Inov-8 Flyroc 310

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Inov-8 Flyroc 310
There’s little to choose between the Flyroc and the slightly heavier Terroc. The Terroc feels more supportive, but the Flyroc slightly more responsive.

Our Review

Whether you choose the Inov-8 Flyroc or the Inov-8 Terroc will probably simply come down to weight. There’s little to choose between the shoes' features – both have the same midsole and are built on the same last. The Flyroc feels slightly more performance oriented by dint of its lighter, more ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

19 user reviews of Inov-8 Flyroc 310 See all

Overall reader score
great shoes. bought them did 5 miles and 1 week later did a 30 mile ultra and even though my ankle felt a bit sore it was just one ankle and dissappeared after 15 miles Continue reading...
Fantastic off-road shoes. I still wear them for walking as the soles are still going strong. Plus, I love the style/colour. Continue reading...
These remain a favorite trail shoe for me and Ive found them seeing me fine for a part road route too.
Valued most for their responsive flexibility they provide just enough cushioning to match my usual on-roa Continue reading...
I have had these shoes over a year,and they have performed very well,they are still in good condition. Continue reading...
Poor value if they wear this quickly. Continue reading...

Discussions

Anyone got anything to say bout them. I'm thinking of picking up a pair for some hill running in scotland.

Posted: 19/10/2004 at 15:50

Me me me!

(Sorry - I'm the only person I've come across so far that owns a pair.)

If you're looking for a shoe with loads of cushioning or stability features, forget it. They aren't a regular shoe with a slightly more agressive tread, as many 'trail' shoes seem to be.

What they are is (grammar?!) extremely comfortable, lightweight, and aggressive enough to cope with the admittedly limited woodland trails I've tried them on. They feel fine on the road but I'm not sure how long the treads would last with lots of road use. They really are quite aggressive for 'trail' shoes - if you do a lot of mixed-terrain and road work then maybe the Terrocs would be better.

(See http://www.inov-8.com/Product.html for good pictures of the treads on the various shoes in the range.)

However, if it's for pure off-road hill running, the Flyrocs would be great. If you never plan on going near a road or hard trail, maybe one of the varieties of Mudroc might be better, as they're even more aggressively soled. For pure off-road hill running, I'd personally consider the Mudroc 280, but only because I always like to go for the lightest shoe. But if you're planning a bit more mixed use, I can't recommend the Flyroc highly enough.

It's worth adding a note on sizing. I bought mine online without trying from Pete Bland Sports (and had great service). I was advised that Inov-8s are sized like regular shoes, not running shoes. I take 10s in most running shoes (10.5 in Adidas) and 9-9.5 in regular shoes. I played safe and went for the Flyrocs in 9.5, and they're definitely not small. I could possibly get away with 9, but the 9.5s feel just on the right side of 'big'.

Any more questions, feel free to ask. Just bear in mind that I live in Milton Keynes, and extreme hill running is not what the area is known for...

Posted: 19/10/2004 at 18:45

(One other point - the 'product matrix' on that web page I mentioned gives a good idea what each of the Inov-8 shoes are best at.)

Posted: 19/10/2004 at 18:47

Yeah - I've been to the website, thought it'd be better to get some real experience just to make sure. I reckon you've made up my mind, Flyroc's it is then. Won't be using them down south - Mainly hills/trail up in scotland, so they sound ideal. Cheers SVT.
So where do you do your off road stuff then? I'm in St Albans and trying to find good cross country is like trying to find something very small in a collection of very small things that look the same. Just not the same as the highlands. Bloody flat counties....

Posted: 20/10/2004 at 08:02

Tell me about it - I'm an exile from the edge of the Penines. Not that

Sweatshop in MK now seem to stock the whole Inov-8 range, but I ordered mine from www.peteblandsports.co.uk

Posted: 20/10/2004 at 08:30

Gonna pop into greaves next time I'm home - they've got em in. Then going to spend a week in the cairngorms and give em a try
:)
Nice...

