Saucony Fastwitch Endurance

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
Saucony Fastwitch Endurance

Reader Reviews

4 user reviews of Saucony Fastwitch Endurance See all

Overall reader score
best shoe I've ever owned Continue reading...
I bought these to race in and wasn't let down. I usually train in Hurricane 8s but wanted a lighter pair of Saucony's to race in.

They came into their own in the last half of the race, very fast shoe and all Continue reading...
Despite the reservations about the heel counter which in any case won't affect everyone, I really like this shoe. I've raced a half marathon in them so far and it's a toss-up between these and the Nike Streak Continue reading...
Returned original pair to Saucony yesterday. Still awaiting their comments / resolution. I'd be disappointed if they fail to replace them, and may look elsewhere. However, in the abscence of a suitable alternat Continue reading...

Discussions

I know many people prefer to wear lighter running shoes for races etc, and I've heard the Saucony Fastwitch mentioned before. I alternate general running in Saucony Omni 4s & Asics Kayano XII's, and usually waer my Asics when running in a race (as my Saucony's are my 'clumpy' shoes!).

I've seen a pair of Fastwitch's going for a good price (£30) and thought I might get a pair to try out - at that price I can't really go wrong! But do they have any pronation control? I'm a mild overpronator so need something with a bit of support in them.

Posted: 06/04/2006 at 23:04

Debstir - I believe that the 'Endurance' model has a small medial post but the 'Speed' model doesn't, so the 'Endurance' model might be good for you.

Fingers crossed that I win the Saucony competition and that nice Mr Saucony lets me choose a pair of Fastwitch Speeds...

Posted: 06/04/2006 at 23:23

I've got a well-loved pair of Grid Swerves that I have been told precede the Fastwitch (apparently Saucony have changed their distributors and some of the model names) and they are designed for neutral runners. I thoroughly recommend them as lightweight performance shoes if you are a neutral runner. Check out their website www.saucony.com as they have a quiz to determine the right model for you.

Posted: 07/04/2006 at 07:16

I love the Fastswitch models,for racing and fast training,i find they have plenty os cushioning for me..10st something..i intend to run the flm in my endrance..Debstir for 30 quid take a chance..

Posted: 07/04/2006 at 09:24

These are the ones I was looking at. Opinions please...

http://www.mandmdirect.com/ProductDetail.asp?ProductID=8088

Posted: 07/04/2006 at 09:48

Debstir,

Those you've seen are the Endurance and they do have a small medial post (the alternative is the Speed, which is neutral, even lighter and less cushioned).

When racing, as it's generally for a shorter distance, often people chose to forego the normal cushioning and support the choose in their training shoes for the extra benefit of a lighter shoe (More cushioning and more support mean more weight, whatever wondorous technology we've invented for you!!).

The Fastwitch Endurance does give you a little bit of cushioning and a little bit of support too.

Sami,

The Swerve is a bit more substantial than the Fastwitch, it fits in the range between the Omni and the Fastwitch. The latest update on the Swerve is the Tangent.

Not sure where you got the distributors and names thing from. We've been Saucony UK for over ten years now! And you should try www.saucony.co.uk for more relevant product info.

Hope this information helps.

Posted: 07/04/2006 at 21:37

ooh, thanks for that! I had a look on the website as well and I'm a bit undecided. I think I should forsake the lightness for more support; I'm a mild to moderate overpronator so I think more support is really what I should be looking for. I'm not fast anyway so a lighter racing shoe is probably just as much use to me as a chocolate fireguard!

Posted: 08/04/2006 at 18:25

Thanks for the info Saucony. Staff in an Athlete's Foot store in Sydney told me what I noted on 7/4 when I asked them where I could get another pair of Swerves. It would be helpful if you published information about which models replaced which and help retain customers such as me (I was about to buy a pair of Asics)!

Posted: 10/04/2006 at 01:34

Debstir,

If you like the feel of a racer, it shouldn't do you too much harm over race distance. It's a completely personal thing though. If you don't think you'll benefit from the extra weight, take the extra comfort and protection!

Sami,

Information on previous version of shoes is on our website - if you go to the <a href="www.saucony.co.uk/shoe/shoe.php?id=25823"> Swerve</a> page, there's a link beneath the picture to whichever shoe(s) have taken over from the old style. This feature is now available on (almost) all of our shoes detailed online.

You're right about the Aus distributors, there were some changes over there at the end of last year, but that would only have had an admin effect. Saucony Inc and Saucony UK are very much still going strong here!

Hope all this information helps.

Posted: 10/04/2006 at 08:37

bugger, I thought that link wouln't work, hope you can follow it manually.

Posted: 10/04/2006 at 09:01

Been there, thanks. But why is the Aussie site down now I'm over here??

Posted: 10/04/2006 at 09:16

Sami,

Sorry for the sloping shoulders technique, but I've absolutely no idea! It's probably due to the new guys who are taking over and building their own site, or just haven't got round to updating it yet.

Alternatively, it might just be a temporary glitch!

Posted: 10/04/2006 at 09:34


GMJ
Saucony UK,
Can you give me advice on the Saucony Fastwitch Fit. I'm a 10.5 Asics Nimbus Fit. I too like the look of the £30 bargains!

Posted: 10/04/2006 at 20:48

GMJ,

It's always best to try shoes on before buying, but in general, we're similar in size to Asics.

The Fastwitch is on the performance last, and so long as you don't want to wear them more "fitted", stick with the same UK size as your Asics.


Hope this helps.

Posted: 10/04/2006 at 20:53

since my Fastwitchs arrived a couple of days ago I've been for two five milers and they felt great. I could really feel the difference in weight between them and my old Wave rider 8s. I just wish that they were not so shiny and white!

Posted: 13/04/2006 at 10:23

Because I like to be helpful, here's the Swerve link.

Mr Saucony - the way the links work now is as follows:

{url=www.saucony.co.uk/shoe/shoe.php?id=25823}Swerve link{/url}

(but with square brackets instead of curly ones).

Posted: 13/04/2006 at 11:49

Thanks SVT.

I'll practice with a link to the competition winners page (where it says that Dougie from Dundee is todays winner!)

Hope it works....

Posted: 13/04/2006 at 12:50

Hurrah!

Posted: 13/04/2006 at 12:50

Oooh, you just broke the rule of not naming the winner on the forum!

But I guess you can get away with it...

Congratulations, Dougie.

Posted: 13/04/2006 at 15:51



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £60.00
  • Year: 2004 - 2006

RW competitions