RW's Robin Hood Half-Marathon Schedules - Sub-1:30

Schedules to match the RW pace groups at the Robin Hood Half-Marathon


Posted: 6 August 2000

Here are the schedules for the pace groups for the Robin Hood Half-Marathon.
RUNNER’S WORLD will have pace groups of 1:30, 1:45, 2:00 and 2:15 at the race.
Refer to the pace charts for exact speeds.

1:30 pace | 1:45 pace | 2:00 pace | 2:15 pace

Pace Chart

SUB 1:30
WEEK ONE WEEK TWO WEEK THREE WEEK FOUR WEEK FIVE WEEK SIX WEEK SEVEN WEEK EIGHT WEEK NINE WEEK 10
Jul 13 (Sat) 40 mins easy Jul 20 (Sat) Fartlek – run 40 mins of mixed pace Jul 27 (Sat) Hills – run 10 repetitions of at least 30 seconds. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 3 (Sat) Fartlek – run 45 mins of mixed pace Aug 10 (Sat) 30 mins easy with strides Aug 17 (Sat) 40 mins easy Aug 24 (Sat) Fartlek – run 40 mins of mixed pace Aug 31 (Sat) Hills – run 12 repetitions of at least 30 seconds. 10 mins jog before and after session Sep 7 (Sat) 30 mins easy Sep 14 (Sat) 30 mins easy with a few strides
Jul 14 (Sun) Endurance target: run 80 mins plus at an easy pace Jul 21 (Sun) Endurance target: run 80 mins plus at a steady pace Jul 28 (Sun) Endurance target: run 1hr 30 mins plus at an easy pace Aug 4 (Sun) Endurance target: run 1hr 30 mins plus at a steady pace Aug 11 (Sun) Race (ideally 10K or 10M) Aug 18 (Sun) Endurance target: run 1hr 40 mins plus at an easy pace Aug 25 (Sun) Endurance target: run 1hr 40 mins plus at a steady pace Sep 1 (Sun) Endurance target: run 2hrs at an easy pace Sep 8 (Sun) Endurance target: run 1hr 40 mins plus at a easy pace

Sep 15 (Sun) The Race

Jul 15 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Jul 22 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Jul 29 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Aug 5 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Aug 12 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Aug 19 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Aug 26 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Sep 2 (Mon) REST or 30 mins easy Sep 9 (Mon) REST
Jul 16 (Tue) Speed target: run 16 x 200m at 5K pace. 100m jog (30-45 secs) between efforts. Take 1 min extra jog after 8 efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Jul 23 (Tue) Speed target: run 6 x 800m at 5K pace. 200m jog (60-90 secs) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Jul 30 (Tue) Speed target: run 3 x 3K at 10K pace. 200m jog (60-90 secs) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 6 (Tue) Speed target: 12 x 400m at 5K pace. 200m jog (60-90 secs) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 13 (Tue) Speed target: run 5 x 1M at 10K pace. 200m jog (60-90 secs) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 20 (Tue) Speed target: run 5 x 1M at 10K pace. 100m jog (1 min) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 27 (Tue) Speed target: run 8 x 800m at 5K pace. 100m jog (1 min) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Sep 3 (Tue) Speed target: run 4 x 2K at 10K pace. 200m jog (90 secs) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session Sep 10 (Tue) Speed target: 12 x 400 at 5K pace. 200m fast jog (90 secs) between efforts. 10 mins jog before and after session
Jul 17 (Wed) 50 mins easy Jul 24 (Wed) 60 mins easy Jul 31 (Wed) 70 mins easy Aug 7 (Wed) 75 mins easy Aug 14 (Wed) 60 mins easy Aug 21(Wed) 60 mins easy Aug 28(Wed) 65 mins easy Sep 4 (Wed) 50 mins easy Sep 11 (Wed) 40 mins easy
Sep 12 (Thu) Pace target: run 30 mins alternating 2-min bursts of 1/2M pace and easy
Jul 18 (Thu) Pace target: run 5M at half-marathon pace. 10 mins jog before and after session Jul 25 (Thu) Pace target: run 55 mins alternating 2-min bursts of 1/2M pace and easy Aug 1 (Thu) Pace target: run 6M at half-marathon pace. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 8 (Thu) Pace target: run 60 mins alternating 2-min bursts of 1/2M pace and easy Aug 15 (Thu) Pace target: run 8M at half-marathon pace. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 22 (Thu) Pace target: run 9M at half-marathon pace. 10 mins jog before and after session Aug 29 (Thu) Pace target: run 60 mins alternating 2-min bursts of 1/2M pace and easy Sep 5 (Thu) Pace target: run 10M (or one hour) at half-marathon pace. 10 mins jog before and after session Sep 12 (Thu) Pace target: run 30 mins alternating 2-min bursts of 1/2M pace and easy
Jul 19 (Fri) REST Jul 26 (Fri) REST Aug 2 (Fri) REST Aug 9 (Fri) REST Aug 16 (Fri) REST Aug 23 (Fri) REST Aug 30 (Fri) REST Sep 6 (Fri) REST Sep 13 (Fri) REST