Nike Air Equalon 2

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Nike Air Equalon  2
A good choice for moderate to severe overpronators who prefer a lighter, softer shoe.

Our Review

The Equalon+ 2 has been completely overhauled, so we've moved it from the motion control into the stability category. It's lower to the ground than its predecessor and has Nike's Natural Motion technology in the heel for impact absorption, to provide a ride that is softer, yet still stable. The Equalon+ ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

3 user reviews of Nike Air Equalon 2 See all

Overall reader score
Great comfortable lightweight shoe although quite pricey. Continue reading...
A very nice shoe indeed Continue reading...
I believe that this shoe is best suited to anyone for a beginer to a pro. However it is quite pricey for just an average jog now and again.But on thing is for sure it will last long !!! Continue reading...

Discussions


WH

Hi,

New shoes, but don't want to give a review until I've used them for this full weeks running...20 miles.

Just bought these from Advance Performance (Cambridge store), who were very helpful as usual. After several shoes I settled on these, Nike Air Equalon 2. According to their video treadmill test I was overpronating (my foot and ankle were rolling inwards slightly) so they advised me on these amongst others. The fit felt better all around my foot so chose them above a pair of New Balance.

Went out for a 2 miler yesterday and (as many people find) wanted my old Saucony's back. Shoes were fine and I'm off later for a 4 miler and will report on that as well.

So far the cushioning feels really good and I can feel the support on the inside of my feet. Easy to put on as well!!!!

Posted: 25/02/2008 at 13:18


WH

Day 2 of New Shoes: 4 miles @ avg 8m38s per mile...

Shoes felt much MUCH better as I'm getting used to the new fit. Very comfortable and a good firm fit all around my foot. My footing felt very good as I went off the tarmac onto farm tracks with a mixture of grass, mud and compacted stones - never felt like slipping.

The main odd thing that I noticed is that the soles of my feet feel relatively 'hot / warm' when compared to my last trainers...does this mean the insole is a bit firm...will keep an eye on this. BUT the cushioning feels great.

Aches and pains - none....yet. I tend to suffer from a tightening on the outside of my left knee, but this feels OK...an improvement with the shoes..or just coincidence at the stage I don't know.

So far they seem the right choice for me

ps. weight wise I'm 12st and 9lbs....getting lighter weekly!!

Posted: 26/02/2008 at 19:06

Your new shoes may take some time to break in. Not all shoes, and not for all people, but some do.

My last new pair of shoes felt really hard and my feet went numb after 30 mins, then it disappeared. I did a 10 miler yesterday, after a week of shorter runs, and had no problems. If you're not getting any *new* and unexpected aches, you should be fine, just give your body and shoes a bit of time to get used to one another

Posted: 27/02/2008 at 08:39


WH

Thanks....4 runswith new shoes (15miles) and much much better - they feel a really good fit and a very good grip on the road. The hot soles sensation has nearly gone now.

No aches and pains either - possibly even lessened.

Posted: 29/02/2008 at 15:14

The only negative feedback from the Equalon 2 is the Zoom Air cushioining. Some runners are complaining of Pins and Needles in the forefoot after long runs. I have suffered with this also, do not be surprised if this happens.

Posted: 29/02/2008 at 15:39


WH
thanks for that - had 6mile run on saturday - nothing yet and seemed fine - will look out for it though.

Posted: 03/03/2008 at 14:00

Ah, I've had the pins and needles too. Also they seem to make my shin splints flare up. I've only tried them 3 times and I want to love them, but I don't yet.

Posted: 06/03/2008 at 21:39

i had these and couldn't get on with the large lumpy feeling medial post, they gave me almost instant blisters. Apart from that they felt amazingly well cushioned and supportive I really wanted to get along with them. In fact if anything they felt strangely too soft, like standing on a deep pile bath towel - i have a feeling that whats make them so warm.

That might be what you're looking for though!

Posted: 28/04/2008 at 17:43

I had the same thing as The Iris - pins and needles and really sore shins and calves.  The shoes are so comfortable that I really wanted to like them.  Nothing improved after a month or two so I've had to buy a pair of the Structure Triax 11s which from the first run have felt fantastic.  The Nike person at the London Marathon Expo said that the Equalon 2s have been designed for a heavier runner and she would never have sold the Equalons to a person my size (I am 72kg).

Posted: 08/05/2008 at 13:31


WH

David, that's interesting what you say about the Nike person said about they are for the heavier runner - I'm 75.5kg today and still shrinking.....I was 80.5kg when I bought these in February so on the heavy side. I've not had any aches and pains or blisters from these. Now done 96 miles......been out for a few weeks with Illiotibial Band Syndrome.......I'm pretty sure that the trainers didn't cause this.....just me doing too much.

At what weight do you think you stop becoming a heavy runner? As I said I'm now 75.5kg and 5'8"???

Posted: 30/05/2008 at 11:58

I've now done a lot more miles in my Structure Triax 11s and they still feel great so they are obviously the right shoe for me and I just completed the Edinburgh Marathon in them.  Time was 3:20 which was 26 mins better than PB.  I was putting the pain in my legs down to doing too much with my marathon training but once I changed shoes it went away.  I guess everyone is different though and changing shoes won't work for everyone.

 Who knows about the "heavy" thing - everyone would have their own definition!  I am 72kg and 6'3" so I guess that would be considered light.

Posted: 30/05/2008 at 14:45

Been running in these for about a month now after 5 years in various versions of the Asics 2000 series ...as has been said above they are so comfortable ...sometimes forget I've even got them on and they feel really springy at the front (if that makes sense?) ...although I will say I have been noticing a tightening in my left calf after a couple of longer runs ...not sure if that's down to the shoe or me increasing mileage!

Posted: 10/12/2008 at 16:57

I love these shoes, very comfortable. I initially got the pins and needles, and a little rubbing on the inside of the foot but I needed 50-60km to wear them in. Now they are great... (and Im 78kg and 5ft 9in)

Posted: 19/05/2009 at 12:23

Really interested to hear the comment about suiting the "larger person" as I have a question about that very subject. I'm finding I get a pain behind my right heal where the tendon joins the bone and, after <70 miles have noticed the cushioning is beginning to fail. I put this down to my 93-5kg frame, but if they are designed for heavier than normall runners then  . . . . . well not sure    . .??

Posted: 02/07/2009 at 09:18



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion