Asics Gel Kayano XIII

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Your score:

Add a review

Add a comment...

Is there another option to Vasoline to prevent chaffage of the nipples???

Posted: 28/02/2007 at 21:15

Micropore tape

Posted: 28/02/2007 at 21:16

or amputation

Posted: 28/02/2007 at 21:17

Wear a bra

Posted: 28/02/2007 at 21:17

Plasters over them. Count yourself lucky, Scaramanger had three!

Posted: 28/02/2007 at 21:18

I've used plasters, but in a long race, they just fall off.

In my goody bag from the Sussex Beacon Half marathon, there was a little tub of some anti chaffing stuff. I used it last week, and my man boobs were fine. So just need to find out how to get a big tub.

How come the old nips only start hurting after the race!

Posted: 28/02/2007 at 21:28


Every nipple is different and I can diagnose treatments just by looking. So girls email your nips to........

Posted: 28/02/2007 at 21:29

3M micropore from Boots - quid-fifty a roll...

Works well even for those who are proud of their Barry Gibb chest wigs.

Easy to get off too.

Posted: 28/02/2007 at 21:40

North London Runner - very sad ;)

Posted: 01/03/2007 at 12:53

zinc oxide tape - sticks better than micropore and pulls the hairs off beautifully

Posted: 01/03/2007 at 13:30

Plasters mate,put them on the night before and they won't fool off.

Posted: 01/03/2007 at 19:48

Camillosan, camomille based cream that breastfeeding ladies use it's about 2 quid from the chemist.

Posted: 01/03/2007 at 20:56


Oh yes Im sad alright Allie but talking of breastfeeding tips how about a couple of savoy cabbage leaves? Got that idea after Cabbage Patch 10.

Posted: 01/03/2007 at 21:39

Hi - only just seen this thread so you may have conquered this already. But Nip Guards are the thing. Special little plasters with cavities inside. Are designed so that: nip is properly protected and no rubbing whatsoever(work great, no probs in either of the marathons I've run with them), and no probs with hair getting stuck etc.
Runners Need sell them, am sure all running specialists do too.

Posted: 16/07/2007 at 13:29

You could always strap tea strainers to your chest, my midwife (madwife more like)advised me to do that when I was sore from breastfeeding a couple of years ago (yes, really!)

Posted: 16/07/2007 at 23:22

Is chafed nipples in men down to carrying a bit too much and having man boobs or does it affect skinny runners too ?

Posted: 16/07/2007 at 23:56

it affects all.....best product on the market is Bodyglide, used by us triathletes to prevent chafing from neoprene wetsuits and wet clothing. Doesn't stain clothes, is non-petroleum based, and some contains sunscreen too. Available from triathlon stores and off the web - but be careful if you google it, you'll get some VERY strange results!

Posted: 17/07/2007 at 06:07

Also make sure there are no seams or logos on your top that might be making things worse.

Posted: 17/07/2007 at 07:27

I have tried plasters, micropre tape, nipple protectors, bodyglide and vaseline.

Vaseline is the best but wrecks your clothes. I have loads of tops with nipple patchs on them. :(

Posted: 17/07/2007 at 09:13

Does it affect all though - only the only people I knew that taped their nipples when I played football were lads on the heavy side.

Posted: 17/07/2007 at 09:49

Yep, it can affect anyone.

Posted: 17/07/2007 at 09:59

It affects me all the time, any run over 10K and I know i'm in trouble.

Tried all plasters, vaseline, bodyglide, nipple plasters etc.

Nothing works

Have lots of tops with blood stains on.

Posted: 17/07/2007 at 10:11

The only way I've found is to wear a really tight/clingy top, like a winter base layer, but in summer you just sweat buckets.

Posted: 17/07/2007 at 10:12

Ive only had it once when i did a ten mile race along the sea front it was chucking it down really windy and cold, when i had finished i took my vest off both my nipples were bleeding and the inside of my vest was covered with blood ouch!!!! Now when i run in shite conditions its either plasters or vaseline..

Posted: 19/07/2007 at 15:04

Bleeding nipples!!!
Not something i'm really looking forward to.

I think someone mentioned amputation, maybe removeable nipples are the answer.

Posted: 19/07/2007 at 16:03

For those with a flat enough chest, if you run with a heart rate monitor, move the strap up a tad so it covers half your nipple. This seems to keep your top off the rest of your nipple and the HRM still works.

I've yet to try that on a long run though!

Posted: 19/07/2007 at 16:05

Good technical tops work for me, as long as it's not raining. And running hunched over.

Posted: 19/07/2007 at 16:31


We'd love you to add a comment! Please take half a minute to register as a free member


RW competitions