Brooks Adrenaline GTS 8

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Brooks Adrenaline GTS 8
Top-of-the-range stability shoe with cushioning that's ideal for bigger runners.

Our Review

Brooks has brought back the rounded heel outsole design that many runners liked in the GTS 6, enabling the heel to roll onto the ground more smoothly. Another key update is on the upper, where the arch wrap has been moved forward to better hold the midfoot. The latest GTS does ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

23 user reviews of Brooks Adrenaline GTS 8 See all

Overall reader score
Perfect for my feet. I tried Mizuno, NB but come always back to Brooks GTS 8. Continue reading...
Overall a good shoe but probably not for people who are prone to injury. Continue reading...
i love these trainers have helped my running and are super comfy mile after mile, Continue reading...
Little-changed from previous models, which is all to the good. Excellent cushioning on the sole, which doesn't lose its bounce for some time, and breathable uppers which do not seem to wear at all in the life o Continue reading...

Discussions

Anybody else having problems with these? I have just bought them - used to run in NB 854 (I know, ancient, but I took up running again after a break so they still had some use in them) . Have run in them twice now, once XC 5 miles, then on the road today for 4 miles and I am getting twinges in my knees that I never had before with my old shoes. Nothing serious, but it does concern me as I am due to run my first HM at Reading and do not want an injury!!

Posted: 06/02/2008 at 23:02

I have just bought a pair of the Adrenaline GTS 7 exactly because I was beginning to pick up annoying injuries.  For me it was a sore achilles that stopped me running for a couple of weeks.  I am a relative newbie when it comes to running (18 months and a single 10K to date) but am aiming for a 1/2 marathon in Berkhemstead at the beginning of March. 

My problems turned out to be

  1. I was wearing the wrong kind of trainer and was receiving insufficient support)
  2. I've increased not only my mileage but also the intensity of the training and have been doing some AI training.  I have to say the benefits have been enormous however, the downside of the increased intensity / mileage has been sore achilles.

 I was just wondering if there were any similarities as you are also training for a 1/2 marathon.  Have you also increased mileage or intensity or have these both remained static whilst you've changed your shoes ?  Also, did you get someone to look at your running style before buying ? 

 Just some thoughts.

Posted: 13/02/2008 at 15:56

Hi, no I was quite careful to not increase my mileage too much - my mileage is still at the 15-20 mile (less this week as have a bad cold!) and I had a video done of my running to assess gait before I bought the shoe. Good luck in your half-mara. sounds like it is same weekend as Reading?

Bex 

Posted: 14/02/2008 at 20:14

Hi Bex

Just fancying a change and not having many 2e width fittings available to me I moved from New Balance to Brooks and have been injured pretty much ever since.  After an initial dream start I was getting a fair amount of pain just below the knee and in my calves.  I've had a week off now and I think it'll be at least another week until I'm able to resume running again (the time off is killing me).  So that was £70 down the drain!  So for me it's back to New Balance and I'll save some cash ordering from the factory shop in Flimby.

Shad 

Posted: 13/03/2008 at 11:24

Hi

I am also having problems with these! developed knee and hip pain after not having any previous problems.  Although not done that much running previously.  Now have had a 3 week break to allow my iliotibial band syndrome to recover but have half marathon in Bath on Sunday!

Also gone back to my old worn out shoes

Melissa

Posted: 14/03/2008 at 06:02

Hi Bex

Are you still having problems then?   Feel free to give me a call if you want a chat about it. For what it's worth I run in Brooks Adrenaline but find the GTS 8 gives me more problems than the GTS 7 - I won't buy another pair of the 8s.

Posted: 14/03/2008 at 07:39

Following recurrent achilles/soleus problems , I have run for the last couple of years in GT6 and GT7 and have had no problems, great shoes that are so comfortable to run in - I do wear an orthotic as well . I have just purchased a pair of GT8s and have immediately developed the old  problem again, not sure if this is purely chance . Will update when problem resolved and see if the shoes are the problem.

Posted: 14/03/2008 at 16:08

Ploddosaurus, whilst I'm sorry to hear you're having problems, your post has come as some relief to me. I'm not very good with my biology so I had to look up 'soleus' and I appear to have the same problem as your good self. The discomfort I've felt in my achilles I just ran through (unwise and naive I know), putting it down to one of those things but the calf pain has been the real killer.  

