Saucony 3D Grid Hurricane 7

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
Saucony 3D Grid Hurricane 7

Reader Reviews

14 user reviews of Saucony 3D Grid Hurricane 7 See all

Overall reader score
A decent shoe which is both comfortable and stable. Have a nice fit which has a good feel.At top price I would pay extra for Kayanos but at a knocdown price they are a good buy Continue reading...
I bought Hurricane 7 thinking that it will be an improved version of Hurricane 6, but it is not, infact I found it to be totally different and very uncomfortable. I have been trying very hard to find a seller s Continue reading...
Perfect for long distance training runs, especially for a larger runner like me. Continue reading...
Good shoe, if it wasnt for trying the asics GT2110 I would have bought another pair, but the others are far superior Continue reading...
I bought a pair of these to see me through this years FLM as I was after a high milage shoe that wouldn't wreck my legs on long runs ,although they have done all that was asked without any discomfort I will loo Continue reading...

Discussions

I'm trying to find out what model some old saucony shoes were...so I can buy a new pair the same/similar (long story).

All the writing has faded so no idea what they were.

If anyone has any pictures of old Saucony shoes then I would recognise them immediately.

1)
The first pair had blue and lime green trim (quite bright green). Have got blue vertical "strings" down the outside of the heel showing through the foam.
Say 3D Grid embroidered on the heel.
Think about 3-4 years old.

2) Less info on these. Had dark red/maroon and black trim. Probably 6 or more years old. Might need a picture to work that one out!

Any help gratefully received.

Posted: 08/03/2005 at 14:06

if you have the shoe look on the tongue and there will be an id on them

Posted: 08/03/2005 at 14:16

nothing is left of the writing on the tongue label!
They are quite a few years old :)

Posted: 08/03/2005 at 15:31

The first one sounds like the 3D GRID Hurricane - like these, but a different colour

Posted: 08/03/2005 at 16:12

The first one does sound like the Hurricane - check this page for a picture.

The second one is more of a test! If you can get a photo of them, email it to me and we'll try to track it down!

Posted: 08/03/2005 at 17:17

That's them!
Got them next to me now and that's them...only cleaner!

That's one pair tracked down...I'll try to find the others and describe them more clearly.
Seem to recall a black toe peice with small oval silver reflectors on it. not much to go on I know!

Posted: 08/03/2005 at 17:27

Sock-a-knee...any idea what these are?

http://dsp.imageg.net/graphics/product_images/p438322reg.jpg

think that might be them, although thought it was a black toe with white mesh!

Don't suppose you have a piccie of the sole of the one linked here?

Posted: 08/03/2005 at 17:53

yep, they're the Hurricane too. The red blue version is the Hurricane 4. I think the yellow green ones are the Hurricane 2 or 3 (before my time I'm afraid!).

Anyway, the current version (Hurricane 6) is the one Sean linked to above or on our site.

Just so you know what's happening going forward (and so I can lever in a blatant plug), the Hurricane 7 will be released in April and premiered on our stand at the London Marathon Expo.

Posted: 08/03/2005 at 20:51

ooo - it's Mr Saucony in the Sky! You're working late, old bean!

(I saw you at Sandown but I was too shy to say hello)

Posted: 08/03/2005 at 20:55

Thanks a million for all the help.
It is VERY much appreciated.

Been having a few issues since returning to running after a couple of years away, so wanted to find out what shoes I yused to run regular half marathons in with no problems.

Quick Q? for Sock-a-knee:
Am I fairly safe in assuming that if I get a pair of Hurricane 7's (from the states!) or 5/6's then they are basically the same as the 2/3/4's were?

Been on many sites looking at reviews and it seems some shoes either suit you or they don't and an upgrade can change all that.

Posted: 09/03/2005 at 08:42

Oxton - the outsole of the second pair is on the page I linked to before. All the Hurricane models are all designed for the same type of runner, and as such offer the same technical features - medial support for the moderate overpronator, full length cushioning and excellent durability.

The upgrading of components and technology will have changed the shoe a little. The best advice (as it always is) is definitely to try the shoe on to see how it suits you. The shape of the Hurricane has not changed, so you should be fairly safe with the fit. That said, you may have read some feedback on here that the added stability guide around the heel has given it a snugger fit - this is good for some but not for others!

I hope this information helps!

Always working Jj, always working!! We were ridiculously busy at Sandown, so I don't think I saw anyone!!

Posted: 09/03/2005 at 10:00

Brilliant, thanks Socks!

Posted: 09/03/2005 at 10:36

One last question Socks! (probably! lol)

What difference is there between Omni 3's and Hurricanes and Hurricanes and Triumph 2's? I know the Triumphs are a cushioning model, but how much support do they give?


[Apols for long story!]
Basically, I have a pair of Omni 3's that I had been wearing with fairly new orthotics to help with underpronation and a leg length difference (yeah, i know NOW that I probably should have had cushioning shoes) due to calf tears when playing hockey.

Different Podiatrist reckons I DON'T need the orthotics anyway, at least not for road running...they might still be useful for hockey...as I am pretty much a mid-foot striker. He thinks I should go back to whatever worked succesfully before (good advice!) hence the shoe search.

Thanks to your help I now know that I used to run in Hurricanes, but after visiting a running shop with video analysis last week (before the podiastrist) they recommended the Triumph 2's...but based on the fact at the time I had the orthotics in.

So, now I have an as-yet unused pair of Triumph 2's and a hardly used pair or Omni 3's....and just getting over ITB!!! Which is why I am back at the Podiatrist.

The new pod suspects (as I do) that all i really need is a pair of shoes that suit my feet and not to mess with the mechanics too much with orthotics...at least not until I've tried shoes.

So, I don't want to run in the Triumphs yet, otherwise I can't take them back..but they SEEM quite stable to me and not too much unlike my old Hurricane 2/3's.

basically HELP!

I love the Saucony fit, so a change of manufacturer is not on the cards...just want to make sure I get the right shoe!

Posted: 09/03/2005 at 11:33

Blimey! I thought I was just playing guess the shoe!

Triumphs are very neutral. They're great for putting orthotics in or for those who don't overpronate.

Omnis and Hurricanes are classed as moderate support shoes, and as such have dual density midsoles (the grey area on the medial side). This helps to prevent you foot from rolling inwards on each stride.

This concerns me a little because if you really do underpronate (and next to no-one does), the Omnis and Hurricanes will push you out (laterally) even more!

It's actually very difficult to make a recommendation without seeing your feet particularly as you've had conflicting advice already.

The suggestion would be to speak to the podiatrist and find out whether you need a shoe with support (Hurricane/Omni) or without - neutral (Triumph).

I hope this information helps, and gets you sorted for London. At the expo, do come along to the Saucony stand (with your orthotics if you're still using them!) and we'll get you on the ShoeLab for the definitive answer.

Posted: 09/03/2005 at 16:58

Thans Socks...will definately come and see you at the Expo.

Thank you for all the help, will leave you alone now!

Posted: 09/03/2005 at 18:26

Oooohhhh, Hurricane 7's!!!! Are they more like the 5's than the 6's?

(Starts emptying piggy bank and counting furiously...)

Posted: 09/03/2005 at 22:45

The 7's are available in the states...

http://www.roadrunnersports.com/cgi-bin/rrs/rrs/ProductPg.jsp?BV_SessionID=@@@@0330168704.1110443862@@@@&BV_EngineID=eadddccejlhibekgcgecfeedg.0&baseProdKey=RRSCN488

Check out the reviews where peeps say they are the new Hurricane 5's.

Posted: 10/03/2005 at 08:41

There's nothing like independent feedback (especially when it's positive!!) I have found the fit to be more like the five, with the Archlock still giving that secure hold across the instep.

However, the major improvement (as I see it) is the improved forefoot. The idea is that in addition to being a stable shoe, the seven will offer greater levels of cushioning. With the addition of the SRC in the impact area and an upgraded midsole (Impact EVA), the shoes just feel more cushioned and comfortable. But then I'm biased!!

The shoes are on the proverbial slowboat and will be here in two weeks time.

Posted: 10/03/2005 at 08:56

lol @ Socks!

¦oD


I love my Triumphs, and my Trigons. Very interested to hear about Triumphs being suitable for orthotics-wearers, as my daughter needs some running shoes.

So ta for that.
:o)

Posted: 10/03/2005 at 08:59

Bugger - breaking my vow of silence already!

So, without giving any secrets away Socks:
The Hurricane 7 is a stable shoe with lots of cushioning.
The Triumph 2 is a chushioning shoe with lots of stability.

How much difference between the two...just that I stupidly looked for more old shoes and found some Trigon's (1s, not 2's) in the Durable version.

Therefore I used to quite happily run in either stability OR cushioning shoes with no problems.

Guess I'm just an old fart now!

Posted: 10/03/2005 at 11:11

The Hurricane is certainly a stability shoe with lots of cushioning.

However, the Triumph is a cushioning shoe, and it is designed to be neutral, so I wouldn't say it has lots of stability. It gives a stable base which is useful for orthotics but it doesn't offer stability on it's own like the Hurricane or Omni do.

Posted: 10/03/2005 at 12:14

Cheers for the link Oxton.
Mr Saucony, what colour will the ladies' be? I don't like the black and yellow. Sorry for being so shallow!

Posted: 10/03/2005 at 19:25

Debbie - its navy blue and yellow, just the pic is a bit dark!
Both colours are on the Saucony Inc website
ladies
and mens

.....and if I have to tell you again about buying shoes because you like the colours....

Posted: 11/03/2005 at 07:42

Well the ladies' look much better than the mens'. Sadly I've just been advised to give my Hurricanes away as they don't go with my new......















orthotics! (Bet you thought I was going to say outfit!)
Not going to get rid mind, but I might have to hang fire on the 7's.

Posted: 11/03/2005 at 19:03

Thanks for the link though - another page to bookmark and drool over :o)

Posted: 11/03/2005 at 19:04


MH
Socks, perhaps you can answer my question - I loved my Hurricane 5s, but with them not being available I moved to the Omni 3, which have been fine but missed the archlock. I have tried on the Omni 4 - but the toe box shape has changed completely and a definite no-no for me (they were just uncomfortable as soon as I put them on). It struck me that this might be a change for all Saucony shoes moving forward?
You say that the Hurricane 7 fit is like the 5 - does that include the toe shape?

I have found Saucony shoes to be the only ones I can wear, but not the ones with the new shape. Am I going to have to buy up all remaining stocks of the Omni3 so I can keep on running??

Posted: 12/03/2005 at 10:35

Growing excitement! I felt that the Hurricane 6 was a bit of a let down after the 5. Plus 13.2 oz. = 374g, so they should be lighter too!

Don't tell Mrs Greyhound that there will be more running shoes in the hall!

Posted: 12/03/2005 at 15:43

Saucony are my favourite shoes! At present I run in Trigon lighweights, Praxis, Swerve and Fast Twitch endurance. I midly overpronate on one leg only. My question if you don't mind is about the Trigons. As I only mildly over pronate on one leg do you still think they're be suitable? I really like the cushioned feel to them, but am not racing in them yet.

Posted: 12/03/2005 at 20:00

Ordered a pair of H 7's from the US. Should be here soon and I'll post what I find.

8 out of 9 people on roadrunnersports.com have rated them 5 out of 5 so far :)

Posted: 16/03/2005 at 12:23

MH - as I've said elsewhere, the Hurricane and the Omni have always been made around the standard Saucony last (and always will be). The shape of the upper can change the fit or at least the perception of fit. Other shoes in the Saucony range will be different shapes (contour last and modified contour last), which of these you like is down to personal choice, so I can't really advise on that!!

Hilly - The Trigon will be ideal for you. As it used EAS (shaped outsole and midsole) and has a medial flare (if you look at the shoe from behind, the medial side (inside) flares out so the shoe is wider at the bottom. This means that although the shoe is not dual density and is not in the stability category, it is stable neutral, so will support the foot if needed (the one that pronates), but will not be obtrusive under the arch for the one that doesn't need it. If you wore an over supportive shoe, you may get blistering under the arch.

Oxton48 - Hope you like the H7's and they arrive soon. Our UK stock are due into our warehouse today so will be in store within a fortnight! We're hoping they are as well received here as they have been in the US!

Posted: 16/03/2005 at 15:58


MH
Ok. Thanks. As a moderate pronator with hallux valgus on each foot; the shape of the upper is really key.

Posted: 16/03/2005 at 19:09

Sorry Socks...but you might want to read the last but one entry in here, by Kiki_D:
http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/forum/forummessages.asp?dt=&UTN=53786&last=1&V=1&SP=


BTW: Out of 10 people on Roadrunnersports, 9 have given the H7's 5 out ot 5 and only one has given them a 3.
General comment is that this is the best shoe ever...you should be proud.

Posted: 17/03/2005 at 09:24

Thanks for pointing me in the direction of the other thread. I'll get onto it.

Glad to hear the H7 is getting positive reaction. However, what this and so many other threads show is that no shoe is the "best in the world" for everyone. If it were, we’d now be able to cancel all other shoes and just sell the Hurricane!

The ONLY thing that matters is getting the right shoe for the you. Don't listen to what other people say, find out what category you need from someone professional and then listen to your feet.

The right shoes can't guarantee you won't get injured, but they can certainly help lessen the chances.

Sorry if that sounds a bit Jerry Springer!!

Posted: 17/03/2005 at 10:18

OK, after some problems getting hold of them (Thanks RRS for confirming that they had been sent to me when they hadn't got any in stock) I have a pair of H7's.

Initial impression: They are good...VERY good. They feel comfy straight from the box, whereas my previous Omni's felt hard and needed a lot of running in (and still feel quite hard).

Not done a very long run in them yet (10 miles max), but over shorter distances they feel like 3 shoes in 1.

Firstly, they are a nice stability shoe and firm enough for a "standard" overpronator. The arch lock really works and holds the middle of the foot nicely. The heel cup is comfy and does what it says.

Secondly, it's a cushioning shoe. It's pretty springy in both heel and forefoot.

Finally, its a racing shoe. It's light, flexible and the toe box mesh is perfect for keeping the foot cool, but not so much as to be soft and inflexible.

Personally, once they are released over here I'll be buying a second pair and using them for all my running, bar genuine off-road stuff.

They'll suit me for anything from the club 5k's up to the marathon...and perhaps beyond (if I can get over ITB!).

Thanks for all your help Mr Socks..I'll try to stop and say hello at the Expo when I'm collecting my number next saturday.

Posted: 08/04/2005 at 08:30

Im in a bit of a dilemma if to go for the Omni/hurricane or Trigon/Triumph.

My physio has said that I have high arches and need a soft shoe with arch support and no stability but the guy at the shop recons that I am pronating due to my arch and need a stability shoe.

I also get ITB problems.

Posted: 08/04/2005 at 09:26

The H7 is a good combination...for me. I get ITB too.

Posted: 08/04/2005 at 10:32

Are they nice and soft, I have heard that the Omni can be a bit hard.

Posted: 08/04/2005 at 10:37

Personally (and this is all personal opinion)...the Omni's were a little hard underfoot.
The H7's are pretty soft, but still got lots of stability too. Guess that's what you are paying for, a stable shoe that feels like a cushioning one.

IMHO, it works too!

Posted: 08/04/2005 at 10:59



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion