Ironman Switzerland 05 - Bucker’s Diary

My Tri Profile
Age.... 31
I have been running for... 1 year
Strengths... I'm single minded, stubborn, and I work from home so I've got loads of time to train.
Weaknesses... Can't run and can't cycle!
Ironman experience... None, niente, nada non whatsoever
10K - 48 mins
Favourite Races... To the pub
See my RW profile

About me
I have a background from rowing which I competed at quite a high standard both indoor and outdoors. I will be competing in the European Indoor Rowing Championships this year in December in Amsterdam. My PB's in rowing are 6.20 for 2k and 1.19 for 500m. If really have nothing else to do and you want to know more about me have a look at my home page

Ironman target: Would love to finish, ideally would like to be able to be in the 12-14 hour time frame.

Typical training week: My training for the last few weeks has been a 10K run every morning and then an evening session of either cycling, spinning or swimming.

October's training: I have really started to increase the training this month and have been averaging about 8-10 hours per week. The hours are really increased when I manage to get out on the bike for a long ride at the weekend.

October's highlight: I have discovered that after not being able to swim more than 6 lengths crawl a month ago I can now do nearly 3000m in 60 minutes without stopping.

October's lowlight: Getting a virus which stopped me training for nearly a week!

What I learnt this month: Not to do too much, eat properly, listen to my body and that alcohol is the devils drink!!