Mizuno Wave Inspire

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
Mizuno Wave Inspire

Reader Reviews

4 user reviews of Mizuno Wave Inspire See all

Overall reader score
These are brilliant shoes for all distances. Lightweight, supportive and flexible they're great straight out the box. Continue reading...
Great, responsive shoe. Continue reading...
Am trying something else next time. (ASICS Kayano) Continue reading...
Very good shoe for people who require stability without sacrificing flexibility. Continue reading...

Discussions


Tab
i have recently purchased this shoe and to date covered @80 miles in them. having just read the rw report on this shoe i was a little surprised to read that the uppers have been made to minimise the chance of blisters, has anybody else changed to this shoe and had to take a visit to the chiropodist to sort out blisters. im convinced that the shoe is to blame as i have never suffered with blisters.

Posted: 20/02/2005 at 11:25

Just bought a pair of mizuno nervada tried today and found they were brilliant for me I do wear orthotics though!so I dont use thier insertsBut iam well chuft,Id of thought if you havnt sufered from blisters before maybe the shoes arnt right for you.Hope you get it sorted!

Posted: 20/02/2005 at 12:49

Tab - I think these are the update of the maverick aren't they?
Did you use to run in those and if so did you have any problems?

If not them maybe as Mike S says it isn't the shoe / brand for you

Haven't tried Inspire myself but my trusty mavericks have never rubbed anywhere

Posted: 21/02/2005 at 12:49


Tab
No this is the first time i've tried Mizunho, im thinking of getting a pair of asics gel 2100 as RW rates them. on a more positive note the Mizunho pair are certainly easier on my calfs.

Posted: 21/02/2005 at 14:33

I bought a pair of Mizuno Inspires in spring'05 (as replacements for Asics 2090). I have covered ~400 miles in them now including a half and a full marathon and a couple of 10k's. I chose them after a proper running gait check and fitting. Was surprised to end up in size 12's even though my regular shoe size is 11! In general they are very comfortable, but I have had to be careful how I tighten the laces as they have on occasion cause blisters on the inner side of my left foot about where the Mizuno logo is. I think with wear the support of the breathable mesh weakens and the logo doesn't soften with it, so becoming the prominent part and causing extra rubbing. I have countered the effect by being careful with lace tension (as mentioned), but also using thicker socks (which I prefer anyway for extra cushioning), but that is getting expensive at £10 a pair as they wear out in the place it rubs after a few weeks of running and at £10 a pair.

My natural preference has always been for ASIC's but I immediately found during fitting that the 2100's were tight across the width no matter what crazy shoe size I went for. That's why I went for the Mizuno's - as they felt fine in the shop, with the problem only emerging later.

I now don't know what I'll go for next time since the Mizuno's haven't been trouble-free. Am likely to go into next fitting with a completely open mind!

Posted: 09/10/2005 at 10:13

The Inspire is a replacement for the Mercury (rather than the Maverick). The Mercury were wider across the forefoot than the Inspire. I used the Merc for years, tried the Inspire in the shop and immediately felt a problem with the width.

I have now changed to the Mav, no problems yet but havent done long runs.

Posted: 09/10/2005 at 10:28

and the moral of the story is...everyone is different...different horses for different courses n all that!

Posted: 09/10/2005 at 10:32

absolutley, santa. Unfortunetly usually have to try the shoe over a period of time to find if they suit, cant always tell from the shop fitting.

Posted: 09/10/2005 at 10:41

very true, thats why i think peoplelike to stick with a particular brand once they've found the *one* ;o)

Posted: 09/10/2005 at 11:01

Have had exactly the same problems, giving me blisters on the arch of my foot. Now thinking of changing to Asics Gel-Kinsei. Anyone tried them? Worth the money?

Posted: 27/04/2006 at 21:07

I eventually changed to ASIC 2110's in wide fitting. Much happier now! ;)

Posted: 27/04/2006 at 22:31



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £70.00
  • Year: 2005