I bought the 8's as the 6's and 7's got such a good write up and the changes Brooks implement in upgrading models are (supposedly) minimal.  When someone like yourself who has experience of the different models is having problems there's obviously something more to it. Would it be the introduction of mogo (or is it mojo), or was that in the 7 version?

I hope to hear your problems clear up

Posted: 14/03/2008 at 16:37

Thanks SHADOSC,

My 7s had a MOGO - whatever that is supposed to do! The reviews on these shoes always seem to state that modifications are only minimal (and always 'improvements' ) on newer models. Unfortunately sometimes it can be the smallest of change that can affect the performance. My problem is that I never know whether the cause is down to the kit or just by me being an old f@rt and just suffering from wear and tear!

If you too are suffering from soleus (lower calf)  problems , I will tell you my treatment - lots of ice (I use a Mueller hot/cold pack , nice and flexible even when frozen and is easy to mould around the affected area, decent stretching exercises - recommended by a sports physio,I treat myself to a sports massage once a month and its money well spent for an hours treatment and she will focus on whichever part of my body is currently falling to bits.

I too have learned the hard way by trying to run through problems, and am now more resigned to having a spell of reducing milage/speed/ and hills - excesses of any of these will delay healing or aggravate problem even more.  I have reduced all three at the moment and am doing extra exercise by swimming and cycling (but not too much hill work) which surprisingly doesnt seem to aggravate the problem.

Hope this helps,

Ploddo

Posted: 14/03/2008 at 17:16

Ploddo

thanks for the advice; much appreciated.  In your experience how long do you anticipate that the problem will last?  I haven't run for 8 days now and can still feel a good ache in my calf even just walking. I don't intend to do anything until I feel clear......................and get to New Balance for a new pair of shoes.

Shad

Posted: 14/03/2008 at 17:51

Shad,

Difficult to say, but because you feel problem even when walking, will prob be several weeks before you can run at previous intensity. Its always difficult to judge the balance between doing too much exercise to aggravate the injury, but enough to keep the body ticking over. Sorry to be vague on this but not being qualified in this area I can only go on how my own body responds - As you have not run for 8 days and it is still painful when walking,  it really is well worth visiting a sports physio and is money well spent (I pay £25 for an hour and get really good advice on correct exercises/stretches etc),

hope it recovers soon, I know how frustrating this can be

Ploddo

Posted: 14/03/2008 at 18:09

Ploddo

not the news I wanted to hear but at least I know. I'll get looking for a sports physio tomorrow, even if just to treat myself to an hour's relaxation!!  Do please post an update when you're back to your normal training, letting us know how long it took to recover (hopefully not too long) and what direction you intend to go with replacement shoes, if that's the avenue you think you're likely to take

Thanks so much for taking the time to impart your helpful advice.

Regards

Shad 

Posted: 14/03/2008 at 18:22

well I was ok for Reading, but knee problem has returned - I don't feel it as much when I run, just afterwards. Had a sports massage on Thurs and she said it was very tight quad muscles which were causing the pain in the upper knee area. still think I will go back to NBs. have given the GTS 8s a good try and they are not for me.

Posted: 14/03/2008 at 20:46

Bex

if you go back to NB's, if you haven't already, do try their factory shops in Cumbria.  There's one in Flimby (01900 602 850), Shap (01931 716 333) and Keswick  (017687 74631).  They offer excellent discounts against normal shop prices and will post out for about £6.  My friend recently got a pair of 1061's for £33, rrp £85.  The shoes are seconds but generally the problems are things such as wonky stitching or adhesive from the sole running on to the upper, nothing that affects the performance of the shoes.

Shad

Posted: 14/03/2008 at 21:14

Shad, thanks for this. I will def take this up on my next pair after this one if I stick to them. I went to Sweatshop in Maidstone this morning and am now back in NBs - 1062s. The guy was very knowledgeable about running shoes and is a runner himself. Apparently my problem has been that I went from a mild stability shoe in the NBs 854s to the GTS8's which are verging on motion control. He looked at my gait on the treadmill and said I am a neutral runner with a very mild overpronation. The GTS 8s are just too stable for me - I need more cushioning. So we will see how the 1062s perform!! They are a neutral shoe.

