Asics Gel 3000

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Asics Gel 3000
Brand new stability shoe that's designed to focus on forefoot overpronation.

Our Review

A brand new model that's designed to fall between the Kayano and 2100-series. Its forefoot is slightly wider than the Kayano and the midsole is thinner to give a lower ride, with excellent bounce-back and durability. It also has a memory-foam lined heel with two layers of foam that mould ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

1 user review of Asics Gel 3000 See all

Overall reader score
These shoes did nothing for my overpronation and became my gym shoes for the rest of their use. Spend the extra fiver and get the Keyano's. Continue reading...

Discussions

Debating which new shoes to go for - been noticing the Asics 3000 for stability - anyone got a pair - and what's the verdict?

 Cheers

Posted: 08/04/2008 at 13:20

Just bought a pair today - will let you know

Posted: 04/08/2008 at 11:44

I'd love to know myself too....seen the spec & they suggest extra over-pron control through the toe-off.

Report back asap beata

Posted: 08/08/2008 at 12:28

Is that the evolution 3?

Posted: 08/08/2008 at 12:30

Just picked up a pair of asics 3000 for £55 on startfitness.com

Posted: 07/09/2008 at 14:51

So, its been a month now and really like the shoe. No problems so far and most importantly, my knees are no longer in pain. So, good for me.

Posted: 08/09/2008 at 07:02

I have got a pair of these now but not running for a while due to injury. I have noticed half way down the inner side and on outer size near the bottom of the laces is a piece of plastic instead of the mesh stuff.

Does anybody know what this is for and/or any comments on this change when actually doing longer runs?

Posted: 15/09/2008 at 19:42

does any one know where i can find the bright green asics at 2.40 in this video clip ?

http://www.imeem.com/franzd/video/Hs2MhluO/the_contender_asia_episode_11_pt_25_tv_video/

thanks

Posted: 16/09/2008 at 18:42

I've bought a pair of these to see if I can run in them without my orthotics, which have been causng me pain in the forefoot.

I've only done 3 miles in them so far but it was a really positive experience. I was worried that they felt a bit too firm and might give me shin problems. I was very pleased with the transition and intial reaction I was pleased by the absence of knee and shin pain - particulalry lack of ITB niggles in left leg.

I'm going to try a longer run in them this weekend.

Posted: 09/04/2009 at 14:52


Nam

'boing'

Any more views on these at all?  My physio recommended them to me... 

Posted: 29/05/2009 at 20:55

Nam, I have used them for a few races including the connemara ultra and they were fine. Not used at a tri yet but may get an outing in north wales.

Posted: 29/05/2009 at 21:03

I sent them back Nam and carried on with a neutral shoe and my orthotics. Have ou given up with your orthoses?

Posted: 30/05/2009 at 14:47

Had these and found them no help with forefoot overpronation. Spend the extra fiver and get Kayanos instead.

Posted: 08/09/2009 at 11:26

I had been on various models of Kayanos for years, but then got assessed at Moti in Wellfield Rd Nam.

They recommended the 3000s, so got some. Only done about 25 miles in them so far, but they seem OK to me.

Posted: 08/09/2009 at 11:53


Nam
I've got 3010s I think and I like mine.  My fizzy is at Moti Daz.

Posted: 08/09/2009 at 12:08

I thought I'd give them another try as my left leg is slightly shorter and I have lots of problems on that side. I've only run a couple of miles in them as currently have PF in the left foot so supposed to be resting

Posted: 08/09/2009 at 12:10


Nam

Sorry to hear that Edwina.  After over a year of 3 professionals arguing the toss as to whether I have a significant leg length difference or not we've now established it's actually wonky pelvic alignment.  Have spent some time doing strength training, pilates, particular physio exercises and feeling much straighter...  Bought a pair of Vibrams as barefoot walking is always good and boy I could feel which bits of my legs aren't used properly in running shoes.  Just done my first off road shuffle in them and what a joy. 

Posted: 08/09/2009 at 12:17

The upshot is that these didn't work for me, but everyone is different! If you have these and they work for you then I am genuinely pleased, after all money is money. 

Posted: 08/09/2009 at 12:18

The fizzy at Moti, is he/she any good?

Agreed Mark, everyone is different, horses for courses etc.

Posted: 08/09/2009 at 12:28



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion