Nike Air Structure Triax 9 (Womens)

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
Nike Air Structure Triax 9 (Womens)

Reader Reviews

8 user reviews of Nike Air Structure Triax 9 (Womens) See all

Overall reader score
A good shoe for the serious runner. Nice support and springy. You can feel like a pro in these Continue reading...
My first running shoes but I did try 10 different pairs at a Sweatshop before getting these. I found all Asics grabbed my heel and really hurt, Saucony weren't the right shape and Brooks just felt really un-pad Continue reading...
i think this shoe good for me after trying ,rebock,saucony. didnt no they were numberd 2006,triax9. Continue reading...
If you are a bit on the heavy side, you overpronate, you have been blessed with 'Duck Feet', you want great stability, lovely cushioning, attractive styling & a reasonable price point then there is no question Continue reading...
A very good shoe for over pronators. Has reduced the pain of shin splints. Continue reading...

Discussions

Hi I am interested in trying the new Nike Air "Cesium" support running shoe.
However my local Sweatshop whom I've always been impressed with until now just can't or won't tell me when or if they will stock them!
I know they're out now (Early Nov actually) as they are being offered on other T'internet sites but I really would prefer to try them on before I buy and buy from a local shop.

Any one ?

Mac.

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 11:36

Good question Mac. I'm interested too.

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 12:26

just looked at a certain run site, and they have advertised it as a neutral shoe!!

Please, I implore any neutral runners, ignore this!

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 13:08

What chance do us mere mortal plebs stand when the so called "experts" can't be bothered to read up on their products???

Is it any wonder we're struggling?

Mac.

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 13:15

to be honest, the site i saw this on cant exactly be called a specialist running site. the cesium is a descendent (in a way) of the old Durham, which was basically a brick.

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 13:20

LOL! How the heck can you confuse a brick with a neutral shoe?!

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 13:54

RIP the old Durham, my favourite shoe. The Stasis was way too narrow and cut my feet open, hoping for something better this time.

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 13:56

The Cesium is supposed to be only 11oz ? I think thats about 310g but correct me if I'm wrong.
So it looks like the brick is dead and we may be left with a MC shoe that actually feels like...well a shoe! Probably because it lacks the usually large & heavy medial post?

Mac.

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 14:27

they have got rid of the medial post and replaced with something else which basically reduced the weight drastically. (warptech involved, but cant remember the full gumph)

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 15:06

It's something to do with heel/footstrike magagement but more so than the usual found in Asics etc...
It basically corrects the way the foot "lands" rather than simply attempting to stop it rolling once it HAS landed..I think!!!
All irrelevent if I can't get a soddin pair though eh? !!!

this new approach is why I want to try a pair on before buying which I think is sensible with any new previously untried shoe let alone a new concept shoe?

Mac.

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 15:44

you could try getting in touch with Nike, I have a sneaking suspicion they may have a PR dept or similar, and find out if anyone in your area is stocking them.

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 16:25

dunno if you can get to kendal in cumbria but Pete Bland Sports seem to have them.

www.peteblandsports.co.uk

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 16:38

Bit far from Derby!

I've spoken to Nike and they tell me it's available but Sweatshop themselves don't seem to know when or if they are getting them! None of my other local shops intend to stock them apparantly so SS is my only hope unless I buy blind off T'Internet!

Mac.

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 16:48

Hi Mac, It's difficult for the shop staff to know what new styles we are due to get in on a weekly basis - thats something thats decided by our buyers. It's not the case that "we can't be bothered to read up on our products" - there are a VAST amount of running shoes that we don't stock, as a company we have to choose the selection from that range that we think will sell the best in the shops. I'd say that most of our staff have the product knowledge of the shoes that we stock in the shops, but its just not possible to read up or be trained up on every shoe that we don't stock.

Let me email our footwear buyer and I'll try to find out if we're due to get the Cesium. I'll get back to you as soon as I know. Which is your local Sweatshop?

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 17:35

Sorry, no offence intended but I have emailed SS (website customer services) 3 times! and not had a single relpy.
But I appreciate what you say and admit that I'm a little frustrated right now!
Nottingham is my nearest branch followed by Brierly Hill Nr Dudley

Mac

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 17:55

Mac, I'm sorry to hear you'd not had a reply to your emails - so I can try and find out whats gone wrong, can you please tell me the dates and times you sent the emails - did you use the "Contact Us" form, or did you send direct emails to "mailorder@sweatshop.co.uk"? What is your email address? Feel free to email me that info using the "Email Member" link.

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 18:05

(btw, I've just sent that email to our buyer, so I'll be in touch when I know more)

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 18:06

Cheers for that RRR, I await with baited breath.

Mac.

