Asics Gel Kayano

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
Asics Gel Kayano

Reader Reviews

18 user reviews of Asics Gel Kayano See all

Overall reader score
A magnificent shoe. I have tried various others but always return to Gel Kayano Continue reading...
Excellent - managed to get them cheaper than RRP and they've been worth every penny. Definately have them again (and I've tried quite a few models). Continue reading...
A great trainer - have never run in Asics before, so am delighted to find a shoe that suits so well. Great stability, light and comfortable Continue reading...
I'm binning them and going back to Brooks.
It just proves that shoes are very individual and just because the reviews say they are good - doesn't mean they are right for me.
Also even trying on in a shop (whi Continue reading...
I hvae tried others, but having just bought a pair of lasy year's shoes at a cracking price, me feet have come home! I love em... was worth saving up for. Continue reading...

Discussions



Which is best? I'm interested in personal opinions, so please don't refer me to website reviews

Posted: 14/12/2004 at 11:54

Hi Tim, in my experience the 2100 and kayano aren't that different in quality in my opinion, it's a difference in feel. The Kayano seems to feel a lot stiffer when you use it, whereas the 2100 feels just as stable, just a little more flexible. It depends on what feel you like in a shoe. Hope that helped, RSM

Posted: 14/12/2004 at 13:30

On my second pair of Kayanos now and they are very comfortable for me. Quite well cushioned -mind you they should be decent as they are top of the range.
I have recently tried on Brooks Adrenaline -felt quite good, and also a brand new shoe from New Balance (think it's called the 1054) which my shop owner chum said is their answer to the Kayano -about 80 quid retail they felt very good too.

Posted: 14/12/2004 at 16:19

I have a pair of Kayano version 9 which I wear for long runs. I haven't tried the 2100, so can't offer a comparison. What I found with the Kayanos was that they took quite a bit of breaking in (maybe as much as 30-40 miles which is a lot these days) during which time they felt very stiff and flappy, but after that they became much more sure-footed.

Posted: 14/12/2004 at 17:53

DoctorK - the New Balance 1221 is NB's answer to the Kayano series

Posted: 14/12/2004 at 19:26

Thanks -must be them then -that many numbers it serves to confuse !

Posted: 15/12/2004 at 11:19

although i hear a rumour that new balance have a brand new shoe out soon to rival the kayano, which could well be the 1054? (or the 123 or 987654321)

Posted: 15/12/2004 at 13:58

Annajo -I think it was the 1054 but was willing to be corrected! My local shop man (Tobutt sports, bolton) had them in early -said they were due to be launched in January but brought out early -well he ahd some and they felt very good -I wanted a size 11 which he didn't have then . Presumably these will be the latest answer to the Kayanos -were 80 quid or thereabouts.

Posted: 15/12/2004 at 15:33

I wore my Kayanos for only the second time to run Bedford half last Sunday - wonderful shoes. No blisters, no breaking in. Previous shoes were 2090's but 2100's weren't in when I needed next pair. Tried on the Kayanos and had to have them they just felt so good immediately.

Posted: 19/12/2004 at 10:33

New Balance's latest equivalent to kayano is the new 1050. Supposed to have a similarly plush feel, along with the same level of support. The Kayano is a more luxurious version of the 2100, same level of support, but feels more plush, which may make it initially feel stiffer.

Posted: 30/12/2004 at 13:20

Yes they are (couldn't remember the number before !)anyway I've got some for Xmas and they feel great.

Posted: 30/12/2004 at 13:37

I've just DOWNGRADED to the 2100, but definately prefare there lighter feel & smoother ride.

Posted: 04/05/2005 at 23:46

I have both, both good shoes, but prefer Kayanos for longer runs as I feel they give slightly more cushioning.

Posted: 05/05/2005 at 07:59

Dont think its really a matter of one shoe being better than the other.

Cant speak for the 2100 but I run in both 2090's (precursor of 2100's) and Kayanos. Coincidentally I use them similar to Foggyone, Kayanos for long training runs and 2090's for shorter/faster training runs and races.

They're both fantastic pairs of shoes and I'll definitely upgrade to 2100's when the time comes.

So there's your answer, buy both.

Posted: 05/05/2005 at 11:14

I'll agree with a chimp. Buy both!

Posted: 05/05/2005 at 14:42

I have run in both and wouldn't recommend spending the approximately 50% more for the Kayano. The Kayano is also about an ounce heavier. I have worn several pairs of both over the years.

Jeri from Houston

Posted: 05/05/2005 at 15:28

Hi Jeri,

Agree Kayanos are on the pricy side, though not quite 50% extra compared to 2100's - either you're paying too much for Kayanos in the US or we're paying too much for 2100's (Hmmm lets guess shall we?). My way around this is to buy the previous model of Kayano rather than the newest one. Lets face Kayano IX's were the bees knees a couple of years ago. They've not deteriorated in the intervening period and you can get some good deals online on "last years model"

Reckon if you put your mind to it you could buy a pair of Kayano IX's and a pair of 2080's or even 2090's for not much more than you'd pay for a pair of brand spanking new Kayano XI's (though the XI's do look a wonderful shoe).

Posted: 05/05/2005 at 16:08

Suggested retail price in US is $90 for 2100, and $135 for Kayano, so is 50% difference in US price.
UK recommended prices are 80 and 110 pounds.
With current exchange rate there is obviously a huge difference in price.

Posted: 05/05/2005 at 16:57

Having got on really well with my Kayano X's (and then stupidly trying a different brand of shoe) I have just bought a pair of Kayano XI's from M&M Sports for £59.99!!!!! Saved £50. This is cheaper than most sites are selling out their remaining stock of X's!

Posted: 09/05/2005 at 09:03

Just bought a pair of 2100's from sweat shop online for £48. Put them on out of the box with no problems. My last pair lasted approx 500 miles but just done a 15 mile hilly session, the new pair are much comfier & the medial post is less prominent.

Posted: 12/09/2006 at 01:10

you can get kayanos for £65 or less on ebay.
i think they feel lighter than the 2120s.
still baffled by the neutral/overpronating thing tho.
advice from running shop (runathon croydon) was:
1. have shoes a size too big
2.(manager) dont have shoes a size too big
3. you overpronate
4. you need a neutral shoe
5. with stability
6. have whatever ones you like the feel of

i bought the 2120s, they felt awful so i took them back and got the kayanos off ebay, much better. paid for the parking ticket i got during all the above anyway :)

Posted: 02/07/2007 at 21:13



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £110.00
  • Year: 2004

RW competitions