Nike Air Structure Triax 10

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Nike Air Structure Triax 10
The extra foam means that the super-stable Triax 10 feels plusher than before.

Our Review

The last Structure Triax received an Editor’s Choice award in 2006, so number 10 has a lot to live up to. Thanks to Nike adding some of the best bits from the excellent Air Pegasus – the 2006 RW International Editor’s Choice winner – it is, if anything, even better. ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

50 user reviews of Nike Air Structure Triax 10 See all

Overall reader score
I'm on my 3rd pair. I bought another pair off a mate with a promise of an extra £10 if I got under 30 minutes for 5 miles. Sadly missed out by 36 seconds but have that £0 in my pocket in case. Continue reading...
Fantastic shoes for high mileage training. Why are they now discontinued and why are the triax 11's not as good? Continue reading...
Overall a great all round shoe. As they are heavy you will feel the difference if you race in flats. Good on all terrain and especially suitable if you have a wide foot.

I have been injury free running in Continue reading...
It works for me. Continue reading...

Discussions

Hi folks. I'm after some shoe advice. I've been training in the asics ds trainer, the older red and white one. Great shoes but I feel if I have a high milage week i suffer a bit from the lack of forefoot cushioning. I've ran in kaynano's but just find them too heavy and unresponsive. I'm pretty light. I was looking at either the nike air structure triax 10 or the nike air zoom elite 3. Anyone used these shoes or have any advice? Cheers.

Posted: 03/06/2007 at 17:19

Zoom Elites are a genius shoe as far as I'm concerned, have had about 6 pairs now.
For some foolish reason I wore DS Trainers for London and they ripped my feet apart.

Posted: 04/06/2007 at 09:55

Zoom elite nearest equivalent - a racer-trainer with some stability features like the DS trainer. The structure triax is a heavier stabilty shoe.

Posted: 04/06/2007 at 15:55

cheers folks, think i'll give the zoom elite a bash.

Posted: 04/06/2007 at 18:27

A friend of mine wore the Asics  Kayano 13 in his last marathon that left his heel swollen and out of running for 5 weeks. As he has over pronated feet he next bought Nike Equalon and found them very comfortable with no pain. He now has the  nike Structure traix 10 and also finds it comfortable .The only weakness he says it s got less responsive.If you want a faster rather than a steady one , go for the Elite

Posted: 07/01/2008 at 22:46

I was a real fan of the Asics DS trainer.

I'm now using the Nike Zoom marathoner in road races. I believe that it's similar to the Elite.

Another one of similar feel to the DST is the Mizuno Elixir, which you might love. I do. The wave plate means that they don't need as much EVA weight, yet it seems to last longer than any other shoe I've ever had. A fantasic shoe. Oh yes, it's light too.

It's like having shock absorbers, roll bars, and springs working in harmony, yet comparing it to a horse cart.

Posted: 10/01/2008 at 23:34

I had the same problems as you with my old Asics, I've been running in the Structure Triax 10's and they're a fantastic shoe, never had any problems whatsoever.

Posted: 11/01/2008 at 09:50

The Triax are a stability shoe, so if you're not having overpronation problems they won't do you any good. I like the feel they give to the forefoot.

I like the Nike Jasari lightweight flat racer, very responsive in my opinion but then they're my first lightweights I have. They have the same outer sole pattern as the Triax, which stems from the Frees. Good grip for road racing, incl. in the wet.

Posted: 11/01/2008 at 14:04

Yep, the Zoom Elites are brilliant in my opinion, especially for longer than 10k racing! I'm planning to get some more for my marathon attempt in May. I also like the Pegasus for everyday training as they have good grip, even though they can feel a bit clumpy for the fast stuff.

For faster stuff, I use those Pegasus TCs as they are lighter and simialr to the Asics DS trainers, I reckon.

Posted: 11/01/2008 at 20:58

Oooh, now there's an idea Fell Liker. I've been a bit stuck for shoe inspiration for the Duchy, as the Triax now seem to give me knee aches.

Are the Elites roomy? I have wide feet...

Posted: 12/01/2008 at 15:23

i found elites narrow.

Posted: 13/05/2009 at 00:46

i felt  the same way

Posted: 01/05/2012 at 12:43



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion