Garmin Forerunner 910XT: Preview

Get the low-down on the new multisport offering from Garmin, the Forerunner 910XT



garmin forerunner 910xt

We don't need a heart-rate monitor to tell us that every time Garmin launches a new GPS sports watch, our pulse starts to quicken. We can't wait to get our mitts on the Forerunner 910XT, which has just launched ahead of the Ironman World Championships in Kona. Here's the low-down on this multisport beauty.

What it is?

A three-in-one multisport GPS watch that'll monitor your pace across all three triathlon disciplines. Perfect for both training and racing, the watch will be available from mid-November at a retail price of £359 (£389 with HRM).

What does it offer?

For the swim:

  • Designed for use in both open-water and in the pool.
  • Water resistant to 50 metres.
  • Extensive swim metrics, including swim distance, stroke count, swim efficiency and swim pace.
  • Computes a SWOLF score - the sum of the time for one length plus the number of strokes for that length.
  • Records the path you swim in open water, so you can review it afterwards on a map in Garmin Connect.

For the bike and run:

  • Tracks distance, speed/pace, elevation and heart rate for running and cycling.
  • Training Effect feature allows you to measure the impact of every run and bike session on your aerobic fitness.
  • On-board barometric altimeter for accurate elevation data.

Transitions:

  • Moves easily from wrist to handlebar with optional quick release and bike mounts.
  • Log and review transition times with the click of a button.

Any other features?

  • It won't slow you down in T1, as its sleek profile allows you to easily slide wetsuits on and off.
  • Easy-to-read display
  • 20-hour battery life
  • Virtual Racer features allows you to compete against your PBs or other users' times.
  • Create and plan workouts with Garmin Connect, then send directly to your 910XT with the click of a button.
  • Get alerts to vibrate/sound if you stray from your heart rate, pace and distance goals.

They say...

"Garmin Forerunner 910XT will record, motivate and guide every stroke, every pedal rev and every step of the way, making this the world's most complete training watch ever, " says Andy Silver, Garmin's EMEA  Product Manager Fitness.

We say...

Definitely top of our Christmas wish-list. We're excited: the Garmin Forerunner 910XT promises to be a GPS game-changer that'll transform the way you train and race.

Find out more

Watch a video of the Garmin Forerunner 910XT in action or head to the Garmin website.


Previous article
Tested: Arm-Warmers
Next article
15 Essential Triathlon Tools

 
TwitterStumbleUponFacebookDiggRedditGoogle

Discuss this article

For a full review check out the one and only DCRainmaker really in depth look at the 910xt, and just how AWESOME it is.
Posted: 07/10/2011 at 13:42

reported
Posted: 07/10/2011 at 13:55

This blokes reviews are the dogs cohones honestly, well worth a read
Posted: 07/10/2011 at 14:17

Was actually looking at the exact article last night it,  has every bit of info you could ask for before deciding to invest in what is a costly bit of kit. Compares and contrast with other makes and models and even has piccies of the function screens, and if it dont do what it is supposeed to do he says it doesnt.

IMHO one of the best reviewers around

someone will now pop along and tell me he works for garmin    


Posted: 07/10/2011 at 14:21

I don't think the OP is the writer of the blog so is not breaking the T&Cs.  I've had a quick peek and, as our blobby friend says, the reviews are really good.


Posted: 07/10/2011 at 14:24

I thoroughly doubt the OP and DC are related esp considering Sonny looks to his own blog in his other post on here.  DC Rainmaker's site is greatl
Posted: 07/10/2011 at 18:04

Reported for what?  Pointing out a well written blog that has help me made a world of decent equipment choices, how very  ridiculous.  That will teach me for being so helpful

I think the guy that writes the blog is involved with Garmin from a consulting type point of view, but he is always open and honest in his reviews etc. 

Nice bit on there a few days ago on the new Timex running thing that is coming out.


Posted: 14/10/2011 at 12:50

Have just pre ordered a forerunner 910xt this morning

 Its a great watch, i actually ordered after reading this article so thankyou to the person who wrote it


Posted: 04/11/2011 at 11:06

I have one thing to say on the matter.......................I WANT ONE
Posted: 04/11/2011 at 19:00

both
Posted: 06/11/2011 at 13:57

I got one and I love it, although the indoor swimming metric software in the watch needs improvement - a lot of it, compared to the Finis Swimsense. I absolutely love it but Garmin's stock answer (at the moment) of basically "swim better if you want it to work properly" isn't really good enough. We don't all have the stroke quality of the olympians who were no doubt used as testers and guineapigs. It has a tendency to greatly over read your swum distance (I wore my Swimsense and the 910XT the other day to compare them). I am racing this weekend so I can test the open water swim mode then, and I can't wait to see how awful my track is!!

HOWEVER - in every other respect it is absolutely superb. Far easier to read and operate than the Forerunner 610 (which I'm presently selling), the strap is far softer, battery life is unbelievable (easily 20hrs), the ability to double tap the screen to turn on the backlight is great, the bike metrics are spot on, and the ability to upload courses to follow is really useful too.

The best GPS watch I'd owned before this was the Forerunner 305, which I had for over 5 years. This absolutely thrashes it! 

Definitely worth buying.


Posted: 07/03/2012 at 07:09

I currently have a Garmin 405, with a bike sensor.

It used to have a crap battery life (less than 3hrs), but a few months ago it went back to Garmin for repair cos it wouldn't charge up, and the refurbed one they sent back as a replacement has a excellent battery life, I reckon at least 7 or 8 hours - which is plenty for my training.

I really like the sound of the 910xt, and want one, just cos!!, but can't justify it on cost when what I have works absolutely fine. The only bit I'm missing out on is the swimming, and from what you say, it's not great anyway, especially for crap swimmers like me. That makes me feel better

What does it give out of the water that you don't get on the Garmin 305/405 to make it that much better??


Posted: 07/03/2012 at 09:38

So to dig out, but those of you who bought this, can I have an update on how you are getting on. I am considering investing.


Posted: 06/09/2012 at 17:44

Love it. Well worth the investment especially if you are into swimming. For running and cycling I imagine its much the same as any other garmin watch. I had the 310XT before this and the 910XT is so much better.


Posted: 06/09/2012 at 20:18

Straps are awful, mine has packed up, no HR data, can't find problem.


Posted: 06/09/2012 at 20:54

Is it low on memory maybe Dustboy? I've had strange problems with this and the 310XT that were fixed by deleting old activities? Personally I have no problem with the straps at all.


Posted: 06/09/2012 at 20:59

No, won't link to Edge or Forerunner, HRM not present. Yes battery changed, yes voltmeter tested, yes reverse shorted it as recommended, yes, tried with Polar strap, yes tried rescan on both 910 & Edge, now fresh out of ideas. However, I will try and empty both and see if it makes a difference. Hasn't worked since new battery. 


Posted: 06/09/2012 at 21:02

I love mine, I think I use about 10% of what it is capable of.

Did have problems uploading data the other day (some did upload and some didn't) but might be because I need to delete some old activities..which (a) I haven't done since I got it in February and (b) I don't know how to do as I am a complete technological idiot.  Can anyone help?!

I don't have a hrm but need to invest - that is my next PB gift!


Posted: 07/09/2012 at 08:51

Dave Cochrane wrote (see)

, the bike metrics are spot on, and the ability to upload courses to follow is really useful too.

Is this the case? Makes it much more cool for me if you can upload a route. How does it tell you where to go, because I understand that it doesn't have any base map function? Cheers.


Posted: 07/09/2012 at 09:24

Big Up for B_Kins. Deleted the lot in history and HR working again on both, though the Forerunner put up a fight. Curiosuly, with the old Garmin strap which are apparently notorious for their unreliability

Mwah!


Posted: 07/09/2012 at 11:24

Nice one!


Posted: 07/09/2012 at 13:24

slowerthanilook wrote (see)
Dave Cochrane wrote (see)

, the bike metrics are spot on, and the ability to upload courses to follow is really useful too.

Is this the case? Makes it much more cool for me if you can upload a route. How does it tell you where to go, because I understand that it doesn't have any base map function? Cheers.

My understanding is that there is a little arrow on the screen and a very basic sketch of where you're going. It is this feature that appealed to me to help me explore new routes (with the assistance of "back to start" when I get hopelessly lost - please tell me this garmin still has this function?!).  

I'm also the worst directional open water swimmer ever, so I thought this might help me to see what I'm doing a bit clearer (at the moment, I just look up and realise I'm not going in the direction I started in...).

I also do a lot of swimming in an endless pool in winter - would this be able to measure the distance I'd swum even though I'm technically in one place or is the ows distance purely on gps route distance? If it can't do this I may settle for an older garmin.


Posted: 07/09/2012 at 13:39

Dustboy wrote (see)

No, won't link to Edge or Forerunner, HRM not present. Yes battery changed, yes voltmeter tested, yes reverse shorted it as recommended, yes, tried with Polar strap, yes tried rescan on both 910 & Edge, now fresh out of ideas. However, I will try and empty both and see if it makes a difference. Hasn't worked since new battery. 

Have you asked Garmin whether this is warranty-able?


Posted: 07/09/2012 at 13:42

Thanks Dancing. Very helpful.


Posted: 07/09/2012 at 13:46

Yep that 'Back to Start' function is still there. I have yet to put my trust in it but i plan to one of these days! As for the endless pool you won't get any kind of distance reading off that. All it could potentially tell you is your stroke rate, stroke count and the type of stroke you are doing. In indoor swimming it works of an accelerometer so a sharp change in direction means you have finished a length. Outdoor is GPS. I guess you could use the stroke count as meters to estimate a distance in the endless pool. 1 stroke is roughly equal to 1 meter...


Posted: 07/09/2012 at 14:46

Hmmm, I can count strokes though: that's what I'm working off already. I found this which seems to confirm what you are saying https://forums.garmin.com/showthread.php?29132-Swimming-in-Endless-Pool-with-the-910XT. Only that's wrong in that the settings on the endless pool are measured in pressure, not in mph, so there would be no way to compute using s=d/t, you would need to know stroke rate to compute unless the pool company can tell me. Aaah, I don't know what to do now! 


Posted: 07/09/2012 at 15:16

B_Kins wrote (see)

I guess you could use the stroke count as meters to estimate a distance in the endless pool. 1 stroke is roughly equal to 1 meter...

Not if you're trying to be efficient, hence the whole point of the SWOLF setting? I know I get a LOT less than 50 strokes in a 50m pool... usually 28-30?


Posted: 08/09/2012 at 13:41

Okay yeah, i was counting both arms and the watch obviously only counts one. So one stroke is approx 2 meters by the watches count.


Posted: 08/09/2012 at 16:54

B_Kins wrote (see)

Yep that 'Back to Start' function is still there. I have yet to put my trust in it but i plan to one of these days!

Back to start worked very well last December in Germany on my 305! I expect it will save your bacon just as efficiently!


Posted: 08/09/2012 at 19:18

B_Kins wrote (see)

Okay yeah, i was counting both arms and the watch obviously only counts one. So one stroke is approx 2 meters by the watches count.

Nope... 28-30 strokes total = both arms... Guess that means the stroke length varies massively from one individual to another?


Posted: 08/09/2012 at 22:50

just a bit of useless info - i swim at average 24/26 strokes per 25m, the bloke who swims next to me normally does  upto 34 - my efficiency can be less than 40 but more often around 44 his is around 48/49, obviously difference in arm length has a bearing on strokes / minute but not on efficiency.


Posted: 09/09/2012 at 08:51

TheEngineer wrote (see)
Nope... 28-30 strokes total = both arms... Guess that means the stroke length varies massively from one individual to another?

It would do yeah. There's lots of some good info on swim smooth's website about stroke rate vs stroke length.


Posted: 09/09/2012 at 11:17

We'd love you to add a comment! Please login or take half a minute to register as a free member

Smart Coach
Free, fully-personalized training plans, designed to suit your racing goals and your lifestyle.