RW's BUPA Great North Run Schedules - Sub-1:30

Schedules to match the RW pace groups at the Great North Run


Posted: 6 August 2000

Here are the schedules for the pace groups for the Robin Hood Half-Marathon.
RUNNER’S WORLD will have pace groups of 1:30, 1:45, 2:00 and 2:15 at the race.
Refer to the pace charts for exact speeds.

SUB 1:30
WEEK ONE WEEK TWO WEEK THREE WEEK FOUR WEEK FIVE WEEK SIX WEEK SEVEN
Jul 13 (Sat) Hills – run 8 repetitions of at least 30 seconds. 10 mins jog before and after session Jul 20 (Sat) Fartlek – run 30 mins of mixed pace Jul 27 (Sat) 30 mins easy with strides Aug 3 (Sat) 40 mins easy Aug 10 (Sat) Fartlek – run 40 mins of mixed pace Aug 17 (Sat) Hills – run 10 repetitions of at least 30 seconds. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 24 (Sat) Fartlek – run 45 mins of mixed pace
Jul 14 (Sun) Endurance target: run 75 mins plus at an easy pace at an easy pace Jul 21 (Sun) Endurance target: run 75 mins plus at a steady pace Jul 28 (Sun) Race (ideally 10K) Aug 4 (Sun) Endurance target: run 90 mins plus at an easy pace Aug 11 (Sun) Endurance target: run 90 mins plus at a steady pace Aug 18 (Sun) Endurance target: run 1hr 40 mins plus at an easy pace Aug 25 (Sun) Endurance target: run 1hr 40 mins plus at a steady pace
Jul 15 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Jul 22 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Jul 29 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Aug 5 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Aug 12 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Aug 19 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Aug 26 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy
Jul 16 (Tue) Speed target: run 2 x 3K at 10K pace. 400m jog (2 mins) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Jul 23 (Tue) Speed target: 12 x 400m at 5K pace. 400m jog (2 mins) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Jul 30 (Tue) Speed target: run 4 x 1M at 10K pace. 400m jog (2 mins) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 6 (Tue) Speed target: run 16 x 200m at 5K pace. 100m jog (30-45 secs) between efforts. Take 1 min extra jog after 8 efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 13 (Tue) Speed target: run 6 x 800m at 5K pace. 200m jog (60-90 secs) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 20 (Tue) Speed target: run 3 x 3K at 10K pace. 200m jog (60-90 secs) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 27 (Tue) Speed target: 12 x 400m at 5K pace. 200m jog (60-90 secs) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session
Jul 17 (Wed) 50 mins easy Jul 24 (Wed) 60 mins easy Jul 31 (Wed) 60 mins easy Aug 7 (Wed) 50 mins easy Aug 14 (Wed) 60 mins easy Aug 21 (Wed) 70 mins easy Aug 28 (Wed) 75 mins easy

Jul 18 (Thu) Pace target: run 5M at half-marathon pace. 10 mins jog before and after session
Jul 25 (Thu) Pace target: run 45 mins alternating 2-min bursts of 1/2M pace and easy Aug 1 (Thu) Pace target: run 5M at half-marathon pace. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 8 (Thu) Pace target: run 6M at half-marathon pace. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 15 (Thu) Pace target: run 55 mins alternating 2-min bursts of 1/2M pace and easy Aug 22 (Thu) Pace target: run 7M at half-marathon pace. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 29 (Thu) Pace target: run 60 mins alternating 2-min bursts of 1/2M pace and easy
Jul 19 (Fri) REST Jul 26 (Fri) REST Aug 2 (Fri) REST Aug 9 (Fri) REST Aug 16 (Fri) REST Aug 23 (Fri) REST Aug 30 (Fri) REST
WEEK EIGHT WEEK NINE WEEK TEN WEEK ELEVEN WEEK TWELVE WEEK THIRTEEN
Aug 31 (Sat) 30 mins easy with strides Sep 7 (Sat) 40 mins easy Sep 14 (Sat) Fartlek – run 40 mins of mixed pace Sep 21 (Sat) Hills – run 12 repetitions of at least 30 seconds. 10 mins jog before and after session Sep 28 (Sat) 30 mins easy Oct 5 (Sat) 30 mins easy with a few strides
Sep 1 (Sun) Race (ideally 10K or 10M) Sep 8 (Sun) Endurance target: run 1hr 50 mins plus at an easy pace Sep 15 (Sun) Endurance target: run 1hr 50 mins plus at a steady pace Sep 22 (Sun) Endurance target: run 2hrs plus at an easy pace Sep 29 (Sun) Endurance target: run 1hr 40 mins plus at a easy pace Oct 6 (Sun) The Race
Sep 2 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Sep 9 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Sep 16 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Sep 23 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Sep 30 (Mon) REST
Sep 3 (Tue) Speed target: run 5 x 1M at 10K pace. 200m jog (60-90 secs) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Sep 10 (Tue) Speed target: run 5 x 1600m at 10K pace. 100m jog (1 min) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Sep 17 (Tue) Speed target: run 8 x 800m at 5K pace. 100m jog (1 min) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Sep 24 (Tue) Speed target: run 4 x 2K at 10K pace. 200m jog (90 secs) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Oct 1 (Tue) Speed target: 12 x 400m at 5K pace. 200m fast jog (90 secs) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session
Sep 4 (Wed) 60 mins easy Sep 11 (Wed) 60 mins easy Sep 18(Wed) 65 mins easy Sep 25 (Wed) 50 mins easy Oct 2 (Wed) 40 mins easy
Sep 5 (Thu) Pace target: run 8M at half-marathon pace. 10 mins jog before and after session Sep 12 (Thu) Pace target: run 9M at half-marathon pace. 10 mins jog before and after session Sep 19 (Thu) Pace target: run 60 mins alternating 2-min bursts of 1/2M pace and easy Sep 26 (Thu) Pace target: run 10M (or one hour) at half-marathon pace. 10 mins jog before and after session Oct 3 (Thu) Pace target: run 30 mins alternating 2-min bursts of 1/2M pace and easy
Sep 6 (Fri) REST Sep 13 (Fri) REST Sep 20 (Fri) REST Sep 27 (Fri) REST Oct 4 (Fri) REST

Previous article
RW's Robin Hood Half-Marathon Schedules - Sub-1:45
Next article
Welcome!

Team in Training, pace groups, Great North Run, pacing
TwitterStumbleUponFacebookDiggRedditGoogle

Discuss this article

We'd love you to add a comment! Please login or take half a minute to register as a free member

Smart Coach
Free, fully-personalized training plans, designed to suit your racing goals and your lifestyle.