vomeros as my long and recovery run shoe as it guarantees that I can't go faster than 7min mile pace.

John

Posted: 04/07/2006 at 17:58

The Nimbus felt amazing in the shop, and burned the balls of my feet for the first few runs, but fine now. When I went back for a second pair trainers for alternate running days, they all felt ridiculously uncomfortable compared to Nimbus.

Posted: 04/07/2006 at 19:15

Hi,

I recently discovered that I under-pronate so I was advised to pack up the Asics Kayano XIIs.

As a replacement, I just bought my first pair of Vomeros yesterday - they felt a little bit tight under the tongue - since it is stitched to the lining.

I still took the risk as otherwise it was really comfortable - do you think they will ease a little with wear?

Thanks,

Emile from Malta

Posted: 17/11/2006 at 08:45

HI ALL, Bit late for this thread but i have been away! Ok do not wear the vomeros of road or your heels will be on fire the morning after! They are tight over the top of the foot,so thinner socks are better,all in all a nice shoe but i wish it had just a wee bit more support.Oh by the way (www.joe jogger.co.uk) will sell you a pair for 60 quid! Worth it!!!

Posted: 21/11/2006 at 10:16

I love them they are a great long distance training shoe and I have 3 pairs of NIKE airs, I have only ever worn Nike Airs since 11 (1983!) and they are just the best shoes out there. Forget all of the runners shops propaganda about Asics and Brooks - they are just jealous of Nike's meteoric sucess

Posted: 28/02/2007 at 23:39

Branches of Sports Soccer are selling the three different colourways for under £60 now.

Posted: 11/04/2007 at 18:53

JJB has been for some time.
Random if the black or blue but hey I don't care cos mine are always stinking!

Posted: 11/04/2007 at 18:55

Ive allways sufferd with my knees, untill i tried these Nike air zoom vomero trainers, they are great. Best £85 ive ever
spent.

Posted: 19/05/2007 at 11:25

£85?

£60 in some places!

Posted: 19/05/2007 at 11:36

£60? Please advise where! Thanks

Posted: 19/05/2007 at 15:41

Some JJBs.

Joe jogger is £70 for vomero +2.

Must investigate these new offerings of vermero.

Posted: 19/05/2007 at 16:07

Have had the vom +2 since mid April. Find them brilliant, roomier and better wearing than the vom 1. Bit white though!

Just need an Ipod to the the whole plus thing working.

Posted: 19/05/2007 at 23:09

I just bought some of these in New York (on hols) on the advice of a speciality running shop ($69). I previously wore Asics Gel Nimbus which were giving me sore knees.

After 3 runs in Vomero I am getting very sore lower legs and a sore right arch. They feel almost too soft and loose.

I have high arches and very rigid feet, almost supinating.

Are they the wrong shoe for me?

Thanks

Posted: 05/06/2007 at 19:58

Absolute rubbish shoes if you have high arches. Have to agree with the post above, too soft and they give me severe burning sensation under the ball of my foot. The sock liner is too tight.

I'm sure their fine for other types of feet but rubbish for me!

Posted: 07/06/2007 at 10:10

DD, I have high arches / rigid feet too and had the burning sensation under the ball of the foot too, coming on when length of run exceeded one hour.
That did disappear after a while though (about 40-50 miles of use) so don't give up on them just yet.

Comfy they most definately are (the +2), but responsive???

Posted: 07/06/2007 at 11:23

I did have some discomfort when i first used them, but after half a weeks running the burning sensation in the ball of my feet went & i then knocked off 3 min 45 sec
off of my saturday 13 mile run, which i credit to my new Nike trainers.

Posted: 07/06/2007 at 18:21

I bought 2 pairs of these a month back (+2 model), and have found them great. Ironically I had the pain in the ball of my foot prior to buying these from some New Balance cross trainers I use at the gym. The NIKE's are fantastic and I find them roomy as I have wide feet, although I've been resting the injury so haven't run in them for a couple of weeks.

If you find the sock liner too tight, have you tried lacing them without criss crossing in the middle part of your foot?

I think they're a great shoe and get better the longer I go in them....each to their own I guess!

Posted: 07/06/2007 at 19:26

I have this burning sensation on the bottom of my foot too, but only the left one..comes on after about 30 minutes and then becomes unbearable with numbness by about an hour..I had this both with the Vomero 1's and now with the Vomero 2's as well (although not as bad)..
I use these with orthotics (Orthoheelfrom Boots, the best!) and its the best shoe for protecting my knees I've ever run with..

will it really go away with time?? and why? seems like alot of people have this issue..Does Nike refer to it at all??

Posted: 10/06/2007 at 17:41

I have tried various lacing patterns to try and relieve the burning pain in ball of foot (funnily emough also only on left foot). Works with other shoes where I have had similar problem (Saucony Triumph) but no joy with Volmero. I don't intend to continue running in them to see if the issue resolves itself, 30 miles on them and they sits at the back of the cupboard!

Does seem odd that so many peeps get the same problem with them, anybody like to hazard a guess why?

Posted: 10/06/2007 at 18:00

TRy swapping the insoles - the Vomero 1 has an insole (not sure about the 2) that has softer areas under the heel and metatarsals - this can allow the metatarsal arch to collapse and this can compress the nerve as it passes between the bones

Posted: 11/06/2007 at 16:46

Just tried these with the original insoles in and with my orthotics over top of insoles and felt much better. Great even.

Anyone understand that???

Posted: 11/06/2007 at 22:27

Will try swapping the insoles, watch this space!

Posted: 12/06/2007 at 06:19

swapped the insoles and their still sh@%e

Posted: 05/07/2007 at 13:36

As someone else was asking about Vomeros I though about bumping this thread up again.

DD - I had exactly the same problem, one foot burning up even leading to numbness. Come to think of it, the left one too - 2 things to consider: 1) the Nike+ cutout is on the left 2) my left foot is quite a bit shorter than my right. This never happened again after the shoes had done about 50 miles and they were extremely comfy.

I've got now 550 miles on that pair and they're still very comfy and I still use them while I'm running a new pair of shoes in. I reckon I'll officially retire them at 600, so pretty good going on the lifespan. Didn't get another pair as I'm not sure I want to keep running in shoes quite that pillowy plus didn't fancy going through those 50 first miles again (and I'm a cheapskate too).

Posted: 11/09/2007 at 14:36

See more comments...

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £85.00
  • Year: from 2006