Asics GT-2100

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Asics GT-2100
Slightly softer, and marginally more supportive, than the 2090 but the 2000 series is still hard to fault.

Our Review

We know that we go on a bit about the Asics 2000 series, but we genuinely believe the shoes in the range have consistently been among the best on the market: with a nigh-on perfect blend of cushioning, support and responsiveness. Luckily Asics realises this and tries hard not to ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

95 user reviews of Asics GT-2100 See all

Overall reader score
lightweight shoes, ample cushioning with a good and roomy toe box, I tend to wear the mens (size 9) as the ladies model dont have quite the same fit for me, the heel tabs tend to pinch a bit but overall a co Continue reading...
Not buying any more of these! I guess they're a great shoe for some, but not for me! Continue reading...
I've tried the Gel kayano and the gel 1100 and the 2100 is the best for value for money. Continue reading...

Discussions

What is the view out there on the Asics GT2090 trainers. I have had them for 3 months now and must say that I am very disappointed - I have had previous GT20x0 trainers and have been very good... until now.

I am thinking about "letting them go". Any good recommendations for trainers in the same class???

Cheers.

Posted: 05/08/2004 at 16:23

there a class runner - probably just dont suit your feet - try saucony grid omni 4

Posted: 05/08/2004 at 16:35

Saucony Omni
Nike Structure Triax
Brooks Adrenaline
Saucony Praxis (sort of, worth a go)
Mizuno Maverick/The other supportive one, the name of which I've forgotten!

Posted: 05/08/2004 at 16:51

Wayne,what don't you like about the Asics 2090? For years I have run in the Asics 1040,50,60,70,then I got the 1080's which I found very hard and noisy. I tried two pairs. Then picked up a pair of 2090's at the FLM Exhibition - £60 - and so love them I have just bought another pair.Mind you, a friend of mine had a pair of 2090's which developed a leaky air cell, but they were repalced by the retailer with no problems.

Posted: 05/08/2004 at 18:00

I'm in exactly the same boat as Sue! I've always run in the 10x0 series and switched to the 2090s for my last pair of shoes and haven't had any problems at all. I know a lot of people were having problems recently with Asics shoes not lasting but I got my two pairs of 2090s in February and they are still going strong.

Posted: 05/08/2004 at 22:57

Ratcatcher, I bought a second pair of 2090s last week - on line from Sport Fitness - £64.99 incl P&P.They were delivered 24 hours later - brilliant service!Super shoes heh!

Posted: 06/08/2004 at 20:10

I used to run in the ASICS 2080s and found them a good shoe. I now use the 2090 for my long distance runs, and must admit they are a good shoe, they take a good 20-30miles to run in, but once thats done, they are a good little shoe!

Ive done probably close to 1000miles in mine and they are still going strong! :)

Posted: 06/08/2004 at 20:17

I have been getting blisters from them - something I have never suffered from before. I have replaced all my socks (that I use for running!) in the last couple of weeks which seems to be helping so I may be doing the trainers a great disservice! Perhaps these trainers are a bit more of a snug fit than previous ones??? In any case, it looks like it might have been me using my running socks beyond their sell by date...

I think I will give them a bit longer - I did a 10k this morning and they felt pretty good!

Thanks ever so much for the comments and info on other trainers I can also consider.

Posted: 08/08/2004 at 23:05

Persevere with them Wayne, they are a really nice shoe!

Posted: 09/08/2004 at 10:24

I was on the point of buying a pair of 2090s yesterday but opted for the Gel Koji instead. They're heavier, but give much more support and cushion and felt better to me. Went out last night and did a tired 9 miles in ém, felt alright even if I wasn't at me best.

Posted: 13/08/2004 at 13:21

theres quite a difference between the level of support in the koji and the 2090, martyn-i hope you got advice before going for the kojis as they are a motion control shoe so will only be right for a relatively small number of people

Posted: 13/08/2004 at 13:32

Thanks for that .... yes, lots of good advice before I opted for the Koji. I have terribly flat feet and while only a moderate pronator do in fact heel strike very heavily. I know the Koji is meant for a big person (I'm about 11st, lighter on a good day), but I really need that cushioning at the back as well as the motion control. For what it's worth, I'v been seeing a podiatrist and have 14 degrees of pronation on my left, 10 on my right and I guess that's bad enough. The shoe I tried out before this was the NB 1221 and that had nowhere near enough support - I was starting to kick my instep in them, a sure sign of insufficient support for me - and I hated the cushioning in them so they went back. My previous shoe was a Supernova Control and I loved them, the only problem was that for some reason my piriformis gave me hell after about 6 miles in them, so I've been looking for something (like everyone) that will cure all my ills. The other shoe I liked the feel of was the Saucony Stabil, felt great but a heck of an ugly shoe - so I went for the Koji. Can't say enough good about Sports Shoes Unlimited in Bradford, the manager there (Graham) went through nearly there entire stock in an effort to find the right shoe for me. I tried everything. 2090 didn't feel as cushioned as the Koji, neither did the Kayano. Hated the feel of the Grid Hurricane, nothing from Mizuno felt right ..... likewise Nike, although I would like to try the new Triax 8.

Posted: 13/08/2004 at 17:07

How does the 2090 feels as compared to the 2080?

I was on 2080 and felt the stability and cushion as very good but it just don't feel right when trying to run faster. Kindda sluggish probably due to the wider base.

I was recommended by my local shoe shop to try out the Mizuno Wave Rider 7 which I got since last week and it definitely felt good when running hard/fast, unfortunately the cushioning seems not as great as the 2080. Stability wise seems ok(it's a cushioning shoe afterall) at least I dun seem to have a problem with it. The concern is that the harder/firmer cushioning may be a problem for my longer runs(with my Dec target to run in a marathon).

Still keeping my options open, either go get the 2090 or look out for other shoes. Time's running out, it's 111 days to the marathon.

Anyone with suggestions?

Cheers.

Posted: 14/08/2004 at 18:52

I went for another 10 mile spin in these Kojis yesterday and still think they feel good, but would have to say that they do feel a bit sluggish and don't encourage me to go faster. Hmmm. I wish I had normal feet!

Posted: 16/08/2004 at 12:31

I have had the 2050s (ave) , 2060s (fantastic), 2070s, 2080s (v good) and now the 2090s.

The point of saying that is with the 2090s i have suddenly developed very sore knees, at the top of the shin bone (tibia).

I realise this could be to do with other things, but would be interested if anyone else using the 2090s has had the same problem.

Posted: 16/08/2004 at 14:41

Wayne

I have worn asics for years now and ordered
exactly the same size as usual but had to send the 2090s back as they were too tight.

I ordered the next size up and they are fine.

Either our feet have grown or asics are now on the snug side.

Posted: 25/08/2004 at 16:34

Thread hijack...sorry!!!
Pair of virtually as new Asics GT2090 for sale - size 9 (UK). Looking for good home, any offers, please email me.

Posted: 25/08/2004 at 16:51

I think as we start runnnig towards our twilight years our feet do spread a tad!!I am now a half size bigger .....in shoes only I might add!!

Posted: 26/08/2004 at 08:40

Sue

It is a lovely sunny morning and I am now depressed at that the thought that I must be running towards my twilight years!

If it is only shoe size increasing then you are lucky - I find that the spread is not just confined to the feet!

(Sorry - nothing to do with asic 2090s!)

Posted: 26/08/2004 at 09:38

I love mine too!

Posted: 01/09/2004 at 17:06

Andrew,at least we are still running - better to be going over the hill than under it!So chin up and enjoy the sunny morning!!

Posted: 01/09/2004 at 18:49

I've had 2 pairs of 2090's this year and both went flat very quickly (~200-300 miles). I've always been very happy with the 20 series previously and have upgraded to the Kyano but the extra weight is off putting. I have tried other makes recently but they just don't seem to get the fit right. Still the best shoes around for comfort shame they need replacing so often.

Posted: 30/09/2004 at 17:10

I used to run in the Asics 10 series , was quite happy until the 1080's and 1090's which I found very hard.So tried the 2090's - also have two pairs and thus far they are fine.Have you tried taking them back to the retailer?

Posted: 01/10/2004 at 07:51

Interesting reading...

Like most ive ran in the 20's series for years. However my latest pair of 2090's are giving me blisters. Ive been running similar millage, speed etc etc but cant work this one out. Invested in a pair of Kayano's for my longer runs and they are like a dream. Will try and pursue things with the 2090's and see what happens...

Posted: 01/10/2004 at 08:19

well, im also running 2090's...but being new to this running lark I have no idea if i've now run them out? I've had them sicne May and run average 15 miles per week over the summer. But i've had no problems with them, seem to do the job quite nicely...

Posted: 01/10/2004 at 15:47

I've had 2080's which were great use to use them for the run part of a tri. ie run with no socks but then I've been running in 2090's, but on long runs, 10 miles + I get really bad blisters on the instep and that's with socks. A number of other loyal Asic runners haev had the same problem and changed brands.

Posted: 03/10/2004 at 21:48

I've always worn the Asic's 2060/70/80/90, but thought I really needed a change - Went for the Mizuno Niverna - And have found they are fab, so much better - feels so much better on your feet !!!

Posted: 04/10/2004 at 14:43

I hate them, I've only had a pair for seven weeks and they're worn out and I've now got problems with the second joint of my big toes/balls of my feet cos the 2090s had given way and were allowing my (very flat) feet to roll inwards. Bought a pair of Nike Structure Triax today, they feel good so far, if a tad heavy.

Posted: 29/11/2004 at 23:14

Is this the Red or Dead Wayne Hemingway ?

Posted: 30/11/2004 at 09:03


Tav
The only problem I've had with the 2090's is a common problem I think - there is a prominent seam just by the front part of my arch which rubs. I strap myself up and it's been OK so far, at distances around 8 or 9 miles max. Other than that they seem like good shoes.

Posted: 30/11/2004 at 13:59

My right 2090 has developed a squeek but seem fine otherwise.Wonder what the 2100 are like - £5 more for starters!

Posted: 30/11/2004 at 17:51

I bought a pair of the 2090's when I first started running (about 3 months ago) wore them once and had to have a fortnight off from running with a bad knee. It felt like they where trying to make my feet do things they didn't want.

Im now running in a pair of Nike Triax 8 with no problem what so ever.

Posted: 30/11/2004 at 17:56

Maybe I've got odd feet - they suit me fine - so much better than the 1090 range that I have run in for years!

Posted: 30/11/2004 at 18:00

Oh, and years ago I ran in Nike Air Pegasus and had the sorest knees afterwards - changed to Asics!

Posted: 30/11/2004 at 18:01

Bobolink - I am the Wayne Hemingway - but not the red or dead one... Just to confuse everyone I have changed my username to red or dead though!

In terms of the 2090s - I have been happy overall but I do blister badly on longer runs (despite wearing decent socks) so will think long and hard before buying a pair of 2100s in January... Overall, I am happy with the 2090s - just not quite as happy with these as the previous editions (eg 2080s).

RedOrDead

Posted: 06/12/2004 at 12:49

I've been well pleased with my 2080's but feel they are coming to the end of their shelf life as I bought them on new years eve last year. This thread is putting me off buying 2090's so I think it's back to looking for other shoes again. Typical - you find one that you're really happy with and they change them. I even emailed Asics to see if they had any old 2080's knokin around-they haven't replied!

Posted: 09/12/2004 at 22:07

The worst blisters imaginable on my insteps from the day I bought them. Even the shop were horrified, although wouldnt refund or offer reduction having scanned my feet before purchase. Now with Nike and blisters are a thing of the past.

Posted: 10/12/2004 at 14:28

I'm so dissapointed! I love my 2090s but in under 4 months (about 240 miles) one shoe is worn out in the inside heel and my big toe is coming out of the top! My previous Asics (2060s) lasted forever and still are fine. Do I take these 2090s back to the place I bought them and hope for a discount on my next pair? The problem is, I love the shoes and would want the same again... but I'd like them to last at least to 600 miles.

Posted: 13/12/2004 at 15:12

Totally put off buying 2090's as I went back to my previous like - ordered a new pair of Mizuno Wave Maverick- have been running in these since january - at least Mizuno haven't ceased making them and I get no problems and they are a tried and tested formula.

Posted: 05/03/2005 at 22:43



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion


RW competitions