Posted: 15/03/2008 at 12:53

Bex

glad to hear you got yourself sorted with the NB's.  As I mentioned my friend has the 1061's (previous to 1062's) and he said they're like running with pillows on your feet; so lucky you!!

Can I ask, what made you go for the Brooks?  I mean, was this a decision you made having trawled the web/magazines, or were you given advice from a shop? 

Shad

Posted: 15/03/2008 at 14:20

Hello all,

I bought a pair of GTS 8's after loving my GTS7's, and doing a couple of half marathons in them without pain or discomfort. so imagine my sorrow when i tested them on a treadmill and after 30mins the balls of my feet felt like they were on fire. So i took them back to the shop and after a lot of searching managed to find a couple of pairs of GTS7's which i now have and are great. I'm not sure what the difference is in the GTS8's may be they are a wider fit.

Posted: 18/03/2008 at 17:35

hi shad, I went to Run in Hove and was recommended them there. I tried these and a pair of Adidas, but the GTS 8 seemed fine round the block. don't think they stocked NB. Update on my NBs is that i ran the Sports Relief 6 miles (well 5.8 I understand) in them and finally went sub-10 min/miling!! So they are great so far!!!

Posted: 18/03/2008 at 17:46

Hi Bex, Aches et al.

I think I'm in a similar boat and I'm afraid I've got nothing helpful to add to the thread except maybe a "me too".

After running without many problems in a pair of Nike Pegasus cushioned shoes I had a video gait analysis and was recommended some GTS7s on the basis of over-pronating. I waited 'til my Nikes wore out and bought some GTS8s (being on the wrong side of 13 stone I'd read they were suitable for the "heavier overpronator" - I've been called worse!).

I've been wearing them for a month or so and have also increased my regular mileage by around 20%. Since changing to the GTS8s I've been feeling no end of pains in my left calf, shin, achilles and upper outer foot. I've got 6 weeks until the Sheffield Half Marathon and I'm not sure what to do about replacing them. They're too worn in and dirty to take back and should I replace with cushioned or structured? Can the GTS8s be THAT different?

Cheers

Pete

Posted: 18/03/2008 at 23:43

Dear All

to use Pete's phrase, this now appears to be a 'me too' thread and I'm sure this isn't a problem particular to Brooks GTS 8's, or even just Brooks. 

Though I doubt it  would ever happen - I'd guess the manufacturers of running gear probably give too much financial support to the likes of Runnersworld - I feel it would be a great idea if  each month RW did a subsequent review of models reviewed maybe 6 months earlier, with the likes of ourselves contributing via a web page questionnaire.  Even if this was only done for the top 3 shoes in each category for each manufacturer.  Maybe then each company could concentrate on what's important (a running shoe that works) rather than spending money on releasing new colours (if Tour de France cyclists can ride in pink, I can run in any colour shoe) and updates that simply don't work. 

Running shoes are not cheap items and from what's been said on this thread the expense we've gone to has been wasted and more importantly has affected our ability to enjoy the sport / hobby of running.

Bex, well done on your Sports Relief 6 and glad to hear the NB's have got you under the 10 mins.

Pete, I think I'm right in saying that the Pegasus are a neutral shoe, and the Brooks certainly aren't that.  Would you not go back to the Pegasus, or were the issues with them too much of a problem?  In the future my moto will be 'if it ain't broke........', after my change of manufacturer.

Shad

Posted: 19/03/2008 at 08:51

I tried some 8's, stupidly decided to try new shoes halfway through my FLM training.  That was a month ago and I haven't run since, shin splints and a suspected stress fracture, all from 8 miles in the Brooks.  Needless to say my FLM is over and I'm nowhere near running again, so it's a lesson learned for me!

Posted: 19/03/2008 at 19:13

Pete

If I were you I would get your gait analysed again at a different shop. See what they say. I had my gait analysed in 3 places : first said neutral, second overpronator (after which I bought the GTS8) and third neutral. If you were running fine with the Pegasus sounds to me like you are neutral or neutral/mild overpronator. As I understand it the GTS is verging on a motion control shoe - this is for serious overpronators. Even my husband who is also on the wrong side of 13 stone and really does overpronate quite severely had problems with the Brooks Beast as, like the GTS, it was simply way too much stability for him.