Posted: 20/10/2004 at 08:43

SoVeryTried. you're not on your own. I have flyrocs. unfortunatley haven't had chance to christen them yet as I knocked my toe nail off at the weekend. May use then at the commando challenge at the week end.

Posted: 20/10/2004 at 09:30

Can't let an Inov8 thread go by without popping in to say that I of course agree with everything SVT says (about shoes, that is)

Posted: 20/10/2004 at 10:16

Cheers lads.
Ed, hope the commando challenge goes ok, I'm gutted I didn't find out about it until too late.

Posted: 20/10/2004 at 11:27

My local store (tri-store in Eastbourne) just got these in this week. I'm doing the Beachy Head Marathon on Saturday and seriously considered getting some for this. Common sense got the better of me as 26 miles in brand new shoes is just daft! (Didn't stop my mate who is running it with me!)

As soon as my NB870's have had it I'll get some of these. The Flyroc's look like the best compromise when running a mix of hard and soft trails - think I would wear the mudrocs out too quickly on the chalky paths round here.

I will watch furthter reviews with interest!

Posted: 21/10/2004 at 09:49

boing for my left knee. cheers 2 trenches. it went well. we were aiming to be in the top 3 mixed teams home. so now waiting for the results to come out !!!!!

Posted: 25/10/2004 at 15:57

GrayZee - probably wise, although the Inov-8 site has stories of people racing their new shoes straight from the box! Not sure I'd ever try it myself, but the shoes don't seem to need any 'breaking in'.

Posted: 25/10/2004 at 20:01

SVT - My mate can now vouch for that - 26.2 hilly muddy off road race miles in the first outing of his Flyrocs. His feet finished as fresh as they started - more than I can say for mine as my toenails took a pasting.

As soon as I can clear it by the financial committee I'm getting some!

Posted: 26/10/2004 at 19:49

GrayZee - was that Beach Head? I'll have to do it some time just to really get the most out of my Flyrocs!

Posted: 26/10/2004 at 22:28

SVT - it was Beachy Head and as an Inov-8 owner I feel it is now compulsory for you to do it!!

The wife has approved the spending so I will be getting my flyrocs this week!

Posted: 28/10/2004 at 10:02

Just done my first run in these - compared to my NB 870's they feel a little lighter but much less pillowy and more responsive. They are less cushioned so you can feel stones and rocks more on the forefoot. They are much grippier and much more sure footed.

I did 8 miles on both soft mud and hard gravel trails. Big thumbs up from me....

(Oh - also very comfy!!)

Posted: 01/11/2004 at 18:10

Just a quick thanks to this thread, particularly the advice about sizing. I have been dithering about buying some kind of off road shoe for a while. I went for the Mudroc 290 in the end, in a size 8. I normally take an 8.5 in running shoes, and to be honest I could have got away with a 7.5 in the Mudrocs, but I like a bit of toe room. They lace up so snugly there's no chance of my foot slipping forward. And my, aren't the uppers lovely and slipper-like? I don't wear great clumpers of road shoes, but the Mudrocs are very light upper material compared to my Wave Riders.

Took them out for a quick 3 miler around a country park this afternoon and they really feel good - I did wonder whether I should have gone for the Terroc as some of the trails I do are a bit hard and stony, but I found the Mudrocs just fine on the hard bits as well as the soggy bits.

They also seem to have some kind of dog sh1t repellent - that's the first run I've ever done in that park where I've not found a trace of the stuff on the post-run inspection sniff. ;-)

Posted: 05/11/2004 at 15:26

Ah - that seems to be lacking in the Flyrocs. Guess what I ran straight through on my first 3-miler (which was mostly road!)?

Posted: 05/11/2004 at 15:32

Ick! I couldn't avoid the horse poo on my run, but fortunately I ran through enough mud and puddles to wash it off again. And I don't object to the smell of horse poo as much as I do the dog sh1t. Gack.

Posted: 05/11/2004 at 15:55

I have just run my first xc race since school and beforehand was considering xc spikes or fell shoes.