Posted: 30/11/2005 at 18:11

I too am awaiting reviews of this shoe with bated breath, it looks almost too good to be true! Interesting to see which UK outlets have the shoe, you'd have thought the big chains would have been all over this one ...... but no!

For what it's worth, I checked out Road Runner Sports (the world's biggest running shoe outlet) and they have the Cesium retailing at $120, so for those who can't locate a pair it might be worth the shipping costs. The forecast UK price is about 85 quid isn't it?\

I've just looked again and RRS seem to have very limited sizes, so perhaps supplies of this shoe are hard to come by. Look at www.roadrunnersports.com.

Posted: 01/12/2005 at 08:05

Start Fitness are offering them as are sportshoes unlimited and pete bland, however none of them are close enough to be of any use to me in trying them on! SS unlimited seem to have most menizes in stock but not sure about SF or PB sports!

Trouble is because this shoe is a new concept it may not be right for me/us so trying it on is crucial I would think? That's the problem rather than simply getting a pair.

Mac.

Posted: 01/12/2005 at 08:57

Quite so, Mac. I used to take the Durham in 10.5. They replaced that with the Stasis, in which I needed an 11 - and even then it was too narrow. Gotta measure up a new shoe.

Posted: 01/12/2005 at 08:59

By the way RRR I used the "Contact us" link. Can't remember exactly when now as I've wiped my old and sent emails now!!! Doh!!!
I't difficult to stay loyal to shops when they don't stock what you want or tell you when/if they will? However I would really prefer to maintain that 5 year relationship if possible.
Thanks for trying.

Mac.

Posted: 01/12/2005 at 09:00

Hi Mutley, I've heard they feel rather strange when you first put them on (make you lean outwards!?)so I'm waiting to try definatly!

Mac.

Posted: 01/12/2005 at 09:02

Have a reply from our buyer:

"Have had a reply from our buyer: He has it booked in to arrive in
January. The shoe was launched in October, but as we can only bring in a
limited number of styles at any one time, and due to the need to
priortise more established shoes, then we've purposefully held off until
Jan."


Let me put that a bit more in context - our buyer tries hundreds of shoes on an ongoing basis to establish whether its worth stocking them, therefore I personally have a high respect for his opinion of the shoes. If he has a certain budget to spend over a given time, then it makes sense to prioritise what he buys in, and when. Therefore if the Cesium failed to impress, then it's less of a priorty than staple shoes such as the Pegasus, Perseus, 2110, etc..., and also less of a priorty than other new shoes that did impress him. (hope I'm doing you justice NP!). Its difficult to judge the market for some new shoes pre-release and pre-marketing, but as you can see in the email, he did make an effort to try and acquire some when it was clear that there was more of an interest.

Posted: 01/12/2005 at 14:11

A test of the Cesium will appear in the Spring Shoe Buyers Guide in the March issue of RW. We've only just received test pairs, so I can't give you any feedback just yet. So, that was a useful reply. That said, if any of you MC-shoe wearers have size 12 feet...

Posted: 01/12/2005 at 16:17

rob

are they that strongly biased to motion control? I may have missed the idea but the ad in the magazine suggested to me that they were more stability shoes. I wear Nike Structure Triax (although I used to wear Brooks Beasts when I was a bit heavier), and am a size 12 if that's any use to you...

Posted: 01/12/2005 at 21:37

Please any one correct me if I'm wrong but as I understand it (or perhaps don't!)the new Triax 9 is a support shoe that uses footstrike management to slow and correct pronation rather than relying on a harsh medial post, the Cesium is one step further for more severe over pronators. It is the same principal as the new TRiax 9 but it does have an additional medial post although nothing compared to the usual design of control shoe. It's only 11oz which is about 310g ish so it can't have too much medial post etc can it?

Mac.

Posted: 02/12/2005 at 10:15

In other words Motion control?..maybee, but not as we know it!

I'm hopefull that I can get the support without wearing bricks on my feet!!!

We'll see eh?

Mac.

Posted: 02/12/2005 at 10:17

The main innovation withe Cesium is the 3 degree wedge thing. (Technical this!) Basically when you stand in the shoe you actually feel your foot slanting slighly outwards - supinated. This then means its much harder for your foot to then overpronate as you run. And Mac, you're pretty much spot on with your analysis there.

Posted: 02/12/2005 at 10:28

Surprised medelf there then!!!

Onlt Q now is can I ever get to try a pair on very soon? I really am desperate to get new shoes my old Brooks Adrenelione GTS 5's are shot now!
Don't want to buy an intermediate pair and not have the cash for the cesium/Triax 9 when they are available....tricky one eh?

Posted: 02/12/2005 at 10:46

If you liked the GTS5, then the GTS6 won't disappoint.