Posted: 20/03/2008 at 21:04

I wear the Brooks Adrenaline and am a mild overpronator bordering on neutral.  They are definitely the right shoe for me, and I've been wearing them since the GTS5 came out, but I just can't get on with the GTS8.  In fact I've just ordered a new pair of GTS7 from the Sweatshop sale because every time I wear the GTS8 I end up with niggles.

Posted: 21/03/2008 at 09:49

Thanks for the input, Shad & Bex. It's been really useful reading everyone's experiences of the GTS8s. You know, when I had my gait analysed I saw how increasingly structured shoes increasingly "improved" my gait. I remember being told it was just a matter of time before my Nikes started causing me trouble (especially if I increased my mileage). I really didn't think the GTS8s would be much different from the GTS7s recommended by the shop, but I'm still left confused about whether I need cushioned neutral shoes or mildly structured shoes.

I've gone back to my worn out Nike Pegasus shoes but my lower leg still aches despite knocking the mileage down quite a bit. I think I'll take myself off to a different running shop for a talk.

 This is turning into quite an expensive journey of discovery!

 Happy running

Pete

Posted: 24/03/2008 at 20:32

Glad I saw this thread as I too wear the Adrenaline and have done for the 5, 6 and 7 and have just seen the 8's and was thinking on buying them.

Now I think I will try find a new pair of 7's as at least I know they are good for me. 

Posted: 28/03/2008 at 18:23

I've used Brooks GTS's for the last three years , I have dreadful over pronation but the GTS range have allowed me to up my milage and race sevral times a month. I'm doing the Rotary Starford marathon on 27th April and decided yesterday to buy new GTS's . I've been out today and the GTS8 feels as good as the 7 , perhaps even better around the fron of the foot. I was able to do 18 mile mixed road and XC with no problems. It's a hard show for sure but I need this to stop foot roll and subsequent lower knee problems. I get about 400 miles from the GTS range and it's obvious when they need replacement as I begin to feel pain in the side of my foot as the roll increases.

I'm thinking that the solidity of the shoe is what is casuing me to be delighted but others to pick up injury - it forgives the most awful gait problems ( I should say too I have nearly 10mm of shortening form a femur fracture) but could theoretically amplify others.

Posted: 06/04/2008 at 18:37

I've been training for the FLM again. Always had GTS's. Bought the Adrenaline 8s. First run was a 20 miler and many miles since. No problems at all with the change over.

Posted: 06/04/2008 at 19:58

I was recommended 8's by a specialist running shop recently to deal with my mild over pronation mostly in my left foot.  I have nothing but trouble with my right foot now and have ended up taking them back after half a dozen runs as I was getting discomfort just about every where on the right leg.  Luckily the shop agreed to change them for free which was a bonus and I got a second opinion on my gait which confirmed the mild over pronation.  I have previously worn neutral shoes with only slight niggles.  I think this seems to be the trouble with having one foot in need of more support than the other.  It's gonna be hard to find the right solution for both feet.  Probably gonna go back to neutral's again, but definately not the GTS 8's which I suspect are for the moderate over pronator(in both feet!!)  

Posted: 07/04/2008 at 18:17

Wow . . that's exaclty what I'm experiencing Dibbo.  My left foot needs more support than my right (after a bike accident a few years ago)  I was going to go for the GTS 8s . . .but after reading all this maybe I'll be heading towards the 7s . . . they seem to have the best rep.  Although - would you suggest going for a neutral shoe if this is the case?  I don't want to start problems off in my right foot unnecessarily!

Posted: 07/04/2008 at 23:38

Blaqueen,

you need to support the pronation problems but not overcorrect any area, it may be a slightly less supportive shoe may work better for you, prehaps anopther brand would be more suitable, best to have your gait checked out and see where it leads

Posted: 08/04/2008 at 07:40

Have now changed back to New Balance and am running in 768's which have given me a new lease of life after my disappointing experience with the GTS8.  The New Balance factory shop staff were excellent and having listened to me problems recommended the 768 which are for the mild to moderate over pronator.  From the info given it appears that, as a previous neutral shoe wearer, the GTS8 were far too supportive for my needs.  As I have wide feet the 2E range of supportive shoes on the market is fairly limited, with only Asics offering the 2130 and Brooks the Adrenaline range, both of which are way too supportive for me.  Thankfully, NB offer B,D & 2e fittings across the majority of their range.

Posted: 08/04/2008 at 08:17

Hi i seem to be the opposite off everyone else, i got accepted for FLM 08 bought a pair of NB 755 last Sept the comfiest shoe i have ever worn. Unfortunately started to get cramp in my calves and ended up struggling to walk never mind run. So went and got gait analysed at a NB store, they were great and never tried to force a specific shoe upon me. They recomended 3 as i required support I chose the GTS 8 and have never looked back no problems with any part of leg but only used for running as not as comfy as NB so kept NB for gym. Incidentally i had to pull out of FLM and defer till 2009 as I got diagnosed diabetic 3 weeks ago so roll on 2009.

Posted: 08/04/2008 at 13:19

   

Posted: 08/04/2008 at 15:04

As an yupdate I ran the Shakespeare marathon in my new GTS8's and they were lovely - they bed in lovely and a fast boiling hot 14K urban race last week they showed again what a quality shoe they are.

Posted: 17/05/2008 at 20:16

i am a bit worried now, i have just bought some gts 8's this morning.  when having my gait analysis he said i slightly overpronate with my left foot but my right is near enough ok

 he was surprised when i said the my previous shoes were mizuno wave alchemy as they are supposedly very supportive.  when he tried me in a mild stability shoe, i looked more wonky than the neutrals & the gts 8's seemed to be the best out of all i tried on

 they felt really comfy but am yet to run in them, am a bit worried about all the problems they have caused people here as i wanted to get 2 pairs of the same shoe to begin my 1st marathon training

Posted: 18/05/2008 at 16:15

I badly overpronate with one foot - nowhere near as bad as the other. yet these 8's really help , I have a metal rod in my thigh from a fracture femur some years ago and I have suffered many knee/hip/shin problems in the past yet since wearing Brooks I've got progressivly better. Now with these 8's any remaining problems have gone completetly. I did a 10k race this morning - my first *fast* race after my Marathon and they were superb on the road.

Posted: 18/05/2008 at 17:31

I found them a little stiff around the heel for the first thirty miles or so, but now they've softened and I've got used to them, I think they're a good shoe.  I "progressed" to them from the Brooks Beast, in which I did the FLM,  as my running shop said I was a mid-pronator.  They're still pretty heavy (nearly as heavy as the Beast), but the cushioning is excellent and they're pretty responsive and fast for a fat boy like me.  I tried the Asics 2130 too, but had to stop using as I think they give less support than the GTS8. For me, a heavy runner, I think Brooks shoes are far better and last about 50-100 miles longer than Asics. 

Posted: 21/05/2008 at 08:34

Southwales22 wrote (see)

i am a bit worried now, i have just bought some gts 8's this morning.  when having my gait analysis he said i slightly overpronate with my left foot but my right is near enough ok


I had the same analysis, and I've been running in the Asics GT2110's. Don't worry though. I've been running for the lasst 2 weeks in my GTS8's, and so far, all my niggles have been getting better.

Posted: 22/05/2008 at 06:16

Another update - the high milage I'm doing has seen these GTS8's stand up well , there seems less wear too espeically on the innerheel. I'm sure they are more stable so with less *roll* there is less wear.

I will be replacing thse after my holidays but they've seen me all through the summer and I'm consistantly delighted with them!

Posted: 31/07/2008 at 22:21

i seem to be another one in the camp that they dont suit.  tried them out for a few runs & developed hip/knee problems basically my whole right side of the body....

did about 50 miles in them & have wasted £80 so anyone knows someone that wears a size 5 & wants another pair send them my way

 im back in the newer version of my old shoe, mizuno alchemy 7's & so far have had no problems.  think the GTS8's were just a bit too supportive for my right leg

Posted: 01/08/2008 at 09:55

See more comments...

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £80.00
  • Year: from 2008

RW competitions