I bought the mudroc 290 as they felt much better than spikes in the shop. Like wearing a cushioned trainer but with plenty of grip.

They were great first time out without any breaking in. Got the same size as my normal day shoe size and they fitted great. They seem quite tough too and cleaned up good as new.

I would recommend them for xc (although I never actually ran anywhere in xc spikes)

Posted: 05/11/2004 at 22:02

BaBoiinnggggggg

Well, due to unexpected difficulties shortly after the creation of this thread (knees and back fell apart, now on the mend), finally went and got a pair.

Haven't christened them (I'm still looking for a route icky enough to do them justice), but put them on earlier to try different lacing systems, and was overcome by a desire to get grimy...

As an aside, has anyone had any trouble with the fabric lace loops? (i.e. getting worn/frayed through?) as they seem a little on the fragile side. Should I be careful lacing them up tight, or can they cope?

Cheers,
Dave

Posted: 23/09/2005 at 19:09

I've had the terrocs for over a year and vave done 30 miles a week in them no probs.
I am looking for a new pair-about bloody time-and will probably go for the flyrocs as they are a bit lighter.
I've had no problems at all with these shoes. they were comfortable straight out the box and seem to cope with anything from roads to hills.
get out there

Posted: 23/09/2005 at 21:42

2t - the fabric lace loops are fine, as long as you don't take the laces out, put them in the washing machine (the laces,not the shoes that is)and find that the plastic bits on the end have come off - as I did. They are a real bu**er to relace, worse than threading them through normal eyelets. Be warned!

Posted: 25/09/2005 at 14:40

Cheers, I'll be sure to keep the laces on the shoes.
:o)

Well, tried them for first hill run, and they coped admirably with trail, wet rock, grassy hill, heather, stream beds, and knee deep mud. And using the high loop lock lacing thingy, found them to be Extremely comfy (not tight around the forefoot so as to crush the ball of the foot, but more than tight enough around the neck to keep them from disappearing into a bog)

Posted: 25/09/2005 at 16:07

You've sold me 2 trenches, where do I buy them?

Posted: 16/12/2005 at 20:11

I have a pair and I love 'em.

Done a couple of off road races in them, including the 16 mile Combe Gibbet - Overton race, and despite having to run through a large puddle and getting soaking feet 2 miles in (everyone else seemed to be mincing around trying to get round the edge!) I haven't had any feet troubles with them at all.

They are light, comfy, grippy and look great:)

I have even been hill walking in them when I didn't fancy wearing my boots one day - fantastic.


Posted: 16/12/2005 at 21:16

Wore these "out of the box" on the LDWA organised Tanners Marathon (30m) in January. This is a hilly off road event in the Surrey Hill on paths tracks, across muddy fields and up & down hills.

Your feet will get wet in these but as mentioned above, it drains quickly and soon dries off. Can't think why anyone would want goretex in a shoe - it'd be like running with a wetsuit on your feet if you ever got the water in over the ankle.. which you would.

Prehaps they were a little light on cushioning on the stony tracks, that said, I'd done 25 miles by then and went down with a chest infection the next day so I wasn't probably feeling at my best.

Hosed them off and they looks great again.

Would certainly buy another pair.

Simon

Posted: 13/02/2007 at 10:24

I've just bought a pair, never done trail runs before (just one in normal trainers-which made me look into buying trail shoes)

I'm glad I've read all your rave reviews coz i was thinking i just took advice from one guy on shop and did'nt know what these shoes were like apart from they're really comfy!

can't wait to try them for real!

mish

Posted: 19/05/2009 at 14:33

I have had a pair of 310's for a few weeks now. The first couple of times I wore them I got blisters on my heel as they were rubbing a fair bit.

Someone told me to try holding the heel over a steaming kettle to warm the plastic up and then put them straight on and walk about so they mould to your heel - this seems to have done the trick!

Have been pleased with the grip and comfort so far.

Posted: 19/10/2009 at 11:13



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £65.00
  • Year: 2004

RW competitions