Posted: 02/12/2005 at 10:50

Can you get to a Nike Bowerman promo day? They will let you go for a proper run in any of the Nike shoes - Cesium included - I'm going down one down at Apex Sports in Farnham Common on Friday. Plus, if you take the Apex Sports advert from Runner World, you'll get 20% off - I make that £68 (down from £85)

Posted: 02/12/2005 at 18:28

I live in Derby!

nothing EVER comes here and I'm too busy to travel half way across the country!

But thanks for the advice anyway.

would'nt be so bad if the local shops intended to stock them!!!

Well if the interest shown is anything to go by thats a brilliant move, I bet the internet retailers who have had the foresight to stock them are loving it!!!!
Makes it difficult to preach loyalty to local shops when they don't sell what you want!

Posted: 03/12/2005 at 19:13


BAT
Most of the online shops will allow you to return the items if you are not happy with them. So why not give that a try.

Posted: 04/12/2005 at 09:56

That's OK Mark but yours truly would have to pay for the extra postage etc..could work out an expensive lark if you're not carefull!

Why local shops won't stock them is beyond me! I mean it's not as if I'm after an obscure unknown brand etc.....

I'll wait to try em on 1st.

Posted: 04/12/2005 at 19:25

Mac - it sounds like I exist in a similar boat to you here mate, I'm desperate to find a shoe that gives me a degree of lightness but with the support me poor old feet need. The closest I've come is with the Supernova Control, but the old design wore out too quickly and I'm unsure about the 2005 model - it doesn't have the cushion and upper comfort that the old one has. Anyhow, I'm running in Brooks Adrenaline GTS 5 at the mo and it's the best compromise that I've found. I'll either buy the GTS 6 next or wait for this Cesium to show up. It'll be a good shoe that beats the GTS, quite the best shoe I've found so far (and I've tried nearly everything) ..... I just hate that nasty yellow trim!

So who's going to be the first to give an objective view of this new Nike shoe? I'm agog with anticipation!

Posted: 05/12/2005 at 07:48

I started using this shoe about three weeks ago. I also run in the Brooks Beast because I need a MC shoe for my very low arches, and the Beast is the only shoe that minimized the painful shinsplints I am wont to suffer. My height is 5'10" and I weigh in at 165 lbs.

I'll attempt to give you a sober, objective appraisal of this shoe:

(1) It feels quite strange when walking in it the first time, like no other shoe I've tried, and, in fact, walking in it is no accurate indicator of its effectiveness.

(2) It has a deep heal cup, plenty of forefoot room for the toes and something that feels like a "knot" (I suppose its the varus wedge) toward the front of my arch). Very light weight, significantly lighter than the Beast, noticeably lighter than the Adrenaline.

(3) The cushion is medium, not too soft or hard, which I think is just fine for me. I think it improper to gauge the effectiveness of a shoe on its cushion alone - perhaps that is a question of subjective preference, biomechanics, etc.

(4) It has a rather bizarre offset lacing system that weaves into the tongue, which prevents me from tightening the shoe in the manner I typically do. In other words, it fits a tad loosely, but such has no effect on it performance.

I've had shinsplints since I started running and no shoe has quelled the pain quite like this one. Thus far I've run about 50 miles in them.

This morning I put them to a weather test: I ran in a heavy rainstorm (and quite cold): their grip was true and they did not betray me through all the water and precariously wet surfaces.

This is a fine shoe, and I am impressed. I was initially skeptical, but now I'm convinced that Nike has authenticated their claim. Perhaps the science they employed was true to the purpose of developing a MC shoe that prevents the problem "at the point origin."

Whatever you do, suspend any doubt of its effectiveness based on anything other than a handful of test runs. . .

Posted: 05/12/2005 at 19:21

Todd, That's a great review, they sound just what I'm looking for (and have been for ages!) Can you tell me, do they come large or small? In other words if I'm a 10 will I be a 10 in these?

Cheers

Mac

Posted: 05/12/2005 at 22:55

Blimey. Great review Todd .... and my next burning question is, what width fitting did you get?? I hate the fact that a lot of manufaturers only market shoes in the UK in a D width (the Adrenaline being a case in point), whilst our mates over the Atlantic get a choice. I note that you say there was plenty of toe room.

I've never ran seriously in Nike other than a pair of Windrunners in the 80s and they failed miserably. Might be time for a change!

Posted: 06/12/2005 at 07:48

I got a pair toady, they are indeed very strange, but comfortable. they only seem to come in a D, and i got a 10.5US which is what i normally run in (kayano). I'd say for a D they are very wide, but not very long, not much room in the toe. it isn't a problem when running, but feels it when walking. but i was wearing thor-los and just got them from the delivery man, tossed them on and jumped on the treadmill.
They are very light, and feel very nice to run in, the ride is very good.

Posted: 06/12/2005 at 13:21

See more comments...

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion


Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £75.00
  • Year: 2005 - 2006

RW competitions