Mizuno Wave Nirvana

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
Mizuno Wave Nirvana

Reader Reviews

6 user reviews of Mizuno Wave Nirvana See all

Overall reader score
I think the secret to this shoes success is in the placement of the two rear sensorpoint studs which work in combination with the wave plate. The arch suport (particularly towards the rear of the arch) is best Continue reading...
Fantastic shoe, no obvious weaknesses. My current mileage is 60-70 miles a week and these shoes are coping brilliantly. Really comfortable and help with my over-pronation.
They also come in two colours, blue a Continue reading...
Very good pair of shoes, and in my view had the edge on their main rival, the asics GT2100 in terms of comfort and feel. Am now training for a marathon and they're definitely able to cope with five times a wee Continue reading...
I have been running in them for 6 months now, and have had no real complaints. After suffering a stress fracture last year, these trainers have helped overcome this weakness. Continue reading...
could do with a little more cushioning that said its still a very good shoe for long distance running. Continue reading...

Discussions

I am tempted to try these.

I love Mizuno shoes and have been wearing them since they first bought out the Maverick. Really happy with this shoe (obviously !) but just wondered if the Nirvanas might be a bit better for the long miles of London training ? I always change my shoes every 450 miles regardless - think thats helped to stay injury free for years now

Mind out I am really tempted by Start Fitness offer of 2 pairs for £70 !

I alwas t

Posted: 23/10/2004 at 13:24

This has saved me posting the same question. I loved the wave creation cushioning but I need more stability in my heel. Apparently they are selling like hotcakes.

Posted: 23/10/2004 at 16:10

I am getting on really well with my Mizuno Wave Nirvana too. Same reason as above - found Wave Creation so comfortable, but I need more stability.

Posted: 31/10/2004 at 22:22

I can recommend them as well - they fit like a glove - No problems or hassles at all !! Much better than the Asic 2090 they replaced!

Posted: 08/11/2004 at 15:01

Just purchased a pair, as a change from Kayanos.. first impressions seem very good, super comfort level, but havent done any long trips yet.

Posted: 06/06/2005 at 12:58

I am now on my 2nd pair of Mizuno Wave Nirvana. Wore out my first pair after doing >400 miles. My 2nd pair (200 miles & counting) got me through the Paris Marathon - no problems...and no blisters either!

I agree, for me, they work better than the Asics GT-2090. I found forefoot discomfort with them. Oh well, different shoes work for different people...

Posted: 07/06/2005 at 18:32

Tried a pair on, felt really comfy but the "last" was too narrow and the material overlapped the actual last/sole, thus making any support redundant. Pity as I really liked them otherwise. Anyone else found them too narrow in the "last/sole" (Not in the actual upper)
Are they available in a wider fit?

Mac.

Posted: 28/09/2005 at 17:12

Hi Guys,
I love mine but my feet get freezin.. how do you stay warm round the tootsies, part from that love being outside this time of year
Happy Christmas
Robin

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 00:14

Hi Robin. I wear them with Thorlos socks. Accordingly, I have no problem with cold feet.

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 17:34

A really comfortable shoe that needs no wearing in, however mine wore out on the heel after about 200 miles (1 month) which given the price seems like very poor value for money.

Posted: 16/12/2005 at 15:04

just wondering what people thought of them a bit down the track - tried some creation which felt lovely but seem to have set off my achilles (suspect there wasn't enough stability as I'm coming from 2100s/kayanos)

any thought from previous asics wearers?

Posted: 29/10/2006 at 21:28


PSC
Bear - that's rotten digging up this old thread - I've just been off to order 2 x pairs at £70 (see first post)... then OH pointed out the date! LOL.

Posted: 29/10/2006 at 21:35

you a fan then PSC?

Posted: 29/10/2006 at 22:04

I'm glad your raised this thread XFR. I went to a local running shop earlier this week and had my gait analysed.

I'm currently wearing Brooks Adrenaline with an orthotic because the shoe didn't give me enough support. Whilst the combination seems to be working in the sense I have no more ITB pains I have noticed my shins are bit more sore and my right ankle gets a bit tight (I feel I've lost some cushioning).

Anyway I wanted to know if there was a shoe out there that would provide more support and cushioning. I tried lots of different pairs including a motion control shoe, which was just too much for my poor feet (they were all over the place). Anyway the conclusion was that the nirvanas seemed to offer a suitable level of control and as a fore foot striker the cushioning in that area was a bonus.

I haven't bought a pair as yet - still considering my options only run 70 miles in my Brooks, which are 4 months old (I barely ran for 3 months). I envy people that seem to find a shoe that sorts out all their problems :-(

Posted: 31/10/2006 at 22:47

I was fine in the 20XX series for ages tbh, then swapped to kayanos which seemed to do the trick, but not lately for some reason.

Anyway - went to Sweatshop in Teddington a couple of days ago, who spent ages with me trying all sorts of shoes. They reckoned the kayanos weren't coutnering the pronation enough any more, and I tried several other kinds of shoes including grid omni's and some others I forget now.

The nirvanas (half a size too small but felt ok) seemed to do the trick! They felt great as well to me - just felt like I was running efficiently and with all effort directed forward compared to the other shoes.

They're ordering in ones in my size, and I should have them in the next day or two.

It is an individual thing though, but get yourself to a reputable shop for evaluation (can't praise Sweatshop enough tbh)

Posted: 01/11/2006 at 08:02

Thanks I live in Devon and I think my nearest Sweatshop is in Bristol. I'm in Exeter today and I was planning on popping into the local running shop for another opinion.

Posted: 01/11/2006 at 08:52

I did try the Kanyos, which seemed to be be suited to my odd gait than the 2110 but were too tight in the ankle.

Its going to be hard explain to my husband why I'm buying another pair of running shoes but after reading the Hoose's thread I think one pair (plus one old pair) is fairly conservative

Posted: 01/11/2006 at 09:06

Went to running shop - load of rubbish. Didn't look at the wear pattern on my shoes or even look at my feet. Automaticaly wanted to put in a pair of Aerials. When I asked about Mizuno's gave me a pair of Nirvanas to try and described them as a motion control shoe.

Will not buy my shoes from their - felt like she couldn't be bothered and I was the only one in the shop.

Might consider going to Sweatshop in Bristol.

Posted: 01/11/2006 at 13:51

Love my Nirvana's, best pair of shoes I've had.

Steady Edwina, was that Ironbridge Runner you tried? If so I'm really surprised. I got fantastic service from them, and everybody I've every spoken to about them has been positive. Maybe you got someone on a bad day, not acceptable I know, but possibly not worth writinga shop off for if it otherwise means travlling all the way to Bristol.

Posted: 02/11/2006 at 16:04

they've arrived in the shop - was going to leave it until the weekend, but can't wait - going to pick them up tomorrow :oD

Posted: 02/11/2006 at 18:57

There's a good running shop in Launceston they spent ages with me and got me to try out various different options on their treadmill. I'm just reluctant to buy a new pair yet as there is still quite a bit of life in my adrenalines - had a fantastic run at running club tonight.

Yes it was Ironbridge Runner and I was really surprised as I have always thought the service in there was brilliant. It was just such a contrast to my experience in Launceston (which is nearer to where I live). Trouble is if someone has a bad day and sells you the wrong shoe its you that end up suffering. I'd go their again just not sure I'll be getting my next shoes from them.

Did you get your shoes from then exiled claret?

Posted: 02/11/2006 at 20:49



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £90.00
  • Year: 2004