Saucony Grid Tangent

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
Saucony Grid Tangent

Reader Reviews

4 user reviews of Saucony Grid Tangent See all

Overall reader score
I bought these to run short distances in triathlons as they have a liner allowing them to be worn comfortably without socks. But I found them so good that I now wear them all the time. My latest run was a 50 Continue reading...
Lovely shoe, just feels great to run in. Continue reading...
the best shoe i ever use since 20 years running. great for all type of running except trail Continue reading...
An excellent choice. Continue reading...

Discussions

Had a read of RW's report on the Grid Tangent and thought I'd give them a try. Problem is, nobody's heard of them. Not even on Saucony's website! Anyone know where to get a pair?

Posted: 26/08/2005 at 10:59

Ewen - It is there! It's on our new website!

Click here to link straight to the Tangent!

Let us know where you are, and we'll point you in the direction of a local retailer.

Posted: 26/08/2005 at 12:34

Mr S - I think you need to check your website! Lots of typos, and the interesting statement that the Praxis 2 " controls mild over-pronation without feeling "! Don't think I want cold, emotionless shoes - the old Praxis aren't like that!

Posted: 27/08/2005 at 18:06

Thanks for the comments.

We've fired the proofreaders.

Posted: 27/08/2005 at 21:48

very good fast and light shoes
after NB 832,834 and mizuno wave precision, i find the perfect with it. very stable, for all type of running

Posted: 13/05/2006 at 05:51

Got a pair of lovely bright green Tangents a couple of weeks ago, ran 4 times in them now. They are a performance trainer/racer, plenty of cushioning and they ride very nicely for such a light shoe!!

Rob H

Posted: 15/05/2006 at 20:18

Just bought a pair - they're lovely! They're a bit heavier than I was expecting but they feel light (if that makes sense!) and comfortable too. The extra bit of weight makes them substantial enough for longer tempo runs and they would probably make a great marathon, or even ultra, shoe. They've got a little bit of support which is good for me as I can't quite take a neutral shoe except for very short runs.

Posted: 13/08/2006 at 21:15

I think the Tangents are great but the rest of the people in the running club take the p1ss because of the colour. Can we have them in a dull shade of blue next time, please?

Posted: 14/08/2006 at 08:15

Great shoes, I train in Saucony Hurricans, but I have done my last two half-marathones in Tangents. They are light, cushioned and enough support to get through any distance. Colour is a bit bright!

Posted: 12/09/2006 at 20:09

If it's any help, there's a red version now - which is not quite as bright as the Flouro Yellow!

Posted: 13/09/2006 at 08:22

I usually wear Adidas because I have slim feet but wold like to change to Saucony. I have tried on Sauconys before but found them a bit wide: are the Tangents a slim fit?

Posted: 19/09/2006 at 18:01

The Tangents are on the Performance last, so, yes, they are a narrower fit than the Omni or the Hurricane which are built on the Standard Saucony last. Also, the Tangent has a "bootie construction upper" which means it has a sock-type fit, so is very versatile with regard to foot shape. But then I would say that wouldn't I?!

The only true solution (as with all shoe purchases in our opinion) is to try them on.

Posted: 20/09/2006 at 09:09

Have to agree with Mr Saucony, they are a slim fit compared to my Hurricane's, but comfortable to.

Posted: 23/09/2006 at 09:20

My nooo shoooooooes from Santa!

how pink???

They're fab. Sooooo comfy, and light, and I felt as though I were running fast. :o)


ps. They are no longer quite so pink - 'squite muddy round here, ya see.

Posted: 27/12/2006 at 11:14

I love my Fluorscent greeny / yellowy ones. I train in Adidas Supernova Cushions alternating with Nike Air Skylons and use the Tangents for racing. I ran the Abingdon Marathon in them in total comfort, and I've used them also for a half, a 10 miler and a very wet 10k. Lovely, lovely shoes. ( A touch of the Imelda Marcos about that. Sorry. )

Posted: 27/12/2006 at 20:54

Does anyone know how the Grid Tangent compare to the Asics DS Trainer (11 or new 12)?

I have seen some good value yellow tangents and am tempted. DS Trainer have been very good to me for speedwork and races (upto and including marathon).

SO now choosing between the new DS Trainer 12's and the quite cheap original Tangents (I quite like the yellow!)

Posted: 02/02/2007 at 16:15

quite simply the best performance shoe i have ever worn i have ran loads of half marathons and four full marathons in them and i also find them light enough for speedwork

A GREAT SHOE!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted: 13/08/2007 at 21:29

I did a 50 mile ultra in mine and the only foot injury was one bruised toe. If Saucony ever stop making them I'll set up a protest camp outside their office.

Posted: 13/08/2007 at 23:20

M.ister W - get your tent looked out.

It appears that Saucony HAVE stopped making them as I found to my disbelief when I tried to place an order for my next pair two weeks ago.

The good news is that there is a Tangent 3 on the horizon but it won't be on these shores until early next year.

There's more info on it on the US Saucony website.

Without a doubt the best shoe I've ever worn - I can't believe that most running shops have never even heard of it, never mind have it in stock.

Posted: 17/08/2007 at 13:45

I've never bought a pair in a shop as they're impossible to find. All of mine (four pairs so far) have been bought on-line.

Posted: 17/08/2007 at 18:45

<heads off to check out the Tangent 3 on the Saucony website>

Posted: 17/08/2007 at 18:45



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £70.00
  • Year: 2005 - 2006